Our Pick: Preparation H

Check price on Amazon →

Best Hemorrhoid Suppositories (2026): Preparation H, Anusol, Calmol 4 and NeilMed Ranked

Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, at $17.96. It is the reference internal hemorrhoid suppository, its Drug Facts label lists a vasoconstrictor and a protectant, and the two-pack works out to about 75 cents per suppository. Below it: Anusol, Calmol 4 with cocoa butter and zinc oxide, NeilMed, and the hyaluronic acid and witch hazel alternatives for people who want something other than the standard formula. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~14 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Best Overall

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H · 4.7

$17.96

NeilMed Hemorrhoidal SuppositoriesBest Value

NeilMed Hemorrhoidal Suppositories

NeilMed · 4.2

$10.99

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 countUpgrade Pick

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count

Preparation H · 4.6

$35.92

Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, at $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). For internal hemorrhoids, the ones a cream cannot reach, this is the product the shelf is built around: the Drug Facts panel lists phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor and cocoa butter as a protectant, the label use is temporary relief of itching and discomfort plus shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, and 24 suppositories for $17.96 is about 75 cents each ($17.96 divided by 24). If you want a formula without phenylephrine, Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 count, at $26.63 is the astringent-and-protectant alternative.

A hemorrhoid suppository is inserted rectally and melts at body temperature to coat the lower rectum, which is why it is the format for internal hemorrhoids and for symptoms a cream applied outside cannot reach. Most products on this shelf are OTC drugs that combine a protectant (cocoa butter, zinc oxide, petrolatum) with either a vasoconstrictor (phenylephrine, the ingredient behind every "shrinks swollen tissue" claim) or an astringent (witch hazel, zinc oxide). A few are not OTC monograph drugs at all: PROKTIS-M is a hyaluronic acid suppository sold on a healing claim and Wise Ways is an herbal witch hazel suppository, and we describe both exactly as their listings do without lending them a Drug Facts panel they do not carry. We rank on what is printed: actives where the title or panel states them, count, cost per suppository where the count is published, and how the label directs use.

The rules on this shelf, because every OTC product here has a Drug Facts panel we quote and do not improvise around. The label use is temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, and, for phenylephrine products, temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue. The label directs adults to use up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and sends children under 12 to a doctor. Every label says stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. Phenylephrine labels add ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and every label says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. Rectal bleeding is never something to treat with a suppository and wait on. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, $17.96 at our September 5, 2026 check. Phenylephrine plus cocoa butter per the Drug Facts panel, 24 suppositories, about 75 cents each.
  • Same product, bigger box: the Preparation H 48 count at $35.92 is also about 75 cents each, so buy it only if you already know the formula suits you.
  • No phenylephrine: Calmol 4 with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 count, $26.63, about $1.11 each. Astringent and protectant only, which matters if the phenylephrine warnings apply to you.
  • Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack, $12.90, about $1.08 each, from the other name brand on the shelf; the listing title does not state the actives, so read the panel.
  • Every OTC label on this page carries the same three stop lines: bleeding, symptoms that worsen, and symptoms lasting more than 7 days all mean stop and ask a doctor. Pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional before use.

At a glance

ProductActives (per title or panel)TypeCountCost eachPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Preparation H Suppositories, 12 ct x 2Phenylephrine HCl, cocoa butterOTC drug24$0.75$17.96Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Suppositories, 48 ctPhenylephrine HCl, cocoa butterOTC drug48$0.75$35.92Check price on Amazon
Anusol Suppositories, 12 per packNot stated on title; see panelOTC drug12$1.08$12.90Check price on Amazon
Calmol 4 with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 ctCocoa butter, zinc oxide (per title)OTC drug24$1.11$26.63Check price on Amazon
NeilMed Hemorrhoidal SuppositoriesNot stated on title; see panelOTC drugNot publishedn/a$10.99Check price on Amazon
PROKTIS-M Rectal SuppositoriesHyaluronic acid (per title)Not an OTC monograph drugNot publishedn/a$29.99Check price on Amazon
WiseWays Herbals Witch Hazel Suppositories, 12 ctWitch hazel (per title), herbalHerbal, not an OTC drug12$1.72$20.60Check price on Amazon
Germoloids Suppositories x 12Not stated on title; UK packUK pharmacy product12$1.52$18.21Check price on Amazon

The eight suppositories on this page. Actives are as stated on the listing title or the Drug Facts panel; where the title states no count, we say so and compute no cost per suppository. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickBest Overall
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H

The reference internal hemorrhoid suppository: phenylephrine plus cocoa butter, about 75 cents each.

