Our Pick: Doctor Butler's

Check price on Amazon →

Anal Fissure Treatments You Can Buy OTC (2026): Doctor Butler's, Curist, PROKTIS-M and the Cleansers

Buy Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment at $19.99 for the pain, Balneol Cleansing Lotion at $15.98 so wiping stops reopening it, and a warm sitz bath for the rest. That is the over-the-counter fissure routine, and this page is honest about its limits: no OTC product is labeled to heal a fissure, the word fissure appears on listing titles rather than Drug Facts panels, and a fissure that bleeds or lasts more than a week is a doctor's business per every label here. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~14 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentBest Overall

Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's · 4.6

$19.99

PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic AcidUpgrade Pick

PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

PROKTIS-M · 4.1

$29.99

Buy Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, at $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), for the pain: lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl are on the title, and lidocaine's labeled use, temporary relief of pain, itching and burning, is the one OTC claim that speaks to what a fissure feels like. Buy Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz, at $15.98, so that wiping stops tearing it open. Add a warm sitz bath after bowel movements and a stool softener if straining is the cause, and that is the whole over-the-counter routine. If you want the lidocaine in volume, Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine, 6 oz at $24.00, is about $4.00 an ounce.

An anal fissure is a small tear in the lining of the anus, usually from passing a hard stool, and it hurts out of proportion to its size because the muscle around it spasms. The pain during and after a bowel movement, and a streak of bright blood on the paper, are the classic picture. Here is the honest framing for an OTC page: no over-the-counter product is labeled to heal a fissure. The word fissure appears on the listing titles of Doctor Butler's, Curist and Forces of Nature because brands are allowed to name a condition in marketing; the Drug Facts Uses line on the OTC drugs among them is the hemorrhoidal one, temporary relief of pain, itching and burning and, with phenylephrine, swollen tissue. What the OTC shelf can do is numb the pain, protect the skin, make cleansing painless, and soften the stool so the tear is not reopened, and those four things are what most fissures need to close on their own. What it cannot do is replace the prescription options a doctor has for a fissure that will not close, and every label on this page says so in its own words: stop and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs or if symptoms last more than 7 days.

The rules on this shelf. The OTC drugs here (Doctor Butler's, Curist) carry lidocaine, whose panel says do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, which a fissure is, and phenylephrine, whose panel says ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or an enlarged prostate. Every label directs adults up to 4 times daily, sends children under 12 to a doctor, and says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. PROKTIS-M is a hyaluronic acid suppository and Forces of Nature Fissure Control is homeopathic; neither is an OTC monograph drug and neither is approved to treat anything, and we say so on their cards. Calmoseptine is a skin protectant and Balneol is a cleanser. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • No OTC product is labeled to heal a fissure. Fissure appears on listing titles; the Drug Facts use on the OTC drugs here is hemorrhoidal pain relief. A fissure that bleeds or lasts beyond 7 days is a doctor's business per every label.
  • Our Pick for pain: Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, $19.99 at our September 5, 2026 check, lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl on the title. For value: Curist, 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine, 6 oz for $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce.
  • For cleansing without tearing: Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz, $15.98, applied to paper so it glides.
  • For the skin: Calmoseptine, 2.5 oz jar, $8.60, a zinc oxide barrier. Not a fissure product; a protectant for the surrounding skin.
  • The non-drug options, labeled honestly: PROKTIS-M hyaluronic acid suppositories ($29.99) and Forces of Nature Fissure Control (homeopathic, $24.95). Neither is approved to treat anything.

