Our Pick: Preparation H
Check price on Amazon →The Best Hemorrhoid Creams and Ointments (2026): Preparation H, Doctor Butler's, Curist, Boiron
Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, at $12.48. It is the reference external cream, its Drug Facts panel pairs phenylephrine with protectants, and the 2 oz tube is about $6.24 an ounce against $8.64 for the 0.9 oz. Below it: the petrolatum ointment, the lidocaine creams from Preparation H, Doctor Butler's and Curist, the store-brand ointment, the homeopathic Boiron, and Calmoseptine for the skin around the problem. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~14 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Upgrade PickPreparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz
Preparation H · 4.5
$26.58
Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, at $12.48 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). For external hemorrhoids, the itching, burning and swelling you can feel around the anus, this is the tube the shelf is built around: the Drug Facts panel lists phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor alongside protectants, the label covers itching, burning, discomfort and temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, and 2 oz at $12.48 is about $6.24 an ounce ($12.48 divided by 2). If pain rather than itching is the complaint, Preparation H Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, at $26.58 adds a local anesthetic.
Creams and ointments are the external half of the hemorrhoid shelf. A cream is a water-based emulsion that absorbs; an ointment is petrolatum-based and sits on the skin as a film. Both are applied to the outside of the anus and, on the labels that say so, just inside it with the applicator. The OTC drugs here are built from the same monograph list as the suppositories: protectants (petrolatum, glycerin, mineral oil), a vasoconstrictor (phenylephrine) on the products that claim to shrink swollen tissue, and a local anesthetic (lidocaine) on the products that claim to numb pain. Two entries are not OTC monograph hemorrhoid drugs and we say so: Boiron HemCalm is homeopathic, and Calmoseptine is a zinc oxide skin protectant whose label is about irritated skin rather than hemorrhoids. We rank on what is printed: actives where the title or panel names them, tube size, cost per ounce where the size is published, and how the label directs use.
The rules on this shelf, since every OTC product here has a Drug Facts panel we quote. The label use is temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, plus temporary shrinking of swollen tissue on phenylephrine products and temporary relief of pain on lidocaine products. The label directs adults to apply up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and sends children under 12 to a doctor. Every label says stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days. Phenylephrine labels add ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate. Lidocaine labels say do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas. Every label says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.
The short version
- Our Pick: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, $12.48 at our September 5, 2026 check. Phenylephrine plus protectants per the Drug Facts panel, about $6.24 an ounce.
- Cheapest tube: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz, $6.98. Petrolatum-based, sits on the skin, same phenylephrine label.
- For pain: Preparation H Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, $26.58, or Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in a 6 oz tube for $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce.
- Store brand: Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment at $5.21 is the lowest price on the page; the listing states neither the size nor the actives, so read the panel.
- Two non-drug entries, labeled as such: Boiron HemCalm is homeopathic, and Calmoseptine is a skin protectant for the irritated skin around a hemorrhoid, not a hemorrhoid drug. Every OTC label here says stop and ask a doctor for bleeding or symptoms beyond 7 days.
At a glance
| Product | Actives (per title or panel) | Form | Size | Cost per oz | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preparation H Symptom Treatment Cream | Phenylephrine HCl, protectants | Cream | 2 oz | $6.24 | $12.48 | Check price on Amazon |
| Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment | Phenylephrine HCl, petrolatum protectants | Ointment | 1 oz | $6.98 | $6.98 | Check price on Amazon |
| Preparation H Cream with Lidocaine | Lidocaine (per title), plus panel actives | Cream | 1 oz | $26.58 | $26.58 | Check price on Amazon |
| Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment | Lidocaine, phenylephrine HCl (per title) | Ointment | Not published | n/a | $19.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment | Not stated on title; see panel | Ointment | Not published | n/a | $5.21 | Check price on Amazon |
| Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream | 5% lidocaine, phenylephrine (per title) | Cream | 6 oz (170 g) | $4.00 | $24.00 | Check price on Amazon |
| Boiron HemCalm Ointment | Homeopathic | Ointment | 1 oz | $7.41 | $7.41 | Check price on Amazon |
| Calmoseptine Ointment, jar | Zinc oxide, menthol per Drug Facts (skin protectant) | Ointment | 2.5 oz | $3.44 | $8.60 | Check price on Amazon |
The eight externals on this page. Actives are as stated on the listing title or the Drug Facts panel; where the title states no size, we say so and compute no cost per ounce. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz
Preparation H
The reference external cream: phenylephrine plus protectants, 2 oz, about $6.24 an ounce.
