Our Pick: Preparation H

Check price on Amazon →

Preparation H Suppositories Review: The Phenylephrine Suppository, Box by Box

Buy the 12 count pack of 2 at $17.96, about 75 cents a suppository. The Drug Facts panel lists cocoa butter as a protectant and phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor, directs up to 4 per day, and sends anyone under 12, anyone pregnant, and anyone with heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or trouble urinating to a doctor first. The 48 count costs the same per unit; the ointment and wipes are the external companions. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~11 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Best Overall

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H · 4.6

$17.96

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBest Value

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H · 4.5

$6.34

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 countUpgrade Pick

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count

Preparation H · 4.4

$35.92

Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, at $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). Twenty-four foil-wrapped suppositories work out to about 75 cents each ($17.96 divided by 24). It is the only widely stocked hemorrhoidal suppository whose Drug Facts panel pairs a protectant (cocoa butter) with a vasoconstrictor (phenylephrine HCl), which is the ingredient behind the box's temporarily-shrinks-hemorrhoidal-tissue line. The 48 count at $35.92 is the same suppository at the same 75 cents, so buy by how many you expect to use, not by the bigger box.

This review covers what the suppository does according to its label, who the label sends to a doctor before the first dose, and the honest reasons to pick something else. The something-else is mostly about phenylephrine: it is a vasoconstrictor, and the Drug Facts panel tells people with heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, or difficulty urinating from an enlarged prostate to ask a doctor before use, and tells anyone taking a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression to ask a doctor or pharmacist. If that is you, a protectant-only suppository such as Calmol 4 is the benchmark we compare against below, alongside Anusol Suppositories.

This is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel, and we quote it rather than improvise around it. The label states the uses (temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, temporary shrinking of hemorrhoidal tissue, protection of irritated tissue), the directions (adults, up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning, and after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor), and the stop line every hemorrhoidal product shares: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. If you are pregnant or breast-feeding, the label says to ask a health professional before use. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand has paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count pack of 2, $17.96 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 75 cents a suppository. Cocoa butter (protectant) plus phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor) per the Drug Facts panel.
  • The 48 count at $35.92 is also about 75 cents each; the larger box saves nothing per unit and only makes sense if you already know you will use it before the printed date.
  • Phenylephrine is the reason the label sends people with heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, or an enlarged prostate to a doctor first. Protectant-only Calmol 4 (about $1.01 each) is the benchmark for them.
  • Directions: up to 4 per day for adults; children under 12, ask a doctor. Stop and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs or if symptoms worsen or last more than 7 days. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use.
  • For external symptoms the same brand sells a 1 oz ointment at $6.98 and 48 witch hazel wipes at $6.34 (about 13 cents a wipe); a suppository is for internal relief and the label says rectal use only.

At a glance

ProductActives (per label)CountCost per useLabel directionsPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Preparation H Suppositories, 12 ct x 2Cocoa butter, phenylephrine HCl24$0.75Up to 4 daily; under 12 ask a doctor$17.96Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Suppositories, 48 ctCocoa butter, phenylephrine HCl48$0.75Up to 4 daily; under 12 ask a doctor$35.92Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Ointment, 1 ozPer Drug Facts on the tube1 ozNot computableExternal use; see panel$6.98Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 ctWitch hazel48$0.13External use; up to 6 daily or after each bowel movement$6.34Check price on Amazon
Anusol Suppositories, 12Not published on listing12$1.08See Drug Facts on box$12.90Check price on Amazon
Calmol 4 Suppositories, 24 ctCocoa butter, zinc oxide24$1.01Up to 6 daily; under 12 ask a doctor$24.12Check price on Amazon

The Preparation H suppository line, its external companions, and two benchmark suppositories. Actives are as stated on the Drug Facts panel or the listing title; where neither states a figure we say not published. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per use is computed only where the listing states both price and count.

Our PickBest Overall
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H

The reference phenylephrine suppository: cocoa butter protectant, 24 foil-wrapped, about 75 cents each.