At a glance

ProductRoleWhat it isActives (per title or panel)Size or countPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentPainOTC drugLidocaine, phenylephrine HClNot published$19.99Check price on Amazon
Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid CreamPain, valueOTC drugLidocaine 5%, phenylephrine6 oz$24.00Check price on Amazon
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure CreamPain, cream baseOTC drugLidocaine (per title)Not published$19.99Check price on Amazon
PROKTIS-M Rectal SuppositoriesInternal, non-drugNot a monograph drugHyaluronic acidNot published$29.99Check price on Amazon
Forces of Nature Fissure ControlNon-drugHomeopathicHomeopathic, with witch hazel per titleNot published$24.95Check price on Amazon
Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jarSkin barrierOTC skin protectantZinc oxide, menthol2.5 oz$8.60Check price on Amazon
Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 ozCleansingCleansing lotion, not a drugPer the pack3 oz$15.98Check price on Amazon

The seven OTC products on this page. Actives are as stated on the listing title or the Drug Facts panel; two products are not OTC monograph drugs and are labeled as such. Fissure on a title is the brand's positioning, not a Drug Facts use. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickBest for Pain
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's

Lidocaine and phenylephrine in an ointment base, from the brand that put fissure on the tube.

4.6

Our verdict: Doctor Butler's was built by a proctologist around exactly this overlap, hemorrhoid and fissure, and the ointment is the product that overlap produced: lidocaine to numb the tear, phenylephrine for any swelling beside it, in a base that stays on the skin through the next bowel movement. The title names fissures; the panel's labeled use is hemorrhoidal pain relief, and we are precise about that. The size is not published, so no cost per ounce.

Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl. Fissure is named on the title; the Drug Facts Uses line is the hemorrhoidal one (pain, itching, burning, swollen tissue). Size not stated on the title, so no cost per ounce. Live at $19.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The tube that names the problem. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment states lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl in the listing title and names fissures beside hemorrhoids. Lidocaine's Drug Facts use is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning, which is the fissure's whole complaint; phenylephrine's is temporary shrinking of swollen hemorrhoidal tissue, which covers the sentinel swelling that often sits beside a tear. The ointment base matters here more than on the hemorrhoid page: it stays on the skin as a film, so the numbing lasts into the next bowel movement instead of absorbing away. Directions are the hemorrhoidal standard: adults, up to 4 times daily; under 12, ask a doctor.

Precision on the claim: fissure is on the title, not on the Uses line. No OTC label is permitted to say it treats or heals a fissure, and this one does not; it relieves pain. That is still the most useful thing an OTC product can do for a fissure, because pain drives the muscle spasm that keeps a fissure from closing. At $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) with no size on the title, we compute no cost per ounce; the brand also sells the same idea as a cream and as to-go packets.

The lidocaine caution matters more on a fissure than anywhere: do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and a fissure is a raw surface. Apply sparingly. Phenylephrine's ask-a-doctor conditions apply too: heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; a fissure bleeds by definition, so read that as: a fissure that keeps bleeding past the first days, or that is not better in a week, gets a visit. The brand's full line is in the Doctor Butler's review.

Who should buy it

Buy the Doctor Butler's ointment for the pain of a fresh fissure, applied sparingly, alongside cleansing that does not tear and a stool that does not strain, while you give it a week to close.

What we don't like

Size not on the listing title, so no cost per ounce; two actives means two warning lists; and the lidocaine caution on raw skin is written for exactly this use.

What it is
OTC drug; fissure on the title, hemorrhoidal use on the panel
Active ingredients
Lidocaine (local anesthetic), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
Not published on the listing title
Form
Ointment, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Lidocaine for the pain, phenylephrine for swelling beside the tear
  • Ointment base stays on the skin through the next bowel movement
  • The specialist brand for this overlap

Worth noting

  • Size not published
  • Lidocaine caution on raw skin applies directly
  • Both actives' warning lists
Best ValueBest Value (5% Lidocaine, 6 oz)
Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 oz

Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 oz

Curist

5% lidocaine and phenylephrine stated on the title, 6 oz for about $4.00 an ounce.

4.5

Our verdict: Curist puts the fissure in its product name, states 5% lidocaine on the listing, and sells 6 oz for $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce. Same precision applies: fissure is on the title, hemorrhoidal pain relief is on the panel. Six ounces is more than a fissure episode should ever need, and a 5% anesthetic on raw skin is exactly where the label's large-quantity caution lives, so apply sparingly. On value it stands alone.

Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine. Fissure is named on the title; the Drug Facts Uses line is the hemorrhoidal one. 6 oz (170 g) per the title. Live at $24.00 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The value tube, with the numbers printed. Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream states 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in its title along with 6 oz (170 g), and names fissures first. Five percent is the top of the OTC range for lidocaine, and the pairing with phenylephrine gives the tube both the pain line and the swollen-tissue line. At $24.00 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is $4.00 an ounce ($24.00 divided by 6), against $26.58 an ounce for Preparation H's lidocaine cream and an unpublished size for Doctor Butler's.

Volume and a raw surface: the lidocaine label says do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas. A fissure is a raw surface, and a 6 oz tube invites generous use. The right way to use this product on a fissure is a small amount, up to 4 times daily per the label, and no more because the tube is big. If that discipline is hard, the 1 oz Preparation H tube in the best lidocaine hemorrhoid creams makes it easy.

Phenylephrine's ask-a-doctor conditions apply: heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding that continues, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first.

Who should buy it

Buy Curist if you want the lidocaine percentage and the size on the listing and one tube that will outlast the episode, and you can apply a 5% anesthetic to a raw surface sparingly.

What we don't like

Six ounces of a 5% lidocaine cream is the wrong size for a raw surface with a large-quantity caution, and it is a newer brand.

What it is
OTC drug; fissure on the title, hemorrhoidal use on the panel
Active ingredients
Lidocaine 5% (local anesthetic), phenylephrine (vasoconstrictor), per the listing title
Strength
Lidocaine 5% per the title; phenylephrine percentage on the panel
Size
6 oz (170 g)
Form
Cream, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per ounce
$4.00 ($24.00 divided by 6)
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • 5% lidocaine printed on the listing
  • About $4.00 an ounce
  • Phenylephrine in the same tube

Worth noting

  • Too much for a raw surface with a large-quantity caution
  • Newer brand
Best Cream Base
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Cream

Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Cream

Doctor Butler's

The Doctor Butler's formula in a cream that absorbs, for people who cannot tolerate an ointment film.

4.4

Our verdict: The cream is Doctor Butler's answer to the one complaint about its ointment, the film. Lidocaine is on the title, the rest of the actives are on the panel, and the base absorbs rather than sitting on the skin. For a fissure that is the trade: an ointment protects longer, a cream feels cleaner and is easier to apply to a tear without pressure. Same price as the ointment, same unpublished size.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: lidocaine; titled Hemorrhoid & Fissure Cream, instant pain relief, fast acting. The full active set is on the Drug Facts panel. Size not stated on the title. Live at $19.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Same brand, absorbing base. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Cream states lidocaine in the title and describes itself as instant pain relief, fast acting; the Drug Facts panel carries the full active set, which the title does not. The difference from the ointment is the vehicle: a cream absorbs and leaves no film, which owners with a fissure often prefer because a cream can be applied to a tear with almost no pressure and does not need to be wiped away later. At $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it matches the ointment's price, and like the ointment the listing does not state a size.

Cream or ointment for a fissure: ointment if you want protection through the next bowel movement and can tolerate the film; cream if applying anything with pressure is unbearable and you would rather reapply. Both carry lidocaine's caution on raw surfaces; both should be applied sparingly.

Lidocaine's lines: not in large quantities, not over raw or blistered skin, stop and ask a doctor if worse or beyond 7 days. If the panel lists phenylephrine, its ask-a-doctor conditions apply. Bleeding that continues means stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional first.

Who should buy it

Buy the cream if an ointment film is intolerable or if applying anything with pressure to the tear is, and you would rather reapply than protect.

What we don't like

The title states only lidocaine and no size, so the full formula and the cost per ounce are on the box, not the listing.