4.7

Our verdict: This is the suppository every other product on the shelf is measured against, and the two-pack is the right way to buy it. The label covers the whole complaint: temporary relief of itching, burning and discomfort, and temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue from the phenylephrine. At $17.96 for 24 it is about 75 cents each, the lowest cost per suppository on this page. Buy it first unless the phenylephrine warnings apply to you.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor) and cocoa butter (protectant); percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. 12 count, pack of 2, per the title. Live at $17.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The standard formula, from the brand that defines the shelf. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2 combine phenylephrine HCl, a vasoconstrictor, with cocoa butter, a protectant, per the Drug Facts panel. The panel's Uses line reads temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids and temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue; the second half is the phenylephrine, and it is why this is the product people reach for when the problem is internal swelling rather than external irritation. Directions on the label: adults, insert one suppository rectally up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor.

Why it wins: it is the complete label at the lowest cost per suppository. At $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the two-pack is 24 suppositories, about 75 cents each ($17.96 divided by 24). The 48 count at $35.92 is the same 75 cents, so the two-pack is the right first purchase and the 48 count is for a household that already knows the formula suits it.

What the label says to watch, and it is a longer list than a laxative's: ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. Stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Owners consistently report the cocoa butter base softens in a warm bathroom; store cool and chill briefly before unwrapping if soft. Full write-up in our Preparation H suppositories review; the format question is settled in suppository vs cream for hemorrhoids.

Who should buy it

Buy the two-pack if you have internal hemorrhoids or symptoms a cream is not reaching, none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions apply to you, and you want the reference product at the lowest cost per suppository on the page.

What we don't like

The phenylephrine warning list is long enough that a meaningful number of adults should ask a doctor before using it at all, and the cocoa butter base softens in heat. The listing title does not state the active percentages.

Active ingredients
Phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), cocoa butter (protectant), per Drug Facts
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
24 (12 count, pack of 2)
Form
Rectal suppository, foil wrapped
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per suppository
$0.75 ($17.96 divided by 24)
Packaging
Two boxes of 12, individually wrapped

What we like

  • Complete label: itching, burning, discomfort and swollen tissue
  • Lowest cost per suppository on the page at about 75 cents
  • The reference brand, individually wrapped
  • 24 covers more than one episode at the label's 7 day cap

Worth noting

  • Phenylephrine carries heart, blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and prostate ask-a-doctor lines
  • Cocoa butter base softens in a warm bathroom
  • Active percentages not stated on the listing title
Upgrade PickBest Bulk Box
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count

Preparation H

The same Preparation H suppository in a 48 count box, for households that know it works.

4.6

Our verdict: The 48 count is the two-pack twice over at the same 75 cents a suppository, so it saves nothing per unit and simply saves reordering. That makes it the box for a household with more than one adult who uses the formula, or for anyone a doctor has told to keep it on hand. If you have not used Preparation H suppositories before, start with the two-pack.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: phenylephrine HCl and cocoa butter; percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. 48 count per the title. Live at $35.92 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

More of the same, at the same price per unit. The Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count carry the same Drug Facts panel as the two-pack: phenylephrine HCl and cocoa butter, the same Uses line covering itching, burning, discomfort and swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, and the same directions of up to 4 times daily for adults with under 12 sent to a doctor. At $35.92 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the box is about 75 cents each ($35.92 divided by 48), which is the two-pack's price exactly.

Read the 7 day line before buying 48. The label says stop and ask a doctor if symptoms do not improve within 7 days. At up to 4 a day, a single episode uses at most 28 suppositories before the label sends you to a doctor. Forty-eight is therefore a two-adult or two-episode box, not a signal that longer use is fine. If you find yourself working through it steadily, that is the label's own cue to make an appointment.