4.6

Our verdict: This is the hemorrhoidal suppository the shelf is measured against, and the only common one whose label includes a vasoconstrictor. Twenty-four wrapped suppositories at about 75 cents each is the fair way to buy it. The phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list is the one thing to read before you order.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: cocoa butter (protectant) and phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor). Listing count: 12 per box, pack of 2. Directions: adults, up to 4 times daily; children under 12, ask a doctor. Live at $17.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. The Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2 is two boxes of twelve foil-wrapped rectal suppositories. The Drug Facts panel lists two active ingredients: cocoa butter, labeled as a protectant, and phenylephrine HCl, labeled as a vasoconstrictor. The uses on the panel are temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, temporary shrinking of hemorrhoidal tissue, and temporary protection of the irritated anorectal surface. The cocoa butter is the body of the suppository; it melts at body temperature and coats. The phenylephrine is what distinguishes this from the protectant-only suppositories on the shelf.

Why it is the pick: at $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the pack of 2 works out to about 75 cents per suppository ($17.96 divided by 24). That is the cheapest per-unit hemorrhoidal suppository from a Tier A brand in our catalog, and the only one with a vasoconstrictor on the panel. The 48 count box costs exactly the same per unit, so the smaller pack is the right first purchase.

What the label directs. Adults: when practical, cleanse the affected area with mild soap and warm water and rinse thoroughly; gently dry by patting or blotting with toilet tissue or a soft cloth; detach one suppository from the strip, remove the foil wrapper, and insert one suppository into the rectum up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning, and after each bowel movement. Children under 12: ask a doctor. The label says do not exceed the recommended daily dosage unless directed by a doctor. For the practical part, positioning and what to do if it slips back out, see how to use a rectal suppository.

What the label says to watch. Because of the phenylephrine, ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, or difficulty in urination due to enlargement of the prostate gland. Ask a doctor or pharmacist before use if you are presently taking a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. Stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. If pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. Keep out of reach of children; if swallowed, get medical help or contact a Poison Control Center right away. Owners consistently report one practical thing the label does not: the cocoa butter base softens in a warm bathroom, and the foil strip is easier to open when the suppository is firm. Our guide on how to store suppositories covers it. For the field around this product, see the best hemorrhoid suppositories.

Who should buy it

Buy the pack of 2 if you are an adult with internal hemorrhoid symptoms, none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions apply to you, and you want the suppository whose label includes a vasoconstrictor. It is the correct first purchase on this shelf for that buyer.

What we don't like

The phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list is long and easy to skip on a small box. The listing title does not print the active percentages; the Drug Facts panel does. The cocoa butter base softens in heat, and the 48 count offers no per-unit saving over this pack.

Active ingredients
Cocoa butter (protectant), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), per the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel on the box
Count
24 (12 per box, pack of 2)
Form
Rectal suppository, foil wrapped, cocoa butter base
Label directions
Adults up to 4 times daily; children under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.75 ($17.96 divided by 24)
Packaging
Foil strips in two cartons

What we like

  • Only common hemorrhoidal suppository with a vasoconstrictor on the panel
  • About 75 cents each, lowest per unit from a Tier A brand
  • Individually foil wrapped
  • Clear directions and age line on the box

Worth noting

  • Phenylephrine carries a long ask-a-doctor list
  • Cocoa butter base softens in a warm bathroom
  • Strengths not printed on the listing title
Upgrade PickBest for Regular Buyers
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 count

Preparation H

The same suppository in a 48 count box at the same 75 cents each, no volume saving.

4.4

Our verdict: Same suppository, same label, same price per unit. At $35.92 for 48 it is about 75 cents each ($35.92 divided by 48), identical to the pack of 2. Buy it only if you already know from experience that you will use 48 before the printed date; otherwise the smaller pack is the sensible order.

Verified: Same labeled actives as the pack of 2: cocoa butter (protectant) and phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor). Listing count: 48. Live at $35.92 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Same suppository, bigger box. The Preparation H Suppositories, 48 count carries the same Drug Facts panel as the pack of 2: cocoa butter and phenylephrine HCl, the same uses, the same up-to-4-times-daily direction for adults, the same under-12 ask-a-doctor line, and the same 7 day stop line. At $35.92 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the cost per suppository is about 75 cents ($35.92 divided by 48), which is the same figure as the pack of 2 to the cent.

Who the 48 count is for: a household with more than one adult using them, or someone whose doctor has them on a longer course than the label's own 7 day line. For everyone else the label's stop line is the tell: if symptoms last more than 7 days the box says to see a doctor, not to open the second half of a 48 count. Check the printed date on the carton before buying on volume, and read do suppositories expire.