Our verdict: This is the external hemorrhoid product everything else is measured against, and the 2 oz tube is the size to buy. The Drug Facts panel pairs phenylephrine, the only active labeled to shrink swollen tissue, with protectants that coat and soothe. At $12.48 for 2 oz it is about $6.24 an ounce, well under the $8.64 the 0.9 oz tube works out to. Buy it first unless the phenylephrine warnings apply to you or pain is the main complaint.
Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor) with protectants (glycerin, petrolatum); percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. 2 oz tube per the title. Live at $12.48 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The standard external cream, in the size that makes sense. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz combines phenylephrine HCl, a vasoconstrictor, with protectants including glycerin and petrolatum, per the Drug Facts panel. The panel's Uses line covers temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, and protection of irritated tissue. Directions: adults, apply to the affected area up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor.
What the label says to watch: ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. Stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. If the hemorrhoid is internal, a cream cannot reach it; suppository vs cream for hemorrhoids explains the split, and the best hemorrhoid suppositories ranks the internal format.
Who should buy it
Buy the 2 oz cream if you have external hemorrhoids with itching, burning or swelling, none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions apply, and you want the reference product at the better cost per ounce.
What we don't like
The phenylephrine warning list sends a meaningful number of adults to a doctor before first use, and the listing title states no active percentages. It does not numb, so pain is not its strength.
- Active ingredients
- Phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), glycerin and petrolatum (protectants), per Drug Facts
- Strength
- Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- 2 oz
- Form
- Cream, tube
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Cost per ounce
- $6.24 ($12.48 divided by 2)
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- Complete label: itching, burning, discomfort, swollen tissue, protection
- About $6.24 an ounce, cheaper per ounce than the 0.9 oz tube
- The reference brand for the external format
- Cream absorbs rather than sitting on the skin
Worth noting
- Phenylephrine carries heart, blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and prostate ask-a-doctor lines
- No local anesthetic for pain
- Active percentages not stated on the listing title
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz
Preparation H
The petrolatum-based Preparation H, a film that stays on the skin, 1 oz for $6.98.
Our verdict: The ointment is the same phenylephrine label as the cream in a petrolatum base that does not absorb, which is exactly what some people want: a film that protects irritated skin between applications and through a bowel movement. At $6.98 for 1 oz it is the cheapest Preparation H tube, though per ounce it sits above the 2 oz cream. Choose it over the cream for protection; choose the cream for something that disappears into the skin.
Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor) with petrolatum-based protectants; percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. 1 oz tube per the title. Live at $6.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Same actives, different base, different job. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz carries phenylephrine HCl with a petrolatum-based protectant blend per the Drug Facts panel, and the same Uses line as the cream: itching, burning, discomfort, temporary shrinking of swollen tissue, protection of irritated areas. The difference is the base. Petrolatum sits on the skin as a film rather than absorbing, which means it keeps protecting after you apply it and through the next bowel movement. Owners consistently describe it as greasier than the cream, which is the same fact stated as a complaint.
Directions and warnings match the cream exactly: up to 4 times daily for adults, under 12 ask a doctor, the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions, the bleeding, worsening and 7 day stop lines, and the pregnancy and breastfeeding ask-a-health-professional line. The ointment includes an applicator for use just inside the anus per the label's directions; if you would rather use a suppository for anything internal, see our Preparation H suppositories review.
Who should buy it
Buy the ointment if you want a protective film that lasts between applications, or if a cream that absorbs has not kept irritated skin covered long enough for you.
What we don't like
Greasier than the cream by every owner account, higher per ounce than the 2 oz cream, and the same phenylephrine warning list.
- Active ingredients
- Phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), petrolatum-based protectants, per Drug Facts
- Strength
- Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- 1 oz
- Form
- Ointment, tube with applicator
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Cost per ounce
- $6.98 ($6.98 divided by 1)
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- Petrolatum film protects between applications
- Cheapest Preparation H tube at $6.98
- Same complete label as the cream
Worth noting
- Greasy; does not absorb
- Higher per ounce than the 2 oz cream
- Same phenylephrine ask-a-doctor lines
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz
Preparation H
The Preparation H cream that adds lidocaine to numb pain, 1 oz, priced like it.