Everything else is identical to the pick: the heart, blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and enlarged prostate ask-a-doctor lines, the stop lines for bleeding and worsening, and the pregnancy and breastfeeding ask-a-health-professional line. Storage matters more with a bigger box: cocoa butter softens in heat, so keep it in a cool cabinet, and see how to store suppositories if your bathroom runs warm.

Who should buy it

Buy the 48 count if more than one adult in the house uses Preparation H suppositories, or if a doctor has told you to keep them on hand, and you would rather not reorder.

What we don't like

It saves nothing per suppository over the two-pack, and 48 units of a product whose label caps an episode at 7 days is more than most people should own at once.

Active ingredients
Phenylephrine HCl, cocoa butter, per Drug Facts
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
48
Form
Rectal suppository, foil wrapped
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per suppository
$0.75 ($35.92 divided by 48)
Packaging
One box of 48, individually wrapped

What we like

  • Same formula and label as the pick
  • One box instead of reordering
  • Individually wrapped

Worth noting

  • No saving per unit over the two-pack
  • More stock than a 7 day label warrants for one person
Best Alternative Name Brand
Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol

The other name on the hemorrhoid shelf, 12 per pack, about $1.08 each.

4.3

Our verdict: Anusol is the second name most people know on this shelf, and at $12.90 for 12 it is about $1.08 a suppository. The honest caveat is that the listing title states no actives, and Anusol is sold under the same brand in the US and the UK with different formulas, so the panel on the pack you receive is the one that counts. Buy it if you have used Anusol before and know which version you want.

Verified: Listing title states 12 per pack. The title states neither the actives nor their strengths; Anusol is sold under the same name in the US and the UK with different formulas, so read the panel on the pack you receive. Live at $12.90 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The second brand, with a caveat about which Anusol you are getting. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack is the plainly titled listing at $12.90 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), which is about $1.08 each ($12.90 divided by 12). Anusol has been a hemorrhoid brand for decades, but the name is used on differently formulated products in the US and the UK, and the Amazon listing title as it stands states neither the actives nor the strengths. That is not a knock on the product; it is a reason to read the Drug Facts or pack panel before the first use rather than assuming it matches the Preparation H formula.

What to look for on the panel: whether it lists a vasoconstrictor (phenylephrine, which brings the heart and blood pressure ask-a-doctor lines with it) or only protectants and astringents (zinc oxide and similar, which do not). That single difference decides who should and should not use it, and it is exactly the kind of fact the listing title should carry and does not.

There is a second Anusol listing, Anusol Suppositories 12, at $24.82, nearly double the price for the same stated count; we list the cheaper one here and note the other exists. The stop lines on any OTC hemorrhoidal label are the same: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor, and pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional first. Our brand write-up is the Anusol suppositories review, and the head-to-head is Preparation H vs Anusol.

Who should buy it

Buy Anusol if you have used it before and prefer it, or if you want a name-brand alternative to Preparation H and are willing to read the panel to confirm which formula the pack carries.

What we don't like

The listing title states no actives or strengths, the brand sells different formulas under the same name in different markets, and at about $1.08 each it costs more per suppository than the Preparation H two-pack.

Active ingredients
Not stated on the listing title; read the panel on the pack
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
12
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Per the panel on the pack
Cost per suppository
$1.08 ($12.90 divided by 12)
Packaging
Box of 12

What we like

  • A long-established second brand on the shelf
  • Count stated on the listing (12)
  • Cheaper than the alternate Anusol listing by a wide margin

Worth noting

  • Actives and strengths not stated on the listing title
  • US and UK formulas differ under the same name
  • About $1.08 each against 75 cents for the pick
Best Without Phenylephrine
Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 count

Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 count

Calmol 4

Cocoa butter and zinc oxide, astringent and protectant, no vasoconstrictor, 24 count.

4.5

Our verdict: Calmol 4 is the suppository for anyone the phenylephrine warnings apply to. Its title states cocoa butter and zinc oxide, a protectant and an astringent, and nothing that constricts blood vessels, so the heart, blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and prostate ask-a-doctor lines do not attach to it. At $26.63 for 24 it is about $1.11 each. It will not shrink swollen tissue, because nothing in it is labeled to.

Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: cocoa butter and zinc oxide, described on the title as astringent protectant relief. Percentages on the panel, not stated on the title. 24 count per the title. Live at $26.63 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The formula built on what the phenylephrine products leave out. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 count state both actives in the listing title, and the title describes the pair as astringent protectant relief. Zinc oxide is the astringent, cocoa butter is the protectant and the base, and there is no vasoconstrictor. The label use is therefore the itching, burning, discomfort and irritation half of the hemorrhoid Uses line; the shrinking-swollen-tissue claim belongs to phenylephrine and does not appear here.

Who this is for: the adult who reads the Preparation H label and hits one of its ask-a-doctor conditions, or who has been told by a doctor to avoid vasoconstrictors. For that person, Calmol 4 is not a compromise, it is the correct product. At $26.63 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) for 24, cost per suppository is about $1.11 ($26.63 divided by 24), which is more than Preparation H but buys a label with fewer conditions attached.

The general hemorrhoidal stop lines still apply: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor, under 12 is ask a doctor, and pregnant or breastfeeding is ask a health professional before use. Calmol 4 also sells a plainly titled 24 count at $24.12 and a 24 count 3-pack at $71.11; the 3-pack is about 99 cents each ($71.11 divided by 72) if you already know the formula suits you. The brand write-up is the Calmol 4 review, and Preparation H vs Calmol 4 puts the two formulas side by side.

Who should buy it

Buy Calmol 4 if any phenylephrine ask-a-doctor condition applies to you, if a doctor has told you to avoid vasoconstrictors, or if your symptoms are irritation and itching rather than internal swelling.

What we don't like

Nothing in it is labeled to shrink swollen tissue, so if swelling is the complaint it is the wrong product, and at about $1.11 each it costs more than the pick.

Active ingredients
Cocoa butter (protectant), zinc oxide (astringent), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
24
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per suppository
$1.11 ($26.63 divided by 24)
Packaging
Box of 24

What we like

  • No vasoconstrictor, so the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor lines do not apply
  • Both actives stated in the listing title
  • 24 count, with a cheaper 3-pack for repeat buyers

Worth noting

  • Not labeled to shrink swollen hemorrhoidal tissue
  • About $1.11 each
Best ValueBest Value Brand Entry
NeilMed Hemorrhoidal Suppositories

NeilMed Hemorrhoidal Suppositories

NeilMed

NeilMed's hemorrhoidal suppository at $10.99, titled for shrinking swollen tissue, count not published.

4.2

Our verdict: NeilMed built its name on saline rinses and has moved onto the suppository shelf with a hemorrhoidal product whose title reads like the Preparation H Uses line, shrinks swollen tissue included. The listing does not state the active or the count, so we cannot compute a cost per suppository and we will not guess. At $10.99 it is the cheapest box on the page, and the reason it ranks mid-table is that the numbers a buyer needs are on the panel, not the listing.

Verified: Listing title states the use: shrinks swollen tissue, relief from burning, itching and discomfort of hemorrhoids. The title states neither the active nor the count, so the Drug Facts panel names the active and we compute no cost per suppository. Live at $10.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A familiar name, a listing that leaves out the numbers. NeilMed Hemorrhoidal Suppositories carry a title that promises to shrink swollen tissue and relieve burning, itching and discomfort. The shrinking claim is the vasoconstrictor use line on an OTC hemorrhoidal label, which tells you what class of active to expect on the Drug Facts panel, but the title itself does not name it, and it does not state how many suppositories are in the box. At $10.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is the lowest box price here.

What is and is not published: the use is published; the active and the count are not. A cheap box with an unpublished count is not necessarily a cheap suppository, so we do not rank it on value, we rank it on brand credibility and the label it will carry. There is also a larger NeilMed hemorrhoidal pack at $29.08, again without a stated count.

Because the title signals a vasoconstrictor, assume the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor lines until the panel says otherwise: heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, and prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression. The stop lines are the same as every product here: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days. Pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. NeilMed's laxative and hemorrhoidal suppositories are covered together in our NeilMed suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Consider NeilMed if you want a value-brand hemorrhoidal suppository from a company you already trust for saline products, and you are willing to read the panel for the active and count the box yourself.

What we don't like

Neither the active nor the count is stated on the listing title, so there is no cost per suppository to compare, and the shrinking claim implies a vasoconstrictor with its full warning list.