What it is
OTC drug; fissure on the title, hemorrhoidal use on the panel
Active ingredients
Lidocaine (per the listing title); full set on the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
Not published on the listing title
Form
Cream, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Absorbing base, no film
  • Applies to a tear with little pressure
  • Same brand and price as the ointment

Worth noting

  • Only lidocaine named on the title
  • Size not published
Upgrade PickBest Non-Drug Internal Option
PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

PROKTIS-M

A hyaluronic acid suppository sold on a healing claim, not an OTC drug and not approved to treat anything.

4.1

Our verdict: PROKTIS-M is the one product on this page positioned for the inside rather than the outside: a hyaluronic acid suppository whose listing claims healing of the anus and rectum. We report that claim as the listing's. It is not an OTC drug, it carries no lidocaine or phenylephrine and none of their warnings, and it is not approved to treat anything. At $29.99 with no stated count it is the most expensive item here, and it is here as the honest non-drug option.

Verified: Listing title states: natural, non-steroidal rectal suppositories with hyaluronic acid, for healing of anus and rectum. Not an OTC monograph drug; carries no Drug Facts panel; count not stated on the title. Live at $29.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The suppository, described as what it is. PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories state hyaluronic acid on the title, along with natural, non-steroidal, and the claim for healing of anus and rectum. Hyaluronic acid is the moisturizing ingredient in the vaginal inserts on our women's desk, and PROKTIS-M applies the same idea rectally. There is no monograph active, so none of the lidocaine or phenylephrine lines apply, and equally nothing on the pack is labeled with an OTC use. The healing language is the listing's positioning, and it is exactly the kind of claim no OTC label is permitted to make.

Why it is on a fissure page: a fissure sits at the anal opening, and a suppository melts just inside it, which is why people with a fissure that a cream cannot reach look at this product, and why some clinicians point patients at hyaluronic acid products. What we can say is what the title states. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. At $29.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) with no count on the title, there is no cost per unit.

Inserting anything into a fissure hurts, and owners say so; a lubricated, sparing insertion is the practical advice, and how to use a rectal suppository covers the mechanics. The stop rules do not change for a non-drug: bleeding that continues, worsening pain, or a fissure not better in a week are a doctor's business. The standalone write-up is the PROKTIS-M review.

Who should buy it

Consider PROKTIS-M if you want a non-drug internal product with no anesthetic or vasoconstrictor, or a clinician has pointed you to hyaluronic acid, and you accept that it carries no labeled OTC use.

What we don't like

The most expensive item here with no stated count, not approved to treat anything, and inserting a suppository into a fissure is painful by every owner account.

What it is
Hyaluronic acid rectal suppository; not an OTC monograph drug
Active ingredients
Hyaluronic acid (per the listing title)
Strength
Not published on the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Form
Rectal suppository
Label ages
Per the pack
Packaging
Boxed

What we like

  • No lidocaine, phenylephrine or other drug actives
  • The only internal format on the page
  • Hyaluronic acid stated on the title

Worth noting

  • Not approved to treat anything; healing claim is the listing's
  • $29.99 with no stated count
  • Insertion into a fissure is painful
Best Homeopathic Option
Forces of Nature Fissure Control, Organic Homeopathic Treatment with Witch Hazel

Forces of Nature Fissure Control, Organic Homeopathic Treatment with Witch Hazel

Forces of Nature

A homeopathic fissure product with witch hazel on the title, described as exactly that.

4.0

Our verdict: Forces of Nature Fissure Control is homeopathic, and we say so in the first sentence: its claims rest on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. The title names witch hazel, which is a real OTC astringent, but the product is sold and labeled as a homeopathic, and the fissure claim is the title's, not a Drug Facts use. It contains no lidocaine or phenylephrine and none of their warnings. It is here for readers who want to avoid monograph actives and want that choice described honestly.