Everything else is identical to the pick, including the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list and the cocoa butter base that softens in heat. The 48 count carton takes more cabinet space and, because it is one box rather than two sealed boxes, the second half sits open longer.

Who should buy it

Buy the 48 count if two or more adults in the house use them or if a doctor has directed use beyond the label's 7 day line. For one adult with an occasional flare, the pack of 2 is the right size.

What we don't like

No per-unit saving over the pack of 2, one large open carton instead of two sealed boxes, and 48 suppositories is more than the label's 7 day stop line expects one person to use.

Active ingredients
Cocoa butter (protectant), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), per the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
Count
48
Form
Rectal suppository, foil wrapped, cocoa butter base
Label directions
Adults up to 4 times daily; children under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.75 ($35.92 divided by 48)
Packaging
Foil strips in one carton

What we like

  • Identical label and actives to the pack of 2
  • One order covers a multi-user household
  • Individually foil wrapped

Worth noting

  • Same 75 cents per unit as the smaller pack
  • More than one person is likely to use before expiry
Best External Companion
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz

Preparation H

The brand's external ointment for the symptoms a suppository does not reach, 1 oz for $6.98.

4.5

Our verdict: A suppository is for internal symptoms; the label says rectal use only. For external itching and burning the same brand's 1 oz ointment at $6.98 is the companion most owners keep beside it. Read the tube's Drug Facts panel for the actives, because the listing does not print them.

Verified: Listing: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, itching, burning and discomfort relief, 1 oz tube. Actives are on the tube's Drug Facts panel; the listing title does not print them. Live at $6.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is for. The Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz is the external product in the same line. The listing title states its purpose as itching, burning and discomfort relief; the actives and their percentages are printed on the tube's Drug Facts panel, not on the listing, so we do not state them here. At $6.98 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is the least expensive way to add an external product to the suppository above. Cost per use is not computable for an ointment.

Suppository or ointment: the suppository label is for rectal use, which is internal relief. External symptoms around the opening are what an ointment or cream is labeled for. Many owners use both, which is why we list the ointment here rather than as a competitor. The full question is answered at suppository vs cream for hemorrhoids, and the wider field at the best hemorrhoid creams.

The ointment carries the same shelf-wide stop line: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. The brand also sells a cream with lidocaine at $26.58 for people whose main complaint is pain rather than itch; lidocaine products carry their own external-use-only warnings, covered at the best lidocaine hemorrhoid creams.

Who should buy it

Buy the ointment alongside the suppository if you have external itching or burning as well as internal symptoms, or instead of it if your symptoms are only external.

What we don't like

The listing title does not print the actives, so you cannot compare panels before ordering, and a 1 oz tube is small if two people share it.

Active ingredients
On the tube's Drug Facts panel; not printed on the listing title
Strength
Not published on the listing
Count
1 oz tube
Form
Ointment, external
Label directions
External use per the Drug Facts panel
Cost per use
Not computable
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • The external companion from the same brand
  • $6.98 for the 1 oz tube
  • Same 7 day stop line as the suppository

Worth noting

  • Actives not printed on the listing
  • Small tube
Best ValueBest for Cleansing Before Use
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H

Witch hazel wipes for the cleanse-first step the suppository label directs, about 13 cents each.

4.5

Our verdict: The suppository directions start with cleansing the area when practical; a witch hazel wipe is the way most people do that. At $6.34 for 48, about 13 cents a wipe ($6.34 divided by 48), these are the cheapest Preparation H product on the page and the one owners reorder most.

Verified: Listing: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count. Witch hazel is the labeled astringent on this class of wipe. Live at $6.34 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why a wipe is on a suppository review. The Drug Facts directions for the suppository begin with cleansing the affected area with mild soap and warm water when practical and drying by patting. The Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count are the pre-moistened version of that step. Witch hazel is the astringent this class of wipe is labeled with; the wipe is for external use and is labeled up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, with children under 12 sent to a doctor. At $6.34 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) they are about 13 cents each ($6.34 divided by 48).

The right size: the 96 count flushable wipes at $12.12 are also about 13 cents each ($12.12 divided by 96), so there is no saving in the larger tub; the Totables 10 count at $4.83 are about 48 cents each and only make sense for a bag. The wipe field, including Tucks pads, is ranked at the best hemorrhoid wipes and the best witch hazel pads.