Our verdict: When the complaint is pain rather than itching, lidocaine is the active the label is permitted to describe as relieving it, and this is Preparation H's lidocaine cream. It is also $26.58 for 1 oz, more than four times the per-ounce price of the standard cream, which is a lot for a local anesthetic you can get for $4.00 an ounce from Curist. Buy it for the brand and the small tube; buy Curist for volume.
Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: lidocaine (local anesthetic); the Drug Facts panel lists the full set and percentages, not stated on the title. 1 oz tube per the title. Live at $26.58 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The numbing version of the reference cream. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz states lidocaine in its title; the Drug Facts panel lists the full active set and percentages. Lidocaine is a local anesthetic, and its Uses line is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning. That makes this the Preparation H tube for an episode where pain is the dominant symptom, especially pain on and after a bowel movement.
Lidocaine labels add their own cautions: do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and stop and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or symptoms last more than 7 days. The general lines still apply: under 12 ask a doctor, bleeding means stop and ask a doctor, and pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional before use. The full lidocaine field, including wipes, is in the best lidocaine hemorrhoid creams.
Who should buy it
Buy the Preparation H lidocaine cream if pain is the main symptom, you want the name brand, and a 1 oz tube covers the episode; if you will use more than that, Curist is the better buy.
What we don't like
$26.58 an ounce is more than six times Curist's per-ounce price for a labeled 5% lidocaine cream, and the listing title states only lidocaine, not the full active set.
- Active ingredients
- Lidocaine (per the listing title); full set on the Drug Facts panel
- Strength
- Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- 1 oz
- Form
- Cream, tube
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Cost per ounce
- $26.58 ($26.58 divided by 1)
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- Lidocaine for pain, from the reference brand
- Small tube travels well
- A panel any pharmacist recognizes
Worth noting
- $26.58 an ounce, the highest on the page
- Only lidocaine named on the listing title
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment
Doctor Butler's
Lidocaine and phenylephrine together in one ointment, titled for hemorrhoids and fissures.
Our verdict: Doctor Butler's is the specialist brand on this shelf, and its ointment is the one product here whose title names both a local anesthetic and a vasoconstrictor: lidocaine for pain, phenylephrine for swollen tissue. That combination is why it leads our fissure guide. The listing title does not state the size, so we cannot compute a cost per ounce, and it carries the warning lists of both actives.
Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl. Titled as a hemorrhoid and fissure ointment. Size not stated on the listing title, so no cost per ounce. Live at $19.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Both actives, one tube, and a fissure on the label. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment states lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl in the listing title, which is the pairing most name-brand tubes split across two products. Lidocaine's label use is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning; phenylephrine's is temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue. The title also names fissures, and the brand was built by a proctologist around that overlap, which is why it is the pick in the best anal fissure treatments.
Because it carries both actives, it carries both warning blocks: the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions (heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression) and the lidocaine caution against large quantities and raw or blistered skin. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The brand write-up is the Doctor Butler's review.
Who should buy it
Buy Doctor Butler's ointment if you have pain and swelling together, or a fissure alongside a hemorrhoid, and you want both actives in one tube from a specialist brand.
What we don't like
The size is not on the listing title, so there is no cost per ounce, and two actives means two warning lists to read before first use.
- Active ingredients
- Lidocaine (local anesthetic), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), per the listing title
- Strength
- Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- Not published on the listing title
- Form
- Ointment, tube
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- Lidocaine and phenylephrine both named in the title
- Fissures named on the title, from a specialist brand
- Advanced and cream versions in the same line
Worth noting
- Size not published, no cost per ounce
- Carries both actives' warning lists
Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment
Amazon Basic Care
The store-brand ointment at $5.21, titled for burning, itching, swelling and discomfort.
Our verdict: Amazon Basic Care is the store brand that sits next to Preparation H on the virtual shelf, and its ointment's title reads like the Preparation H ointment's Uses line, swelling included. The listing states neither the actives nor the size, so read the panel and expect the phenylephrine warnings the swelling claim implies. At $5.21 it is the lowest price on the page.
Verified: Listing title states the use: fast-acting pain relief; relieves burning, itching, swelling and discomfort. The title states neither the actives nor the size, so the Drug Facts panel names the actives and we compute no cost per ounce. Live at $5.21 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The generic ointment, with the numbers on the panel rather than the listing. Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment is titled for fast-acting pain relief and for relieving burning, itching, swelling and discomfort. The swelling claim is the vasoconstrictor use line, which tells you what to expect on the Drug Facts panel, but the title names no active and states no size. At $5.21 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is the cheapest tube here, and without a size we cannot tell you whether it is the cheapest per ounce.
