Our Pick: Lansinoh

Check price on Amazon →

Best Sitz Bath Salts (2026): Lansinoh, and What to Pair With the Soak

Buy Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz, at $14.15. It is the only credible sitz salt on the shelf, about $1.42 an ounce, and it is a soak rather than a medicine. A sitz bath is half a routine; the other half is what goes on afterward, and the rest of this page is that: Tucks and Birchwood A-E-R pads, Doctor Butler's postpartum spray and wipes, and Balneol for cleansing. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 ozBest Overall

Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz

Lansinoh · 4.6

$14.15

Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel PadsBest Value

Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads

Birchwood Laboratories · 4.4

$7.40

Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 ozUpgrade Pick

Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz

Balneol · 4.5

$15.98

Buy Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz, at $14.15 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). For the warm soak that hemorrhoid discharge sheets, fissure instructions and postpartum care plans all list, this is the one sitz salt from a brand we are willing to put in a pick slot: 10 oz for $14.15 is about $1.42 an ounce ($14.15 divided by 10), and it comes from the company that sells nipple cream to the same customer. Everything else on the salts shelf is an unbranded pouch, and we have left those off. The product to pair the soak with is Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68.

A sitz bath is a few inches of warm water that the hips and buttocks sit in, either in a basin that fits over the toilet or in a clean tub, for roughly ten to fifteen minutes by most instructions. It is recommended for hemorrhoids, for anal fissures, after hemorrhoid procedures, and after vaginal birth, and the recommendation is for the warm water; salts are optional and clinicians differ on whether they add anything. This page is honest about two things. First, the salt itself is a personal care product, not a drug, and nothing about it is labeled to treat anything. Second, the shelf has exactly one salt from a credible brand, so rather than pad the page with no-name pouches or plastic basins, we rank the salt and then the five products that make a soak into a routine: the pad or spray that goes on afterward, the wipe or cleanser that goes before. Every one of those is Tier A or B with a real label we can quote.

The rules on this shelf. The sitz salt, the cleansing lotion and the perineal spray are not OTC monograph drugs; we describe them exactly as their listings do and make no claim beyond that. The witch hazel pads and wipes are OTC drugs with a Drug Facts panel: for external use only; temporarily relieves external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids; adults use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor; stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days; if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. If you have stitches, an incision, or have just had a procedure, the soak instruction comes from your clinician, not from a pouch. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick, and the only credible salt: Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz, $14.15 at our September 5, 2026 check, about $1.42 an ounce. Not a drug; a soak.
  • Warm water is the recommendation; salts are optional. If your clinician says plain water, plain water is fine, and the rest of this page still applies.
  • After the soak: Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 for $7.68, about 8 cents each, or Birchwood A-E-R pads, titled for postpartum, at $7.40.
  • If the skin cannot be touched: Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray, $15.95, a no-touch perineal spray titled with aloe and chamomile.
  • Before the soak: Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz, $15.98, on paper for skin that hurts to wipe, or Doctor Butler's flushable witch hazel wipes at $15.95.

At a glance

ProductRole in the routineWhat it isCount or sizeCost eachPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts, 10 ozThe soakBath salts, not a drug10 oz$1.42 per oz$14.15Check price on Amazon
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100After the soakOTC witch hazel pad100$0.08$7.68Check price on Amazon
Birchwood A-E-R PadsAfter the soakOTC witch hazel padNot publishedn/a$7.40Check price on Amazon
Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum SprayAfter the soak, no-touchPerineal sprayNot publishedn/a$15.95Check price on Amazon
Doctor Butler's Flushable Hemorrhoid WipesBefore the soakOTC witch hazel wipeNot publishedn/a$15.95Check price on Amazon
Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 ozBefore the soakCleansing lotion, not a drug3 oz$5.33 per oz$15.98Check price on Amazon

The one credible sitz salt and the five products that go with a soak. Actives are as stated on the listing title or the Drug Facts panel; three products are not OTC drugs and are labeled as such. Where the title states no count or size, we say so. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickBest Sitz Bath Salt
Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz

Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz

Lansinoh

The one sitz salt from a brand worth naming, 10 oz for $14.15, about $1.42 an ounce.

