Our Pick: Preparation H

Check price on Amazon →

Suppository vs Cream for Hemorrhoids: Which Preparation H Format to Use, and When

Location decides. A suppository melts inside the lower rectum, so it is the format for internal hemorrhoids and symptoms a cream cannot reach; a cream goes on the outside, so it is the format for external itching, burning and swelling. Preparation H sells both with the same phenylephrine label: Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, at $17.96, about 75 cents each, and Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, at $12.48, about $6.24 an ounce. Many people need both. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~11 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Best Overall

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H · 4.7

$17.96

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBest Value

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H · 4.7

$6.34

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 ozUpgrade Pick

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz

Preparation H · 4.7

$12.48

If the hemorrhoid is internal, or the symptoms are inside the anus rather than on the skin around it, buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, at $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 75 cents a suppository ($17.96 divided by 24). If the hemorrhoid is external, or the complaint is itching, burning and swelling on the skin, buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, at $12.48, about $6.24 an ounce ($12.48 divided by 2). Both carry phenylephrine and a protectant on the Drug Facts panel and the same Uses line; the difference is where each one goes, and that is the whole decision.

This is the question a pharmacist gets more than any other on the hemorrhoid shelf, and the answer is anatomical rather than a matter of strength. Internal hemorrhoids sit inside the rectum above the anal opening, where a cream applied to the outside never arrives; a suppository is inserted past the opening and melts there. External hemorrhoids sit at or outside the opening, on skin that a cream reaches directly and a suppository melts past. The two Preparation H formats we compare here use the same class of actives, so nobody is choosing a stronger product; they are choosing a delivery route. What this page adds is the label detail on both sides, the cost per use, the practical differences in mess and timing, and a third option for the reader who has neither an internal nor a swelling problem and just wants clean, soothed skin: Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count, at $6.34.

Both subjects are OTC drugs with Drug Facts panels, and we quote them. Both labels list phenylephrine HCl, a vasoconstrictor, with protectants (cocoa butter in the suppository, glycerin and petrolatum in the cream) and carry the same Uses line: temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, and temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue. Both direct adults up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and send children under 12 to a doctor. Both say ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription for high blood pressure or depression. Both say stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days, and ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand has paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Internal hemorrhoid, or symptoms inside: the suppository. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2, $17.96, about 75 cents each.
  • External hemorrhoid, or itching and swelling on the skin: the cream. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz, $12.48, about $6.24 an ounce.
  • Same actives class, same Uses line, same warnings. Neither is stronger; they go to different places. Many people with both kinds use both.
  • If neither swelling nor anything internal is the problem, a witch hazel wipe does the cleansing and soothing job for about 13 cents: Preparation H Wipes, 48 count, $6.34.
  • Every label here: up to 4 times daily, under 12 ask a doctor, the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions, and stop and ask a doctor for bleeding or symptoms beyond 7 days.

At a glance

ProductReachesActives (per panel)Count or sizeCost per usePrice (9/5/26)Check price
Preparation H Suppositories, 12 ct x 2Internal (lower rectum)Phenylephrine HCl, cocoa butter24$0.75$17.96Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 ozExternal (skin)Phenylephrine HCl, glycerin, petrolatum2 oz$6.24 per oz$12.48Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48External (skin), cleansingWitch hazel48$0.13$6.34Check price on Amazon

The two subjects and the wipe alternative. Actives are as stated on the Drug Facts panel; counts and sizes from the listing title. Cost per use is computed only where the title states the count or size. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickFor Internal Hemorrhoids
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H

Inserted and melted inside the lower rectum, the format for internal hemorrhoids, about 75 cents each.

4.7

Our verdict: The suppository is the only OTC format that reaches an internal hemorrhoid, and Preparation H's is the reference. Cocoa butter carries phenylephrine to the lower rectum, melts, and coats; the label covers itching, burning, discomfort and shrinking of swollen tissue. Twenty-four for $17.96 is about 75 cents each. If your symptoms are inside, or a cream has done nothing because it never got there, this is the format.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor) and cocoa butter (protectant); percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. 12 count, pack of 2, per the title. Live at $17.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The format that goes where a cream cannot. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2 are a cocoa butter base carrying phenylephrine HCl, per the Drug Facts panel. Inserted past the anal opening, the suppository melts at body temperature and spreads over the lower rectal lining, which is where an internal hemorrhoid is and where nothing applied to the outside arrives. The panel's Uses line is the full one: temporary relief of itching, burning and discomfort, and temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue. Directions: adults, one suppository up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor.

The practical side: insertion takes a moment and a clean hand, the cocoa butter base can leak slightly as it melts, and owners recommend lying down for a few minutes afterward. It is less convenient than a cream and it is the only thing that works for the internal case, which settles the trade. At $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the two-pack is about 75 cents each ($17.96 divided by 24); the 48 count at $35.92 is the same per unit.