Active ingredients
Not stated on the listing title; the Drug Facts panel names it
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Boxed

What we like

  • Lowest box price on the page at $10.99
  • Title states the full hemorrhoid Uses line
  • A credible brand with a larger pack available

Worth noting

  • Active and count not stated on the listing
  • No cost per suppository to compare
Best Non-Drug Alternative (Hyaluronic Acid)
PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

PROKTIS-M

A hyaluronic acid rectal suppository sold on a healing claim, not an OTC monograph drug.

4.1

Our verdict: PROKTIS-M is a different kind of product from everything above it: a hyaluronic acid suppository whose listing describes it as natural, non-steroidal and for healing of the anus and rectum. It is not an OTC monograph drug, it carries no phenylephrine or zinc oxide, and it is not approved to treat any condition. At $29.99 with no stated count it is the most expensive box here. It belongs on the page as the honest alternative for people who want no drug actives at all.

Verified: Listing title states: natural, non-steroidal rectal suppositories with hyaluronic acid, for healing of anus and rectum. Not an OTC monograph hemorrhoidal drug and carries no Drug Facts panel; count not stated on the title. Live at $29.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The suppository that is not a hemorrhoid drug. PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories state hyaluronic acid in the listing title, along with the descriptors natural and non-steroidal and the claim for healing of anus and rectum. We report that claim as the listing's, not ours. There is no vasoconstrictor, no astringent and no OTC monograph active, which means none of the phenylephrine warnings apply, and also that nothing on the pack is labeled to shrink swollen tissue or relieve itching in the way an OTC hemorrhoidal label is.

How to read it: as a hyaluronic acid moisturizing suppository for the rectal lining, priced at $29.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) with a count the listing title does not state, so no cost per unit. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. People who choose it tend to be those who want to avoid drug actives entirely, or who have been pointed to hyaluronic acid products by a clinician for fissure-adjacent irritation.

The stop rules do not change because the product is not a drug: rectal bleeding, worsening pain, or symptoms that last beyond a week are reasons to see a doctor regardless of what is in the cabinet. PROKTIS-M also appears in the best anal fissure treatments, where its healing positioning is discussed against the lidocaine and phenylephrine products, and the standalone write-up is the PROKTIS-M review.

Who should buy it

Consider PROKTIS-M if you want a rectal suppository with no drug actives, or if a clinician has suggested a hyaluronic acid product, and you accept that it is not labeled to do what an OTC hemorrhoidal suppository is labeled to do.

What we don't like

It is the most expensive box on the page with no stated count, and it is not approved to treat anything; the healing language is the listing's claim, not a Drug Facts use.

Active ingredients
Hyaluronic acid (per the listing title); not an OTC monograph drug
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Per the pack
Packaging
Boxed

What we like

  • No phenylephrine, zinc oxide or other drug actives
  • Hyaluronic acid stated in the title
  • The alternative for people avoiding OTC drug formulas

Worth noting

  • Not approved to treat any condition; healing claim is the listing's
  • $29.99 with no stated count
  • Not labeled for the OTC hemorrhoid Uses line
Best Herbal Witch Hazel Suppository
WiseWays Herbals Witch Hazel Suppositories, 12 count

WiseWays Herbals Witch Hazel Suppositories, 12 count

Wise Ways Herbals

An herbal witch hazel suppository, 12 count, for people who want the astringent without a drug label.

4.0

Our verdict: Wise Ways takes witch hazel, the astringent on every medicated pad, and puts it in a suppository. It is an herbal product rather than an OTC drug, so it makes no Drug Facts claim and we make none for it. At $20.60 for 12 it is about $1.72 each, the highest cost per unit on the page, which is the price of a small herbal maker. It is here for the reader who wants witch hazel internally and nothing else.

Verified: Listing title states: witch hazel suppositories, 12 count. An herbal product, not an OTC monograph drug; the title states no strength. Live at $20.60 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Witch hazel, in the one format the big brands do not sell it in. WiseWays Herbals Witch Hazel Suppositories, 12 count are an herbal product from a small maker: witch hazel in a suppository base, 12 to the box per the listing title, with no drug actives and no Drug Facts panel. Witch hazel is the astringent in Tucks pads and Preparation H wipes, both of which are OTC drugs applied externally; this is the same botanical, taken internally, without the OTC label. At $20.60 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $1.72 each ($20.60 divided by 12).