4.6

Our verdict: Lansinoh is the brand on the postpartum shelf, and its sitz salts are the only ones in our catalog from a maker we would put in a pick slot. Ten ounces for $14.15 is about $1.42 an ounce. It is a soak, not a medicine: no Drug Facts panel, no labeled use, and the ingredient list is on the pack rather than the listing. If your clinician recommends salts, this is the pouch; if they say plain warm water, that is fine too.

Verified: Per the listing title: sitz bath salts for postpartum care, 10 oz. A personal care product, not an OTC drug; ingredients are on the pack, not stated on the title. Live at $14.15 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The salt, described as what it is. Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz are bath salts made for a sitz bath, from the company whose nipple cream and nursing pads are in most hospital bags. The title gives the use, postpartum care, and the size, 10 oz. It does not give the ingredients, which are on the pack; read them if you react to fragrances or essential oils. At $14.15 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $1.42 an ounce ($14.15 divided by 10), and how many soaks a pouch makes depends on the pack's own scoop direction, which we do not reproduce.

What a sitz bath is for, and what the salt adds: the soak is the recommendation. Warm water on the perineum and anus for ten to fifteen minutes, several times a day by most instructions, is what discharge sheets for hemorrhoids, fissures and childbirth describe. Salts are optional, and clinicians differ on whether they help; Lansinoh's are the credible version if yours says yes. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Why the page has one salt: the rest of the shelf is unbranded pouches and plastic basins, and our brand standard keeps those out of pick slots. A basin that fits over the toilet is genuinely useful and most pharmacies sell one; we have none from a brand we would name, so we do not list one. The soak fits into a wider routine on the pregnancy and postpartum page and in the best anal fissure treatments, where warm soaks are half the instruction.

Who should buy it

Buy Lansinoh's salts if your clinician recommends sitz baths with salts, for postpartum care, hemorrhoids or a fissure, and you want a branded pouch with a readable ingredient list rather than an unbranded one.

What we don't like

It is a personal care product with no labeled use, the ingredients are on the pack rather than the listing, and plain warm water is what many clinicians recommend anyway.

What it is
Sitz bath salts, personal care, not a drug
Ingredients
On the pack; not stated on the listing title
Size
10 oz
Use
Dissolved in a warm sitz bath, per the pack's direction
Who decides
Your clinician, especially with stitches or after a procedure
Cost per ounce
$1.42 ($14.15 divided by 10)
Packaging
Per the pack

What we like

  • The only Tier A sitz salt in the catalog
  • From the brand built for the postpartum customer
  • Size stated, so the per-ounce math is real

Worth noting

  • Not a drug; no labeled use
  • Ingredients not on the listing title
  • Optional: warm water alone is the actual recommendation
Best Pad After the Soak
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks

The witch hazel pad that follows a sitz bath: pat dry, then press or leave in place, 8 cents each.

4.8

Our verdict: Soak, pat dry, pad: that is the routine, and Tucks is the pad. Witch hazel is the labeled active, the Drug Facts label covers external itching, burning and irritation, and 100 pads for $7.68 is about 8 cents each. After a soak the skin is clean and warm, which is exactly when a cooling pad pressed against it or left in place does the most. It is the product most postpartum nurses name in the same breath as the sitz bath.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel (astringent); percentage on the Drug Facts panel. 100 count per the title. Live at $7.68 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The after-soak step. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count are cotton pads in witch hazel, and the Drug Facts panel is the external-use hemorrhoidal label: temporarily relieves external itching, burning and irritation; adults use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; for external use only; under 12 ask a doctor; if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. A sitz bath leaves the skin clean, soft and warm, and a witch hazel pad on it afterward, pressed for a moment or left in place, is the moment the astringent is most welcome.

The math: $7.68 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) divided by 100 is about 8 cents a pad. Three soaks a day with a pad after each is under a quarter a day, and a jar outlasts most recoveries. The pad is too small to cleanse with, which is why the wipe and the cleanser further down come before the soak rather than after.

Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor. The full pad field is the best witch hazel pads, the brand write-up is the Tucks pads review, and the pad-versus-wipe question is Tucks vs Preparation H wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy Tucks as the pad for after every soak, for hemorrhoids, fissures or postpartum, once your clinician has said witch hazel is fine.

What we don't like

It soothes and does nothing a hemorrhoid label calls treatment, and the jar dries if the lid is loose.