Phenylephrine's lines apply: ask a doctor before use for heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, or a prescription for blood pressure or depression. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. Insertion is covered in how to use a rectal suppository, the full internal field in the best hemorrhoid suppositories, and the brand write-up in the Preparation H suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Buy the suppository if a clinician has told you the hemorrhoid is internal, if your symptoms are inside rather than on the skin, or if a cream has done nothing because it could not reach the problem.

What we don't like

Insertion is a chore, the cocoa butter base can leak as it melts, and it does nothing for skin outside the anus that the cream would cover.

Reaches
Internal: lower rectum, past the anal opening
Active ingredients
Phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), cocoa butter (protectant), per Drug Facts
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
24 (12 count, pack of 2)
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.75 ($17.96 divided by 24)
Packaging
Foil wrapped, two boxes of 12

What we like

  • The only OTC format that reaches an internal hemorrhoid
  • Full Uses line including swollen tissue
  • About 75 cents each

Worth noting

  • Insertion and possible leakage
  • Does nothing for external skin
  • Phenylephrine warning list
Upgrade PickFor External Hemorrhoids
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz

Preparation H

Applied to the skin outside the anus, the format for external itching, burning and swelling.

4.7

Our verdict: The cream is the format for the hemorrhoid you can feel from the outside, and it is easier, cleaner and cheaper per episode than the suppository. Same phenylephrine, same Uses line, applied to the skin where external itching, burning and swelling live. At $12.48 for 2 oz it is about $6.24 an ounce. It cannot reach an internal hemorrhoid, and if that is what you have, no amount of it will help.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor) with protectants (glycerin, petrolatum); percentages on the panel, not stated on the listing title. 2 oz tube per the title. Live at $12.48 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The format for the outside. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 oz carries phenylephrine HCl with glycerin and petrolatum as protectants, per the Drug Facts panel, and the same Uses line as the suppository: itching, burning, discomfort, shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, and protection of irritated tissue. It is applied to the skin around the anus, and with the applicator tip the label allows use just inside the opening; it does not travel to the lower rectum. Directions: adults, up to 4 times daily; under 12, ask a doctor.

The practical side: no insertion, no leakage, and it goes on in seconds after cleansing. That convenience is why people reach for the cream first even when the problem is internal, and why it disappoints them. At $12.48 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the 2 oz tube is about $6.24 an ounce ($12.48 divided by 2), well under the 0.9 oz tube at $7.78 (about $8.64 an ounce). If you want a film that stays on the skin rather than a cream that absorbs, the ointment at $6.98 carries the same label in a petrolatum base.

Same phenylephrine lines: ask a doctor before use for heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, or a prescription for blood pressure or depression. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The full external field, including the lidocaine creams for pain, is in the best hemorrhoid creams.

Who should buy it

Buy the cream if the hemorrhoid is external or the symptoms are on the skin around the anus, and you want the reference product in the format that takes seconds to use.

What we don't like

It cannot reach an internal hemorrhoid, it does not numb, and the phenylephrine warning list is the same as the suppository's.

Reaches
External: skin around the anus, just inside with the applicator
Active ingredients
Phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), glycerin and petrolatum (protectants), per Drug Facts
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
2 oz
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per ounce
$6.24 ($12.48 divided by 2)
Packaging
Tube with applicator

What we like

  • Seconds to apply, no insertion
  • Same full Uses line as the suppository
  • About $6.24 an ounce in the 2 oz tube

Worth noting

  • Cannot reach an internal hemorrhoid
  • No local anesthetic for pain
  • Phenylephrine warning list
Best ValueIf Neither: Cleansing and Soothing Only
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H

Witch hazel on a cleansing wipe, for irritation without swelling or anything internal, 13 cents each.

4.7

Our verdict: Not everyone on this page has swelling or an internal hemorrhoid. For the reader whose problem is irritation, itching and the misery of wiping, a witch hazel wipe does the job without phenylephrine and its warning list, at about 13 cents a wipe. It is also the cleansing step the label directs before either the suppository or the cream. If you buy one thing and are not sure which, buy this and see a clinician about the rest.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel (astringent). 48 count per the title. Live at $6.34 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The third option, and the first step. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count put witch hazel, an astringent, on a cleansing wipe. The Drug Facts panel is narrower than the suppository's or the cream's: temporary relief of external itching, burning and irritation, for external use only, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and before applying a topical treatment, under 12 ask a doctor. No phenylephrine, so none of its heart, blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes or prostate conditions. At $6.34 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about 13 cents a wipe ($6.34 divided by 48).