What we can and cannot say: we can say what the title states, witch hazel and 12 count. We cannot say it relieves anything, because it is not labeled to. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. If you want witch hazel with an OTC label attached, the pads and wipes in the best witch hazel pads are the products that carry one.

Same house rule as every entry: bleeding, worsening, or symptoms beyond a week are a doctor's business, herbal suppository or not. Because it is a small-maker product, owners report batch-to-batch variation in firmness; store cool, and read what to do when a suppository has melted if a box arrives soft.

Who should buy it

Consider Wise Ways if you specifically want witch hazel in suppository form and prefer an herbal product without OTC drug actives, and you understand it carries no Drug Facts use.

What we don't like

About $1.72 each, no OTC label and no labeled use, and small-maker consistency; it is a preference product rather than a first-line one.

Active ingredients
Witch hazel (per the listing title); herbal, not an OTC drug
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
12
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Per the pack
Cost per suppository
$1.72 ($20.60 divided by 12)
Packaging
Box of 12

What we like

  • Witch hazel in a suppository, which the big brands do not offer
  • No phenylephrine or other drug actives
  • Count stated on the listing (12)

Worth noting

  • Not an OTC drug; no labeled use
  • Highest cost per suppository on the page
Best for Readers Who Know the UK Brand
Germoloids Suppositories, 12

Germoloids Suppositories, 12

Germoloids

The UK pharmacy hemorrhoid brand, sold on Amazon as a 12 count import, about $1.52 each.

4.2

Our verdict: Germoloids is to a British pharmacy what Preparation H is to an American one, and it reaches Amazon as a 12 count import at $18.21, about $1.52 each. The listing title states no actives, and the pack carries a UK-format label rather than a Drug Facts panel, so read it before use. It is the pick for someone who used Germoloids in the UK and wants the same product, and a curiosity for everyone else.

Verified: Listing title states: Germoloids Suppositories x 12. A UK pharmacy product; the title states neither actives nor strengths, and the pack carries a UK-format label rather than a US Drug Facts panel. Live at $18.21 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The other country's reference brand. Germoloids Suppositories x 12 is the UK's mainstream hemorrhoid line, available on Amazon US as an imported box of 12. The listing title states the count and nothing else: no actives, no strengths. Because it is a UK-market pack, its label follows UK conventions rather than the US Drug Facts format, and the directions and warnings on it are the ones that apply, so read the pack rather than assuming it mirrors a US label. At $18.21 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $1.52 each ($18.21 divided by 12).

Why it is on the page at all: a meaningful number of readers know the brand from living in or visiting the UK and search for it by name. For them, this is the listing. For everyone else, the Preparation H two-pack does the same job with a US panel and at half the cost per suppository, and there is no reason to import.

The stop lines are universal regardless of label format: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean see a doctor, and pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional before use. For the US-labeled field with every active side by side, Preparation H vs Anusol covers the two brands most readers are actually deciding between.

Who should buy it

Buy Germoloids if you know the brand from the UK and want the same product; otherwise the Preparation H two-pack is the better-labeled and cheaper choice.

What we don't like

No actives on the listing title, a UK-format label rather than a Drug Facts panel, and about $1.52 each for an imported box.

Active ingredients
Not stated on the listing title; read the UK pack label
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
12
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Per the UK pack label
Cost per suppository
$1.52 ($18.21 divided by 12)
Packaging
Box of 12, imported

What we like

  • The UK reference brand, for readers who know it
  • Count stated on the listing (12)
  • Individually packed

Worth noting

  • Actives not stated on the listing title
  • UK-format label, not a US Drug Facts panel
  • About twice the pick's cost per suppository