Verified: Listing title states: organic homeopathic treatment with witch hazel for anal fissures and hemorrhoids. A homeopathic product, not an OTC monograph drug; size not stated on the title. Live at $24.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The homeopathic, labeled plainly. Forces of Nature Fissure Control is titled as an organic homeopathic treatment with witch hazel for anal fissures and hemorrhoids. Two things are true at once. Witch hazel is a genuine OTC astringent whose monograph use is external itching, burning and irritation. And this product is sold as a homeopathic, which means its claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated; the fissure control in its name is a homeopathic claim, not a Drug Facts use. It contains no lidocaine and no phenylephrine, so it carries none of their warnings, and none of their labeled uses either.

Who chooses it: people who have decided against anesthetics and vasoconstrictors on a raw surface and want something to apply anyway. That is a legitimate preference, and the honest description of what they are buying is a homeopathic oil with witch hazel. At $24.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) with no size stated on the title, there is no cost per ounce. The brand's Hemorrhoid Treatment Extra Strength oil, 5 ml at $15.95, is the same approach for hemorrhoids.

The stop rules are the same for a homeopathic as for a drug: bleeding that continues, worsening pain, or a fissure not better in a week means see a doctor. Nothing about a gentler product changes that timeline.

Who should buy it

Consider Fissure Control if you want to avoid lidocaine and phenylephrine on a raw surface and prefer a homeopathic product, knowing its claims are traditional rather than evidence-based.

What we don't like

Homeopathic claims are not accepted medical evidence and not FDA evaluated, the fissure claim is the title's, and the size is not published.

What it is
Homeopathic product; not an OTC monograph drug
Active ingredients
Homeopathic actives with witch hazel, per the listing title
Strength
Homeopathic dilutions per the pack
Size
Not published on the listing title
Form
Topical, per the pack
Label ages
Per the pack
Packaging
Bottle

What we like

  • No lidocaine or phenylephrine warnings
  • Witch hazel named on the title
  • Organic per the title

Worth noting

  • Homeopathic: claims not evidence-based or FDA evaluated
  • Fissure control is a title claim, not a labeled use
  • Size not published
Best Skin Barrier
Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jar

Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jar

Calmoseptine

A zinc oxide skin protectant for the skin around a fissure, not a fissure product.

4.7

Our verdict: Calmoseptine does nothing for a fissure and a great deal for the skin around one. It is a zinc oxide and menthol skin protectant, the diaper cream class, and its label is about irritated, chafed skin. Around a fissure, after days of wiping, soaking and creams, that is the skin you have. At $8.60 for 2.5 oz, about $3.44 an ounce, it is the cheapest thing on the page. Keep it off the tear itself; the menthol stings on broken skin.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: zinc oxide (skin protectant) and menthol. Labeled as a skin protectant and moisture barrier, not as a fissure or hemorrhoid treatment. 2.5 oz jar per the title. Live at $8.60 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

For the skin, not the tear. Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jar carries zinc oxide and menthol per its Drug Facts panel, and its label is a skin protectant label: irritated skin, chafing, protection from moisture, with the listing naming diaper rash, heat rash and insect bites. It has no anesthetic, no vasoconstrictor and no labeled use for fissures or hemorrhoids. What it does is coat and protect skin, which around a fissure means the perianal skin that has been wiped raw and kept damp by soaks, and which nurses treat with exactly this jar.

Where it goes: on the skin around the fissure, not into it. Menthol stings on broken skin by consistent owner report, and a zinc oxide film is not what a tear needs. At $8.60 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) for 2.5 oz it is about $3.44 an ounce ($8.60 divided by 2.5); the 4 oz tube at $10.99 is cleaner to apply.

Its label's own stop line is the skin protectant one: stop and ask a doctor if worse or lasting more than 7 days. The fissure's stop lines are the fissure's. The standalone write-up is the Calmoseptine review.

Who should buy it

Buy Calmoseptine for the perianal skin a fissure routine leaves raw, applied around the tear rather than into it.

What we don't like

It is not a fissure product, does nothing for the tear, and the menthol stings on broken skin.