What it is
OTC drug, witch hazel pad
Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Count
100
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Pregnancy line
If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use
Cost per pad
$0.08 ($7.68 divided by 100)
Packaging
Jar with lid

What we like

  • The pad nurses name alongside the sitz bath
  • About 8 cents each
  • Can be left in place after the soak

Worth noting

  • Soothes only; no treatment claim
  • Jar dries out if the lid is loose
Best ValueBest Pad Titled for Postpartum
Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads

Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads

Birchwood Laboratories

The hospital-supply witch hazel pad, titled for hemorrhoid and postpartum relief.

4.4

Our verdict: A-E-R is the pad that comes in the hospital's postpartum kit when Tucks does not, from a medical supply maker, and its title names postpartum relief outright. The label is the same witch hazel label. The count is not on the listing, so there is no cost per pad. Buy it if it is what the hospital used; otherwise Tucks is the same label with a published count.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel; titled for hemorrhoid and postpartum relief. Count not stated on the title. Live at $7.40 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The other after-soak pad. Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads state witch hazel and name both hemorrhoid and postpartum relief on the title. The Drug Facts panel is the witch hazel label: external itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor, and if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Birchwood sells to hospitals, which is why many readers meet the pad in a recovery kit before they ever see it on a shelf.

What is not published: the count. At $7.40 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) we cannot compute a cost per pad or compare it to Tucks on value. Owners who received it in hospital describe it as interchangeable in use, pressed or laid along a sanitary pad after a soak.

Stop lines are the same as Tucks. It appears alongside Tucks in the pregnancy and postpartum guide and in the best witch hazel pads.

Who should buy it

Buy A-E-R if the hospital sent you home with it and you want the same pad for the after-soak step, and you are not choosing on cost per pad.

What we don't like

Count not published, so no cost per pad, and a supply-catalog brand with less consumer presence.

What it is
OTC drug, witch hazel pad
Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Pregnancy line
If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use
Packaging
Jar

What we like

  • Postpartum relief named on the title
  • The hospital-kit alternative to Tucks
  • Same witch hazel label

Worth noting

  • Count not published
  • Limited consumer presence
Best No-Touch Option After the Soak
Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray

Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray

Doctor Butler's

A perineal spray with aloe and chamomile for skin that cannot be pressed or wiped after a soak.

4.4

Our verdict: When the skin after a soak is too sore to press a pad against, a spray is the answer, and Doctor Butler's makes the one titled for pregnancy and postpartum. The title names aloe and chamomile and no monograph active, which is what separates it from the brand's lidocaine ointments; the pack carries whatever panel it has, so read it. At $15.95 with no stated size we compute no cost per ounce.

Verified: Per the listing title: pregnancy and postpartum perineal spray and hemorrhoid treatment with aloe and chamomile. The title names no OTC monograph active; read the pack for its panel. Size not stated on the title. Live at $15.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The spray for when a pad is too much. Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray is titled as a perineal spray and hemorrhoid treatment with aloe and chamomile. After a sitz bath, when the skin is clean and warm but stitches or a fissure make touching it out of the question, a spray reaches without contact. The title names no OTC monograph active, so we cannot say what its panel lists; the pack does, and it is the thing to read before first use. Owners consistently report it does not sting on stitches, which is the fact that matters for this format.

What is not published: the active and the size. At $15.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) there is no cost per ounce. It ranks on format and on the brand's specialist standing; the brand's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment is a different product with lidocaine and phenylephrine on its title and a label that sends pregnant readers to a doctor first.

Ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding, and ask specifically about spraying on a healing perineum. The full line is in the Doctor Butler's review.

Who should buy it

Buy the spray if the skin after a soak cannot be pressed or wiped and you need a no-touch format, once your clinician is fine with a spray on the area.

What we don't like

No active and no size on the listing title, so we cannot say what it is labeled to do or what it costs per ounce.

What it is
Perineal spray; panel on the pack
Active ingredient
Not stated on the listing title; aloe and chamomile named
Size
Not published on the listing title
Use
No-touch spray, per the pack
Pregnancy line
Ask a health professional before use
Packaging
Spray bottle

What we like

  • No-touch format for skin too sore to press
  • Titled for pregnancy and postpartum
  • No lidocaine or phenylephrine named

Worth noting

  • Active and size not on the listing title
  • No cost per ounce
Best Wipe Before the Soak
Doctor Butler's Flushable Hemorrhoid Wipes

Doctor Butler's Flushable Hemorrhoid Wipes

Doctor Butler's

Organic witch hazel on a flushable wipe that doubles as a compress, for cleansing before the soak.