Owners consistently report the tub seal dries out if left open, and that the wipes are labeled flushable in the 96 count but the 48 count listing does not say so; check the package before flushing.

Who should buy it

Buy the 48 count wipes with the suppository if you want a pre-moistened way to do the cleanse-and-dry step the label directs, or as a standalone external product for itch.

What we don't like

The 48 count listing does not state flushable, the tub dries out if left open, and the 96 count offers no per-wipe saving.

Active ingredients
Witch hazel (astringent), per the wipe's Drug Facts panel
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
48
Form
Pre-moistened wipe, external
Label directions
Up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.13 ($6.34 divided by 48)
Packaging
Resealable tub

What we like

  • About 13 cents a wipe
  • Does the cleanse step the suppository label directs
  • Witch hazel, external use, clear directions

Worth noting

  • Flushability not stated on the 48 count listing
  • Tub dries if left open
Benchmark: The Other Big Name
Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol

The other pharmacy-name suppository, about $1.08 each, with actives you must read off the box.

4.1

Our verdict: Anusol is the name people say in the same breath as Preparation H, and at $12.90 for 12 it is about $1.08 each ($12.90 divided by 12), more than Preparation H's 75 cents. The listing does not publish the actives, and the brand has sold different formulas in different markets, so read the box. Our full review is at the Anusol Suppositories review.

Verified: Listing: Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack. The listing title does not state the active ingredients, and Anusol has sold more than one suppository formula, so the Drug Facts panel on the box that arrives is the source. Live at $12.90 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack is the other pharmacy-name hemorrhoidal suppository, and the benchmark most readers want compared. At $12.90 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is about $1.08 per suppository ($12.90 divided by 12), against about 75 cents for the Preparation H pack of 2. The listing title states the count and nothing about actives. Anusol has sold protectant-only suppository formulas, and the formula on a given box depends on the market it was packaged for, so we do not name the actives here; the Drug Facts panel on the box you receive is the source, and every hemorrhoidal panel carries the same stop line: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and ask a doctor.

When Anusol is the better choice: if the box you receive is a protectant-only formula, it avoids the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list entirely, and for someone with high blood pressure or heart disease that matters more than 33 cents a suppository. The complete head-to-head is at Preparation H vs Anusol, and the standalone review at the Anusol Suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Consider Anusol if you want the other pharmacy name, do not mind reading the actives off the box, and a protectant-only panel would suit you better than phenylephrine.

What we don't like

The listing does not publish the actives, the per-unit price is higher than Preparation H, and the alternate Anusol 12 listing is nearly double this price for the same count.

Active ingredients
Not published on the listing; read the Drug Facts panel on the box
Strength
Not published
Count
12
Form
Rectal suppository
Label directions
Per the Drug Facts panel on the box
Cost per use
$1.08 ($12.90 divided by 12)
Packaging
Carton of 12

What we like

  • The other trusted pharmacy name
  • Count stated on the listing
  • Protectant-only formulas avoid the phenylephrine list

Worth noting

  • Actives not published on the listing
  • About $1.08 each against 75 cents
Benchmark: No Phenylephrine
Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count

Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count

Calmol 4

Cocoa butter plus zinc oxide, no vasoconstrictor, up to 6 daily on the label, about $1.01 each.

4.4

Our verdict: Calmol 4 is the protectant-only benchmark: cocoa butter and zinc oxide on the panel, no phenylephrine, and a label that allows up to 6 per day. At $24.12 for 24 it is about $1.01 each ($24.12 divided by 24). For anyone on the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list it is the suppository we would reach for instead.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: cocoa butter (protectant) and zinc oxide (protectant). Listing count: 24. Directions: adults, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor. Live at $24.12 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count is the clearest alternative to Preparation H for one reason: the Drug Facts panel lists cocoa butter and zinc oxide, both protectants, and no vasoconstrictor. That removes the heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes, and prostate ask-a-doctor list from the decision. The label directs adults to insert one suppository up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, with children under 12 sent to a doctor, and carries the same 7 day stop line. At $24.12 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is about $1.01 each ($24.12 divided by 24), a quarter more than Preparation H's 75 cents.

The trade: Calmol 4 does not carry the temporarily-shrinks-hemorrhoidal-tissue use, because that line belongs to the vasoconstrictor. What it offers is a protectant coating with an astringent, more allowed applications per day, and no drug-interaction list. The full matchup is at Preparation H vs Calmol 4; the standalone review is at the Calmol 4 review.