Two jobs: for the reader with irritation and nothing else, it is the whole answer. For the reader using the suppository or the cream, it is the step before either, because the label directs cleansing before a topical treatment and a suppository goes in more comfortably on clean skin. Most people with a hemorrhoid keep a tub regardless of which format they are treating with.

Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The pad version of the same active, Tucks, is compared in Tucks vs Preparation H wipes, and the wider shelf in the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy the wipes if irritation and cleansing are the whole problem, if phenylephrine's warnings apply to you, or as the cleansing step before either of the two formats above.

What we don't like

Witch hazel is not labeled to shrink swollen tissue, so it is the wrong sole product for a swollen or internal hemorrhoid.

Reaches
External skin, cleansing
Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
48
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per wipe
$0.13 ($6.34 divided by 48)
Packaging
Tub with lid

What we like

  • No phenylephrine, so none of its ask-a-doctor conditions
  • The cleansing step before either format
  • About 13 cents a wipe

Worth noting

  • Not labeled for swollen tissue
  • External use only

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

Where each format reaches

This is the axis that decides, and it is anatomy rather than chemistry. The anal canal is short, and the line that matters runs across it: hemorrhoids above that line are internal, in the lower rectum, covered by lining rather than skin, and usually painless even when they bleed or prolapse; hemorrhoids below it are external, at or outside the opening, covered by skin, and the ones that itch, burn and swell where you can feel them. A cream is applied to skin. Even with the applicator tip, which the label permits for use just inside the opening, it does not travel up to where an internal hemorrhoid sits. A suppository is inserted past the opening and melts against the rectal lining, which is exactly where an internal hemorrhoid is and exactly where a cream is not.

So the rule is short. Internal, or symptoms you cannot point to on the skin: the suppository. External, or symptoms on the skin around the anus: the cream. Both at once, which is common: both, the suppository inside and the cream outside, each on its own label directions. The reader who cannot tell which they have is the reader who should ask a clinician before buying either, because a suppository does nothing for external skin and a cream does nothing for the rectum, and a week of the wrong one is a week wasted against the label's own 7 day line.

What the labels share

Everything, nearly. Both Drug Facts panels list phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor. The suppository pairs it with cocoa butter as the protectant and base; the cream pairs it with glycerin and petrolatum. Both carry the same Uses line: temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, and temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue. Both direct adults up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and both send children under 12 to a doctor. Neither is stronger than the other, and neither title states a percentage, so there is no strength comparison to make from the listings.

The warnings are identical too, and they are the phenylephrine set: ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate; ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription for high blood pressure or depression; stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days; if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. If any of those apply to you, the choice is not suppository or cream; it is a conversation first. The phenylephrine-free alternatives are Calmol 4 with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide for the internal format and witch hazel wipes or pads for the external.

Using each one: mess, timing and the bowel movement

The cream takes seconds: cleanse, dry, apply to the skin, wash hands. It absorbs, it does not leak, and it can be reapplied after the next bowel movement without ceremony. The suppository takes a minute and some planning: unwrap, insert with a clean or gloved finger past the opening, and lie down for a few minutes while the cocoa butter melts, because standing up immediately lets it slide back and standing up later lets it leak. Owners consistently report both that the melt can leak and that inserting one on clean skin, after a wipe, is more comfortable than on skin that has not been cleansed. A suppository is also lost if a bowel movement follows soon after insertion, which is why the label's after-each-bowel-movement timing is the practical one: go, cleanse, then insert.

Storage differs. The cream lives in a drawer. The suppository's cocoa butter base softens in a warm bathroom and can arrive soft in summer; keep the box cool and chill a soft suppository in its wrapper before use, as what to do when a suppository has melted describes. For the mechanics of insertion in plain language, how to use a rectal suppository. None of this changes the first axis: convenience is not a reason to use a cream on an internal hemorrhoid.

Cost per episode

All prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026; cost per use computed only where the listing title states the count or size.

ProductFormatCount or sizeCost per usePrice (9/5/26)
Preparation H Suppositories, 12 ct x 2Suppository24$0.75$17.96
Preparation H Suppositories, 48 ctSuppository48$0.75$35.92
Preparation H Cream, 2 ozCream2 oz$6.24 per oz$12.48
Preparation H Cream, 0.9 ozCream0.9 oz$8.64 per oz$7.78
Preparation H Ointment, 1 ozOintment1 oz$6.98 per oz$6.98
Preparation H Cream with Lidocaine, 1 ozCream1 oz$26.58 per oz$26.58
Preparation H Wipes, 48 ctWipe48$0.13$6.34

A suppository episode at the label's ceiling, 4 a day for 7 days, is 28 suppositories, so the two-pack covers one episode and most of a second at about $21 per episode. A cream episode at the same ceiling uses a fraction of a 2 oz tube; a tube covers several episodes for $12.48. The cream is cheaper per episode by a wide margin, and that is irrelevant if the hemorrhoid is internal. The lidocaine cream is in a different price class and buys a different thing, pain relief; it is ranked in the best lidocaine hemorrhoid creams.