4.4

Our verdict: A soak works best on skin that is already clean, and a wipe after the bowel movement is how it gets that way. Doctor Butler's wipe is organic witch hazel on a flushable sheet, and its title adds a second use, a moist compress you fold and hold, which after a soak does much of what a pad does on a larger surface. The count is not on the listing, so no cost per wipe, and at $15.95 it is priced above the pharmacy tubs.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: organic witch hazel; titled flushable wipes or moist compress. Count not stated on the listing title, so no cost per wipe. Live at $15.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The before-soak step, from the specialist brand. Doctor Butler's Flushable Hemorrhoid Wipes state organic witch hazel on the title and describe themselves as flushable wipes or a moist compress. The Drug Facts panel is the external-use witch hazel label: itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and before a topical treatment, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor, and if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. The routine is bowel movement, wipe, soak, pat dry, pad or spray; the wipe is the first step.

What is not published: the count. At $15.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) we cannot compute a cost per wipe. For a cheaper witch hazel wipe with a published count, Preparation H Wipes, 48 count at $6.34 is about 13 cents each; the Doctor Butler's wipe earns its place on the compress use and on matching the brand's other products.

Stop lines are the witch hazel set: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor. The full wipe field is the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy Doctor Butler's wipes for the cleansing step before a soak if you use the brand's other products or want the fold-and-hold compress use; otherwise a Preparation H tub does the same job with a published count.

What we don't like

Count not published, so no cost per wipe, and the pack costs more than double a Preparation H tub.

What it is
OTC drug, witch hazel wipe
Active ingredient
Organic witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Pregnancy line
If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use
Packaging
Resealable pack, flushable per title

What we like

  • Organic witch hazel stated in the title
  • Doubles as a moist compress after the soak
  • Matches the Doctor Butler's line

Worth noting

  • Count not published
  • Priced well above the pharmacy tubs
Upgrade PickBest Cleanser for Skin That Cannot Be Wiped
Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz

Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz

Balneol

A cleansing lotion applied to paper so it glides, for the wiping step a soak cannot replace.

4.5

Our verdict: Balneol is the product proctologists recommend when even a wet wipe is too much: a lotion you put on toilet paper so it cleans without dragging. It is a cleansing product, not a drug, and its title says it relieves anal and vaginal irritation; we describe it as the listing does. At $15.98 for 3 oz it is about $5.33 an ounce, and for a fissure or a raw postpartum perineum the price is easy to justify.

Verified: Per the listing title: cleansing lotion, relieves anal and vaginal irritation, 3 oz. A cleansing product rather than an OTC monograph drug; ingredients on the pack. Live at $15.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The gentlest way to do the step before the soak. Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz goes on paper or a cotton pad, not on the skin directly, and turns wiping into gliding. The title gives the use, relieves anal and vaginal irritation, and the size, 3 oz; ingredients are on the pack. It carries no witch hazel, phenylephrine or lidocaine and it is not an OTC monograph drug. At $15.98 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $5.33 an ounce ($15.98 divided by 3), and a bottle lasts weeks because a few drops do the job.

Where it fits: a sitz bath cleans, but nobody soaks after every bowel movement, and the wiping in between is where fissures reopen and raw skin gets worse. Balneol is for that wiping. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding, as with everything here. Balneol also anchors the cleansing half of the best anal fissure treatments and appears in the pregnancy and postpartum guide.

Who should buy it

Buy Balneol if wiping is painful even with a wet wipe, for a fissure, a raw perineum or long-irritated skin, and you want the between-soak step to stop hurting.

What we don't like

About $5.33 an ounce, ingredients on the pack rather than the listing, and it is a cleansing aid rather than anything labeled to treat.