Who should buy it

Buy Calmol 4 instead of Preparation H if you have any of the conditions on the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list, take a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression, or simply want a protectant-only suppository.

What we don't like

About $1.01 each against 75 cents, a Tier B brand with thinner distribution, and the listing title for this SKU does not restate the actives (the cocoa butter and zinc oxide listing does).

Active ingredients
Cocoa butter (protectant), zinc oxide (protectant), per the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
Count
24
Form
Rectal suppository, wrapped, cocoa butter base
Label directions
Adults up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$1.01 ($24.12 divided by 24)
Packaging
Carton of 24

What we like

  • No phenylephrine, no drug-interaction list
  • Up to 6 daily on the label
  • Cocoa butter base with zinc oxide

Worth noting

  • About $1.01 each
  • No vasoconstrictor use on the label

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Best OverallPreparation H · $17.96Check price on Amazon
  2. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Suppositories, 48 countBest for Regular BuyersPreparation H · $35.92Check price on Amazon
  3. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 ozBest External CompanionPreparation H · $6.98Check price on Amazon
  4. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBest for Cleansing Before UsePreparation H · $6.34Check price on Amazon
  5. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per packBenchmark: The Other Big NameAnusol · $12.90Check price on Amazon
  6. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 countBenchmark: No PhenylephrineCalmol 4 · $24.12Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This review is built on the Drug Facts panel and the live listing. For every SKU we recorded the active ingredients and their labeled purpose where the panel or listing title states them, the count, the form (rectal suppository, ointment, or wipe), the label's directions and age line, and the Amazon price on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per use is shown only where the listing title gives both a price and a count, with the division shown. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on the things a label cannot tell you: whether the foil strip tears cleanly, whether suppositories arrive soft in summer, and whether the brand's ointment tube and wipes hold up beside the suppository.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote the label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Hemorrhoidal suppositories are labeled for rectal use only, up to the stated number of daily applications, and the stop line is the same on every box: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. Phenylephrine carries its own ask-a-doctor list (heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate) and its own ask-a-doctor-or-pharmacist line for anyone taking a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. Children under 12, ask a doctor. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw this review before publication.

Questions, answered

What are the active ingredients in Preparation H suppositories?

The Drug Facts panel lists two: cocoa butter, labeled as a protectant, and phenylephrine HCl, labeled as a vasoconstrictor. The Amazon listing title does not print the percentages; the panel on the box does. The phenylephrine is the reason the label carries an ask-a-doctor list for heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, and difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate.

How often can you use a Preparation H suppository?

The label directs adults to insert one suppository up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning, and after each bowel movement, and says not to exceed the recommended daily dosage unless directed by a doctor. Children under 12: ask a doctor.

How long can you use Preparation H suppositories?

The label says to stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days, or if bleeding occurs. Use beyond that window is a conversation with a doctor, not a bigger box.

Can you use Preparation H suppositories while pregnant?

The label says if pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. We do not go beyond that. Products whose labels are written for pregnancy and postpartum are ranked in our pregnancy and postpartum guide.

Is the 48 count cheaper than the 12 count pack of 2?

Not per suppository. At our September 5, 2026 check the pack of 2 was $17.96 for 24, about 75 cents each, and the 48 count was $35.92, also about 75 cents each. Buy the 48 count only if you know you will use it before the printed date.

Preparation H or Anusol suppositories: which should I buy?

Preparation H is about 75 cents each and its panel includes a vasoconstrictor; Anusol is about $1.08 each and its listing does not publish the actives, so you read them off the box. If a protectant-only formula suits you better than phenylephrine, Anusol or Calmol 4 is the direction. The full comparison is at Preparation H vs Anusol.

What if the suppository is soft when I open it?

The cocoa butter base softens in a warm bathroom or in summer shipping. Chill the sealed strip briefly before opening so the foil tears cleanly and the suppository holds its shape. Do not use one that has lost its shape. Our storage guide covers it.

Should I use the suppository or the ointment?

The suppository is labeled for rectal use, which is internal relief. External itching and burning are what the ointment and cream are labeled for. Many owners use both. The question is covered in full at suppository vs cream for hemorrhoids.