What it is
OTC skin protectant; not a fissure or hemorrhoid drug
Active ingredients
Zinc oxide (skin protectant), menthol, per Drug Facts
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
2.5 oz
Form
Ointment, jar
Label ages
Per the skin protectant panel
Cost per ounce
$3.44 ($8.60 divided by 2.5)
Packaging
Jar; 4 oz tube also sold

What we like

  • Zinc oxide barrier for raw perianal skin
  • No anesthetic or vasoconstrictor
  • Cheapest item on the page per ounce

Worth noting

  • Not for the tear itself
  • Menthol stings on broken skin
Best for Cleansing Without Tearing
Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz

Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz

Balneol

The lotion that goes on paper so wiping glides, which for a fissure is half the treatment.

4.6

Our verdict: A fissure reopens every time it is wiped, and Balneol is the product proctologists have recommended for decades to stop that: a lotion applied to toilet paper so the paper glides instead of drags. It is a cleanser, not a drug, and its title says it relieves anal and vaginal irritation; we describe it as the listing does. At $15.98 for 3 oz, about $5.33 an ounce, a bottle lasts weeks, and for a fissure it is the second thing to buy after the pain relief.

Verified: Per the listing title: cleansing lotion, relieves anal and vaginal irritation, 3 oz. A cleansing product rather than an OTC monograph drug; ingredients on the pack. Live at $15.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The half of fissure care nobody sells as treatment. Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz goes on paper or a cotton pad, and the paper then cleans without friction. The title gives the use, relieves anal and vaginal irritation, and the size, 3 oz; ingredients are on the pack. It is not an OTC monograph drug and carries no witch hazel, lidocaine or phenylephrine. What it changes is mechanical: a fissure that is not dragged open several times a day has a chance to close, and dry paper, and even a wet wipe pressed hard, drags. At $15.98 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $5.33 an ounce ($15.98 divided by 3), and a few drops per use means a bottle outlasts the episode.

The routine it belongs to: bowel movement, Balneol on paper, a warm sitz bath if you can, pat dry, then the lidocaine product sparingly and Calmoseptine on the surrounding skin. The soak half is covered in the best sitz bath salts. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding, as with everything here. Balneol is also the cleanser on the pregnancy and postpartum page, where the same logic applies to a healing perineum.

Who should buy it

Buy Balneol the day you identify a fissure, so that every wipe from then on glides; it is the cheapest thing you can do to keep the tear from reopening.

What we don't like

About $5.33 an ounce, ingredients on the pack rather than the listing, and it is a cleanser with no claim beyond its title.

What it is
Cleansing lotion; not an OTC monograph drug
Ingredients
On the pack; not stated on the listing title
Size
3 oz
Use
Applied to toilet paper or a pad, per the pack
Label ages
Per the pack
Cost per ounce
$5.33 ($15.98 divided by 3)
Packaging
Bottle

What we like

  • Stops wiping from reopening the tear
  • No drug actives
  • A bottle lasts the episode

Worth noting

  • About $5.33 an ounce
  • Ingredients not on the listing title

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentBest for PainDoctor Butler's · $19.99Check price on Amazon
  2. Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 ozBest Value (5% Lidocaine, 6 oz)Curist · $24.00Check price on Amazon
  3. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure CreamBest Cream BaseDoctor Butler's · $19.99Check price on Amazon
  4. PROKTIS-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic AcidBest Non-Drug Internal OptionPROKTIS-M · $29.99Check price on Amazon
  5. Forces of Nature Fissure Control, Organic Homeopathic Treatment with Witch HazelBest Homeopathic OptionForces of Nature · $24.95Check price on Amazon
  6. Calmoseptine Ointment, 2.5 oz jarBest Skin BarrierCalmoseptine · $8.60Check price on Amazon
  7. Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 ozBest for Cleansing Without TearingBalneol · $15.98Check price on Amazon