What it is
Cleansing lotion, not an OTC monograph drug
Ingredients
On the pack; not stated on the listing title
Size
3 oz
Use
Applied to toilet paper or a pad, per the pack
Pregnancy line
Ask a health professional before use
Cost per ounce
$5.33 ($15.98 divided by 3)
Packaging
Bottle

What we like

  • Makes wiping painless between soaks
  • No witch hazel, phenylephrine or lidocaine
  • A bottle lasts weeks

Worth noting

  • About $5.33 an ounce
  • Ingredients not on the listing title

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 ozBest Sitz Bath SaltLansinoh · $14.15Check price on Amazon
  2. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 countBest Pad After the SoakTucks · $7.68Check price on Amazon
  3. Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel PadsBest Pad Titled for PostpartumBirchwood Laboratories · $7.40Check price on Amazon
  4. Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum SprayBest No-Touch Option After the SoakDoctor Butler's · $15.95Check price on Amazon
  5. Doctor Butler's Flushable Hemorrhoid WipesBest Wipe Before the SoakDoctor Butler's · $15.95Check price on Amazon
  6. Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 ozBest Cleanser for Skin That Cannot Be WipedBalneol · $15.98Check price on Amazon

How we chose

We searched the catalog for every sitz-bath product with a verified Amazon listing and applied the brand credibility standard: only Tier A and B brands go in pick slots. That left one salt, Lansinoh's, and no basin or seat we were willing to rank, so the page is built as a routine rather than a list of salts. For each product we recorded what it is (a drug, a skin product, or a personal care item), the active the title or panel names, the count or size where the title states it, what the label directs, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per pad or per ounce is computed only where the title states both price and count or size, with the division shown. Owner reports, heavily postpartum on this shelf, were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether the salts dissolve, whether a spray stings on stitches, whether pads stay in place after a soak.

Compliance for this shelf: Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts, Balneol and the Doctor Butler's perineal spray are not OTC monograph drugs and are not approved to treat any condition. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The witch hazel pads and wipes are OTC drugs, and we quote their labels' Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them: external use only, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, under 12 ask a doctor, stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days, and ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. Soaking with stitches, an incision or after a procedure is your clinician's instruction to give. We are a research and verification desk, not a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.

Questions, answered

What are the best sitz bath salts?

Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz, at $14.15 at our September 5, 2026 check, about $1.42 an ounce. It is the only sitz salt in our catalog from a brand credible enough to name; the rest of the shelf is unbranded pouches. It is a personal care product, not a drug, and salts are optional: warm water is the actual recommendation.

Do you need salts for a sitz bath?

No. The recommendation in hemorrhoid, fissure and postpartum instructions is the warm water soak itself; salts are an optional addition and clinicians differ on whether they add anything. If yours recommends salts, Lansinoh's are the branded version. If yours says plain water, plain water is the sitz bath.

How long should you sit in a sitz bath?

Most instructions say ten to fifteen minutes, two or three times a day and after bowel movements, in two to three inches of warm (not hot) water. Your own discharge sheet or clinician's instruction governs, especially with stitches, an incision, or after a hemorrhoid procedure. Pat dry afterward; do not rub.

What do you put on after a sitz bath?

Pat dry, then a witch hazel pad such as Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads (100 for $7.68, about 8 cents each) pressed to the area or left in place, or Birchwood A-E-R pads if that is what the hospital used. If the skin is too sore to touch, Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray at $15.95 is the no-touch option. Any cream or ointment your clinician has approved goes on last, on clean dry skin.

Can you take a sitz bath with stitches after birth?

Most postpartum instructions include sitz baths with perineal stitches, but the instruction has to come from your clinician, and a cesarean incision is a separate question. Every witch hazel pad and wipe label also says if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Our pregnancy and postpartum guide covers the full routine with that line on every product.

Do sitz baths help anal fissures?

Warm sitz baths are part of nearly every fissure instruction, because the warm water relaxes the muscle around the anus and cleans without wiping. They are paired with cleansing that does not drag (Balneol on paper) and, where a clinician approves, a topical product; our best anal fissure treatments guide ranks that shelf. A fissure that bleeds or persists beyond a week is a doctor's business per every OTC label.

Why is there only one sitz bath salt on this page?

Because our brand standard puts only credible brands in pick slots, and Lansinoh's is the only sitz salt in our verified catalog from one. The shelf is otherwise unbranded pouches and plastic basins, and rather than pad the page with those we ranked the salt and the five products that turn a soak into a routine.