Assume the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor lines until the panel says otherwise, and the general stop lines regardless: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor, under 12 is ask a doctor, and pregnant or breastfeeding is ask a health professional before use. For the name-brand ointment with the same use line and a published size, the Preparation H ointment is $6.98 for a stated 1 oz.
Who should buy it
Buy the Amazon Basic Care ointment if you want the lowest tube price on the page and are willing to confirm on the Drug Facts panel that its actives match the name brand.
What we don't like
Neither the actives nor the size is on the listing title, so there is no cost per ounce and no way to confirm the formula without the box in hand.
- Active ingredients
- Not stated on the listing title; the Drug Facts panel names them
- Strength
- Not published on the listing title
- Size
- Not published on the listing title
- Form
- Ointment, tube
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- Lowest price on the page at $5.21
- Title states the full hemorrhoid Uses line including swelling
- Amazon's own store brand, widely stocked
Worth noting
- Actives and size not stated on the listing
- No cost per ounce to compare
Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 oz
Curist
5% lidocaine and phenylephrine stated in the title, in a 6 oz tube, about $4.00 an ounce.
Our verdict: Curist is the one product on this page whose title states a lidocaine percentage, 5%, and a size, 6 oz, which lets us do the math nobody else allows: $24.00 for 6 oz is about $4.00 an ounce. That is roughly a sixth of Preparation H's lidocaine cream per ounce, with phenylephrine in the same tube. Six ounces is a lot of hemorrhoid cream, and the 7 day label line means most people will not finish it, but per ounce nothing here comes close.
Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine. 6 oz (170 g) tube per the title. Live at $24.00 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The tube that publishes its numbers. Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream states 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in the listing title, along with the size, 6 oz (170 g). Five percent is the top of the OTC range for lidocaine, and pairing it with phenylephrine gives the tube both the pain line and the swollen-tissue line on its Uses panel. The title names fissures as well as hemorrhoids, and it is the second product in the best anal fissure treatments for that reason.
Both warning blocks apply: the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions (heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression) and the lidocaine caution against large quantities and raw or blistered skin, which matters more with a big tube of a 5% product. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The lidocaine field is ranked in the best lidocaine hemorrhoid creams.
Who should buy it
Buy Curist if you need lidocaine and phenylephrine together, want the strength and size printed on the listing, and prefer one large tube at $4.00 an ounce over a small one at $26.58.
What we don't like
Six ounces is far more than a 7 day episode uses, a 5% lidocaine cream in that volume makes the label's large-quantity caution worth rereading, and it is a newer brand with less shelf history.
- Active ingredients
- Lidocaine 5% (local anesthetic), phenylephrine (vasoconstrictor), per the listing title
- Strength
- Lidocaine 5% per the title; phenylephrine percentage on the panel
- Size
- 6 oz (170 g)
- Form
- Cream, tube
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Cost per ounce
- $4.00 ($24.00 divided by 6)
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine both stated in the title
- About $4.00 an ounce, the best lidocaine value on the page
- Size published, so the math is real
- Fissures named on the title
Worth noting
- 6 oz is more than a 7 day episode uses
- Both actives' warning lists apply
- Newer brand
Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz
Boiron
Boiron's homeopathic hemorrhoid ointment, 1 oz for $7.41, for people who want no monograph actives.
Our verdict: Boiron HemCalm is a homeopathic ointment, and we say so plainly: its claims rest on traditional homeopathic practice rather than accepted medical evidence, and they are not FDA evaluated. It contains no phenylephrine and no lidocaine, so none of their warnings apply, and at $7.41 for 1 oz it is inexpensive. It is on the page for the reader who wants to avoid monograph actives entirely and understands what that means.
Verified: A homeopathic ointment per Boiron's labeling; titled for hemorrhoid relief of pain, itching, swelling or discomfort. 1 oz per the title. Not an OTC monograph hemorrhoid drug. Live at $7.41 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The homeopathic tube, described as exactly that. Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz is titled for hemorrhoid relief of pain, itching, swelling or discomfort, and it is a homeopathic product from the largest homeopathic maker. Homeopathic claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated; that sentence is on Boiron's own packaging and it belongs here too. What HemCalm does not contain is any OTC monograph active, which means no phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions and no lidocaine cautions.