How we chose

Every product on this page was checked against its Amazon listing and, where it is an OTC drug, its Drug Facts panel. We began by separating what a listing title says from what a Drug Facts panel says, because on this shelf the gap is the story: three titles name fissures, no panel does. For each product we recorded what it is (an OTC drug, a skin protectant, a homeopathic, a non-drug suppository, or a cleanser), the actives the title or panel names and any percentage the title states, the size or count where the title states it, what the label directs, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per ounce is computed only where the title states both price and size. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether a product stings before it numbs, whether a cream is thin enough to apply to a tear without pressure, whether a cleanser makes wiping tolerable.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote each OTC label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them, and we do not describe any product as healing, closing or curing a fissure, because no OTC label does. Lidocaine labels say for external use only, do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or symptoms last more than 7 days. Phenylephrine labels add the heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and enlarged prostate ask-a-doctor conditions. Every label says under 12 ask a doctor, stop and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, and ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. PROKTIS-M and Forces of Nature Fissure Control are not OTC monograph drugs and are not approved to treat any condition; Forces of Nature is homeopathic, and its claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We do not name or recommend prescription products; that is a doctor's conversation. We are a research and verification desk, not a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.

Questions, answered

What is the best over-the-counter treatment for an anal fissure?

For the pain, Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment ($19.99 at our September 5, 2026 check), lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl on the title, or Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream (5% lidocaine and phenylephrine, 6 oz, $24.00). For the routine around it, Balneol on paper so wiping does not reopen the tear, a warm sitz bath, and a stool softener if straining caused it. No OTC product is labeled to heal a fissure; these relieve pain and protect skin while it closes on its own, and a fissure that bleeds or lasts more than a week is a doctor's business per every label.

Does Preparation H work on anal fissures?

Preparation H's labels are hemorrhoidal: pain, itching, burning and, with phenylephrine, swollen tissue. Its lidocaine cream relieves pain, which is a fissure's main symptom, but no Preparation H product names fissures and none is labeled to heal one. Doctor Butler's and Curist name fissures on their titles; their Drug Facts uses are the same hemorrhoidal ones.

Is lidocaine safe to use on an anal fissure?

The lidocaine label says do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and a fissure is a raw surface. That is a caution to apply sparingly, up to 4 times daily per the label, not a prohibition; it is why we favor small amounts and note that a 6 oz tube invites overuse. Stop and ask a doctor if symptoms last more than 7 days.

How long does an anal fissure take to heal?

Many fresh fissures close within a week or two once straining, tearing and spasm are addressed, which is what the OTC routine is for. Every label on this page says stop and ask a doctor if symptoms last more than 7 days, and a fissure that persists for weeks is on its way to becoming chronic, which is what prescription options exist for. A week without clear improvement is the visit.

Should I use a stool softener for an anal fissure?

A hard stool is the usual cause and the usual reason a fissure reopens, so a docusate stool softener is often the first thing a clinician names. Every laxative label has its own ask-a-doctor lines and a 1 week cap without a doctor. Our best stool softeners guide ranks that shelf.

Is PROKTIS-M good for fissures?

PROKTIS-M is a hyaluronic acid rectal suppository whose listing claims healing of the anus and rectum. It is not an OTC monograph drug, carries no Drug Facts panel, and is not approved to treat anything; the healing claim is the listing's. It contains no lidocaine or phenylephrine and none of their warnings. Some clinicians point patients to hyaluronic acid products; we report what the title states and no more, and note that inserting a suppository into a fissure is painful by every owner account.

Is Forces of Nature Fissure Control a real medicine?

It is a homeopathic product. Homeopathic claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. The title names witch hazel, a genuine OTC astringent, but the product is labeled and sold as a homeopathic and the fissure claim is the title's. It contains no lidocaine or phenylephrine.

When should I see a doctor for an anal fissure?

Per every label on this page: if bleeding continues or if symptoms last more than 7 days. Also if you are not certain it is a fissure, if the pain is severe, if there is discharge or fever, or if you have had one before that would not close. Doctors have prescription options that OTC products cannot match, and a fissure that has been open for weeks is the case those exist for.