The verdict, by buyer

  • Internal hemorrhoid, or symptoms inside you cannot point to on skin: Preparation H Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2.
  • External hemorrhoid, itching and swelling on the skin: Preparation H Cream, 2 oz.
  • Both: both, each per its own label; the suppository inside after a bowel movement, the cream outside after cleansing.
  • Want a film that stays on the skin rather than a cream that absorbs: the Preparation H Ointment, same label, petrolatum base.
  • Pain is the main symptom: neither; the cream with lidocaine or the lidocaine field.
  • Irritation only, no swelling, nothing internal: Preparation H Wipes or Tucks.
  • Any phenylephrine ask-a-doctor condition applies, or pregnant or breastfeeding: a clinician first; Calmol 4 and witch hazel are the phenylephrine-free formats in the meantime.
  • Bleeding, or more than 7 days: neither. Stop and ask a doctor, per both labels.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2For Internal HemorrhoidsPreparation H · $17.96Check price on Amazon
  2. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream, 2 ozFor External HemorrhoidsPreparation H · $12.48Check price on Amazon
  3. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countIf Neither: Cleansing and Soothing OnlyPreparation H · $6.34Check price on Amazon

How we chose

We compared the two Preparation H formats on the Drug Facts panel first (actives, Uses, Directions, age lines, warnings and stop lines) and then on the things a panel does not say: where each format physically reaches, what it is like to use, how it behaves through a bowel movement, and cost per use computed only where the listing title states the count or size. Every price was verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on the practical differences: whether the suppository is comfortable to insert, whether it leaks, whether the cream stings or stains, whether the applicator tip is usable.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote each label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Both products carry phenylephrine, so both carry its ask-a-doctor conditions: heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, and prescription drugs for high blood pressure or depression. Both direct up to 4 times daily and send children under 12 to a doctor; both say stop and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days; both say ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. We do not diagnose which kind of hemorrhoid a reader has; a clinician does that, and a reader who is not sure should ask one before buying either format. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice.

Questions, answered

Is a suppository or cream better for hemorrhoids?

Neither is better; they reach different places. A suppository is inserted and melts in the lower rectum, so it is the format for internal hemorrhoids. A cream is applied to the skin around the anus, so it is the format for external hemorrhoids. Preparation H sells both with the same phenylephrine label: the suppositories, 12 count pack of 2, at $17.96 (about 75 cents each) and the 2 oz cream at $12.48 (about $6.24 an ounce) at our September 5, 2026 check. Many people with both kinds use both.

Can I use hemorrhoid cream instead of a suppository?

Only for an external hemorrhoid. A cream applied to the outside, even with the applicator tip just inside the opening, does not reach the lower rectum where an internal hemorrhoid sits. If a cream has done nothing for a week and your symptoms are inside, that is the reason, and the label's 7 day line says ask a doctor rather than keep applying it.

Can I use a suppository and cream at the same time?

Each product's label directs its own use, up to 4 times daily for adults, and neither label addresses the other. People with both internal and external hemorrhoids commonly use the suppository inside and the cream outside. Both carry phenylephrine and the same ask-a-doctor conditions, and if any of those apply, ask before using either.

How do I know if my hemorrhoid is internal or external?

External hemorrhoids are at or outside the anal opening, on skin, and are the ones that itch, burn and swell where you can feel them. Internal hemorrhoids are inside the lower rectum, covered by lining rather than skin, and are often painless even when they bleed or protrude. A clinician can tell in a moment; if you are not sure, ask before buying either format, because each does nothing for the other's location.

Is Preparation H cream the same as the suppository?

Same active class, same Uses line, different vehicle. Both list phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor on the Drug Facts panel; the suppository's protectant and base is cocoa butter, the cream's protectants are glycerin and petrolatum. Neither title states a percentage. The warnings and directions are identical. The suppository is inserted; the cream is applied.

Which is cheaper per episode?

The cream. A 2 oz tube at $12.48 covers several episodes; a suppository episode at the label's ceiling of 4 a day for 7 days uses 28 suppositories, about $21 at 75 cents each. The cheaper format is irrelevant if the hemorrhoid is internal, because the cream does not reach it.

What if I have high blood pressure or heart disease?

Both Preparation H formats contain phenylephrine, and both labels say ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription for high blood pressure or depression. The phenylephrine-free options are Calmol 4 with Cocoa Butter and Zinc Oxide for the internal format and witch hazel wipes or pads for the external.

What if there is bleeding?

Stop using either product and ask a doctor; that line is on both labels. Rectal bleeding is not something a suppository or cream is meant to treat, and it can have causes a hemorrhoid product does nothing for.