The stop rules do not depend on the product class: bleeding, worsening pain, or symptoms beyond 7 days mean see a doctor whether the tube is homeopathic or monograph. The brand write-up is the Boiron HemCalm review.
Who should buy it
Consider HemCalm if you want to avoid phenylephrine and lidocaine altogether and prefer a homeopathic ointment, knowing its claims are traditional rather than evidence-based.
What we don't like
Homeopathic claims are not accepted medical evidence and not FDA evaluated, and there is no monograph active on the panel to anchor a labeled use.
- Active ingredients
- Homeopathic actives per Boiron's labeling; no OTC monograph actives
- Strength
- Homeopathic dilutions per the panel
- Size
- 1 oz
- Form
- Ointment, tube
- Label ages
- Per the pack
- Cost per ounce
- $7.41 ($7.41 divided by 1)
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- No phenylephrine or lidocaine warnings
- Inexpensive at $7.41 for 1 oz
- From the largest homeopathic maker, with tablets in the same line
Worth noting
- Homeopathic: claims not evidence-based or FDA evaluated
- No monograph active or labeled OTC use
Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jar
Calmoseptine
A zinc oxide skin protectant for the raw skin around a hemorrhoid, not a hemorrhoid drug.
Our verdict: Calmoseptine is not a hemorrhoid product and we are not listing it as one. It is a zinc oxide and menthol skin protectant whose Drug Facts label is about irritated, chafed and moist skin, and that is exactly what the skin around a hemorrhoid becomes after a week of wiping and creams. Nurses reach for it for that reason. At $8.60 for 2.5 oz, about $3.44 an ounce, it is the cheapest per ounce on the page, and it is the last step, not the first.
Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: zinc oxide (skin protectant) and menthol; percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. Labeled as a skin protectant and moisture barrier, not as a hemorrhoid treatment. 2.5 oz jar per the title. Live at $8.60 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The barrier, for the skin the hemorrhoid products leave raw. Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jar carries zinc oxide and menthol per its Drug Facts panel, and its label is a skin protectant label: it is for irritated skin, chafing, and protection from moisture, with the listing naming diaper rash, heat rash and insect bites. It is not labeled for hemorrhoids, it contains no vasoconstrictor and no anesthetic, and nothing in it is labeled to shrink or numb anything. What it does is coat and protect skin, which is why it is a fixture in hospital and long-term-care supply rooms for perianal skin.
Its label's own stop line is the skin protectant one: stop and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or lasts more than 7 days. The hemorrhoid stop lines apply to the hemorrhoid, not the ointment: bleeding or symptoms beyond a week mean see a doctor. Calmoseptine also appears in the pregnancy and postpartum guide, where its lack of vasoconstrictors and anesthetics is the point, and the standalone write-up is the Calmoseptine review.
Who should buy it
Buy Calmoseptine to protect the skin around a hemorrhoid that has become raw from wiping and repeated applications, or to keep it from getting there, not as the product that treats the hemorrhoid itself.
What we don't like
It is not a hemorrhoid product and does nothing a hemorrhoid label is for; the jar is messier than the tube, and the menthol can sting on broken skin by consistent owner report.
- Active ingredients
- Zinc oxide (skin protectant), menthol, per Drug Facts
- Strength
- Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- 2.5 oz
- Form
- Ointment, jar
- Label ages
- Per the skin protectant panel
- Cost per ounce
- $3.44 ($8.60 divided by 2.5)
- Packaging
- Jar; 4 oz tube also sold
What we like
- Zinc oxide barrier for raw perianal skin
- No vasoconstrictor or anesthetic warnings
- Cheapest per ounce on the page
Worth noting
- Not labeled for hemorrhoids; a skin protectant only
- Jar format is messy; menthol may sting broken skin
What you'll need
The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 ozBest OverallPreparation H · $12.48Check price on Amazon
- Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 ozBest Ointment (Petrolatum Base)Preparation H · $6.98Check price on Amazon
- Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 ozBest for Pain (Name Brand)Preparation H · $26.58Check price on Amazon
- Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentBest Lidocaine and Phenylephrine OintmentDoctor Butler's · $19.99Check price on Amazon
- Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid OintmentBest Store BrandAmazon Basic Care · $5.21Check price on Amazon
- Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 ozBest Value Lidocaine CreamCurist · $24.00Check price on Amazon
- Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 ozBest Homeopathic OptionBoiron · $7.41Check price on Amazon
- Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jarBest Barrier for the Skin Around ItCalmoseptine · $8.60Check price on Amazon
How we chose
Every product on this page was checked against its Amazon listing and, where it is an OTC drug, its Drug Facts panel. For each we recorded the actives the title or panel names, the form (cream or ointment), the size where the title states it, what the label directs and who it sends to a doctor, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per ounce is computed only where the listing title states both price and size, with the division shown. Where a title states no size or no active, the table says not published. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether a cream stings on application, whether an ointment stains, whether the applicator tip is usable.