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Best OverallPreparation H · $17.96Check price on Amazon
  2. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 countBest Bulk BoxPreparation H · $35.92Check price on Amazon
  3. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per packBest Alternative Name BrandAnusol · $12.90Check price on Amazon
  4. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 countBest Without PhenylephrineCalmol 4 · $26.63Check price on Amazon
  5. NeilMed Hemorrhoidal SuppositoriesBest Value Brand EntryNeilMed · $10.99Check price on Amazon
  6. PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic AcidBest Non-Drug Alternative (Hyaluronic Acid)PROKTIS-M · $29.99Check price on Amazon
  7. WiseWays Herbals Witch Hazel Suppositories, 12 countBest Herbal Witch Hazel SuppositoryWise Ways Herbals · $20.60Check price on Amazon
  8. Germoloids Suppositories, 12Best for Readers Who Know the UK BrandGermoloids · $18.21Check price on Amazon

How we chose

Every product on this page was checked against its Amazon listing and, where it is an OTC drug, its Drug Facts panel. For each we recorded the actives the title or panel names, the count where the title states it, the form and packaging, what the label directs and who it sends to a doctor, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per suppository is computed only where the listing title states both price and count, with the division shown. Where a title states no count, no active or no strength, the table says not published rather than guessing. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether suppositories arrive melted, whether the foil splits cleanly, whether the shape is comfortable to insert.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote each OTC label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Hemorrhoidal labels direct use up to 4 times daily and send children under 12 to a doctor; they say stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days; phenylephrine labels add the heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and enlarged prostate ask-a-doctor lines; and every label says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. PROKTIS-M and the Wise Ways herbal suppository are not OTC monograph drugs and are not approved to treat any condition; we describe them as their listings do. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.

Questions, answered

What is the best suppository for hemorrhoids?

For internal hemorrhoids in an adult with none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions, Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, at $17.96 at our September 5, 2026 check. The Drug Facts panel lists phenylephrine HCl and cocoa butter, the label covers itching, burning, discomfort and shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, and the two-pack is about 75 cents a suppository. If phenylephrine is not for you, Calmol 4 with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide, 24 count, at $26.63 is the astringent-and-protectant alternative.

How often can you use a hemorrhoid suppository?

The Drug Facts label on OTC hemorrhoidal suppositories directs adults to use up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and sends children under 12 to a doctor. The same label says stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. That 7 day line is the label's cap on self-treatment; it is not a suggestion to keep going with a bigger box.

Suppository or cream for hemorrhoids?

Location decides. A suppository is inserted and melts in the lower rectum, so it is the format for internal hemorrhoids and for symptoms a cream applied outside cannot reach. A cream or ointment is applied externally, so it is the format for external irritation, itching and burning around the anus. Many people with both use both. Our suppository vs cream comparison walks through it by symptom, and the best hemorrhoid creams guide ranks the external shelf.

Can I use Preparation H suppositories if I have high blood pressure?

The label says ask a doctor before use if you have high blood pressure, heart disease, thyroid disease, diabetes, or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. That is because the active, phenylephrine, is a vasoconstrictor. Calmol 4 with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide contains no vasoconstrictor and does not carry those lines, which is why it is our pick for anyone the warnings apply to.

Are hemorrhoid suppositories safe during pregnancy?

Every OTC hemorrhoidal label says: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. We repeat that rather than rank around it. Our guide to hemorrhoid treatments for pregnancy and postpartum leads with the products whose labels carry the fewest conditions (witch hazel pads, wipes and sitz bath care) and still says the same thing: ask first.

Which hemorrhoid suppository has no phenylephrine?

Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide state both actives in the listing title and neither is a vasoconstrictor. PROKTIS-M is a hyaluronic acid suppository with no OTC drug actives at all, and Wise Ways is an herbal witch hazel suppository; neither of those two is an OTC drug or labeled to treat anything. For any product whose title does not state the actives, including Anusol, NeilMed and Germoloids, the Drug Facts or pack panel is where to check.

How long does a hemorrhoid suppository take to work?

OTC hemorrhoidal labels do not print a time to effect the way laxative labels do; they state a use (temporary relief of itching, burning and discomfort, and for phenylephrine products, temporary shrinking of swollen tissue) and a schedule (up to 4 times daily). What the label does say about time is the cap: if symptoms have not improved within 7 days, stop and ask a doctor.

What should I do if there is rectal bleeding?

Stop using the product and ask a doctor. That line is on every OTC hemorrhoidal label, and bleeding is not something a suppository is meant to treat or that you should wait out with one. Blood can have causes a hemorrhoid product does nothing for, and a clinician is the person to rule those out.