Compliance for this shelf: we quote each OTC label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Hemorrhoidal labels direct use up to 4 times daily and send children under 12 to a doctor; they say stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days; phenylephrine labels add the heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and enlarged prostate lines; lidocaine labels say not to use in large quantities or over raw or blistered skin; and every label says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. Boiron HemCalm is a homeopathic product: its claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. Calmoseptine's Drug Facts panel is a skin protectant label, not a hemorrhoid label, and we describe it that way. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.
Questions, answered
What is the best cream for hemorrhoids?
For external hemorrhoids with itching, burning or swelling in an adult with none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions, Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, at $12.48 at our September 5, 2026 check. The Drug Facts panel pairs phenylephrine with protectants, the label covers itching, burning, discomfort and temporary shrinking of swollen tissue, and 2 oz is about $6.24 an ounce. If pain is the main complaint, a lidocaine product such as Curist or Preparation H with Lidocaine is the labeled answer.
Is hemorrhoid cream or ointment better?
They carry the same label; the base is the difference. A cream absorbs and feels clean, which suits daytime use and itching. An ointment is petrolatum-based and stays on the skin as a protective film, which suits nighttime, raw skin and friction. Preparation H sells both with the same phenylephrine panel: the 2 oz cream at $12.48 and the 1 oz ointment at $6.98.
Which hemorrhoid cream has lidocaine?
On this page, Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, at $26.58; Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, which states lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl in its title, at $19.99; and Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, which states 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in a 6 oz tube, at $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce. Lidocaine labels say do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas.
How often can I apply hemorrhoid cream?
The Drug Facts label on OTC hemorrhoidal creams and ointments directs adults to apply up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and sends children under 12 to a doctor. Every label says stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days.
Can I use hemorrhoid cream if I have high blood pressure?
Products containing phenylephrine, which on this page means Preparation H cream and ointment, Doctor Butler's, Curist and, by its title, Amazon Basic Care, say ask a doctor before use if you have high blood pressure, heart disease, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. Boiron HemCalm and Calmoseptine contain no phenylephrine, and witch hazel pads do not either.
Is Calmoseptine good for hemorrhoids?
Calmoseptine is a zinc oxide and menthol skin protectant, and its Drug Facts label is about irritated and chafed skin, not hemorrhoids. It contains nothing labeled to shrink swollen tissue or numb pain. Where it earns its place is on the skin around a hemorrhoid that has become raw from wiping and repeated creams, as a barrier. Use it for that, alongside a product labeled for the hemorrhoid, not instead of one.
Is Boiron HemCalm a real medicine?
It is a homeopathic ointment. Boiron's own labeling states that homeopathic claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. It contains no OTC monograph actives, so none of the phenylephrine or lidocaine warnings apply to it, and likewise none of their labeled uses. It is on this page for readers who have decided against monograph actives and want that stated honestly.
What if the hemorrhoid is bleeding?
Stop using the product and ask a doctor. That line is on every OTC hemorrhoidal label, and bleeding is not something a cream is meant to treat or that you should wait out with one. Rectal bleeding can have causes a hemorrhoid product does nothing for, and a clinician is the person to rule them out.
Filed under Buyer's Guide
Keep reading
Best Hemorrhoid Suppositories (2026)
The internal format: Preparation H, Anusol, Calmol 4, NeilMed and the phenylephrine-free options.
Best Lidocaine Hemorrhoid Creams (2026)
The pain shelf: Preparation H, Doctor Butler's, Curist and the Rapid Relief wipes, priced per ounce.
Suppository vs Cream for Hemorrhoids
Internal or external, and which Preparation H format for which symptom.
Doctor Butler's Review
The specialist line: ointment, advanced ointment, cream, spray, wipes and to-go packets.
















