Our Pick: Proktis-M

Check price on Amazon →

Proktis-M Review: The Hyaluronic Acid Rectal Suppository, Without the Claims

Proktis-M is a non-steroidal rectal suppository with hyaluronic acid, sold at $29.99, and it is not an OTC drug: there is no Drug Facts panel, no named active with a labeled purpose, and no use we can quote. The listing describes it in the maker's words as for healing of the anus and rectum; we describe it as a lubricating, moisturizing suppository and stop there. The count is not published on the listing. Preparation H at about 75 cents, Calmol 4 at about $1.01 and Anusol at about $1.08 are the OTC benchmarks. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~9 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Proktis-M Natural, Non-Steroidal Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic AcidBest Overall

Proktis-M Natural, Non-Steroidal Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

Proktis-M · 3.5

$29.99

Anusol Suppositories, 12 per packBest Value

Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol · 4.0

$12.90

Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 countUpgrade Pick

Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count

Calmol 4 · 4.4

$24.12

Proktis-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid cost $29.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), and the first thing to know is what they are not: they are not an over-the-counter drug. There is no Drug Facts panel, no active ingredient with a labeled purpose such as protectant or vasoconstrictor, and no uses or directions in the regulated sense for us to quote. The listing title describes the product as natural, non-steroidal rectal suppositories with hyaluronic acid, and, in the maker's words, for healing of the anus and rectum. We attribute that phrase to the maker and do not adopt it. What we can say is that hyaluronic acid is a moisturizing and lubricating ingredient, that a suppository built around it is designed to melt and coat, and that the product supports comfort in the way a moisturizer does. The count is not published on the listing title, so there is no cost per use on this page.

Why review it at all? Because people searching for hemorrhoid and fissure suppositories find it, because it is one of the few rectal suppositories sold without a vasoconstrictor, an anesthetic or a steroid, and because that makes it interesting to exactly the reader the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list on Preparation H sends elsewhere. The honest comparison is against the OTC suppositories that do carry a Drug Facts panel: Preparation H at about 75 cents each, Calmol 4 at about $1.01, the protectant-only benchmark, and Anusol at about $1.08. Against those, Proktis-M asks $29.99 for an unpublished count and no quotable label.

How we handle this shelf: OTC hemorrhoidal drugs get their Drug Facts Uses and Directions quoted and nothing beyond them; products sold as non-drug suppositories, moisturizers or cosmetics get structure-and-comfort language only and never a treatment, healing or cure claim, and the FDA disclaimer appears in our methodology. The stop line that applies to any rectal symptom regardless of what you insert is the one the OTC labels print: rectal bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and see a doctor. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use of anything on this page. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand has paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Proktis-M is a non-steroidal rectal suppository with hyaluronic acid, $29.99 at our September 5, 2026 check, and not an OTC drug: no Drug Facts panel, no quotable uses, count not published on the listing.
  • We describe it as a lubricating, moisturizing suppository that supports comfort. The maker's for-healing phrasing on the listing is the maker's; we do not repeat it as ours.
  • Its appeal is what it lacks: no phenylephrine, no lidocaine, no steroid. For the reader the phenylephrine list sends away from Preparation H, Calmol 4 is the OTC protectant-only alternative at about $1.01 each.
  • The OTC benchmarks publish counts and panels: Preparation H about 75 cents each, Calmol 4 about $1.01, Anusol about $1.08. Proktis-M publishes neither a count nor a panel.
  • Rectal bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means a doctor, whatever you insert. Fissure symptoms in particular belong with a clinician, not a listing.

At a glance

ProductFrameworkActives or key ingredientCountCost per usePrice (9/5/26)Check price
Proktis-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic AcidNon-drug suppository; no Drug Facts panelHyaluronic acid (per title)Not publishedNot computable$29.99Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Suppositories, 12 ct x 2OTC drug, Drug FactsCocoa butter, phenylephrine HCl24$0.75$17.96Check price on Amazon
Calmol 4 Suppositories, 24 ctOTC drug, Drug FactsCocoa butter, zinc oxide24$1.01$24.12Check price on Amazon
Anusol Suppositories, 12OTC drug, Drug FactsNot published on listing; read the box12$1.08$12.90Check price on Amazon

Proktis-M and three OTC suppository benchmarks. Framework, actives and counts are as the listing title or Drug Facts panel state them; where a listing states no count we say not published and compute nothing. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickThe Hyaluronic Acid Suppository
Proktis-M Natural, Non-Steroidal Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

Proktis-M Natural, Non-Steroidal Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid

Proktis-M

A lubricating hyaluronic acid rectal suppository with no drug actives, $29.99 for an unpublished count.

3.5

Our verdict: If you want a rectal suppository with no vasoconstrictor, no anesthetic and no steroid, built around a moisturizing ingredient, this is the one sold on Amazon under a recognizable name. It lubricates and moisturizes and supports comfort; we say nothing more for it. At $29.99 for a count the listing does not state, it is also the most expensive and least documented suppository on this page.

Verified: Listing title: PROKTIS-M, Natural, Non-Steroidal Rectal Suppositories, with Hyaluronic Acid, for Healing of Anus and Rectum (the healing phrase is the maker's). Not an OTC drug; no Drug Facts panel. Count not published on the listing. Live at $29.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. Proktis-M Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic Acid is a rectal suppository whose listing title states three things about the formula: natural, non-steroidal, and with hyaluronic acid. Hyaluronic acid is a moisturizing and lubricating ingredient, the same class of ingredient used in the hormone-free vaginal moisturizers on this site, and a suppository built around it is designed to melt and coat. The listing title's phrase, for healing of anus and rectum, is the maker's description of its positioning; it is not a Drug Facts use, because there is no Drug Facts panel, and we do not repeat it as our own. At $29.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the listing title does not state how many suppositories are in the box, so we cannot compute a cost per use and do not.

What we can say and what we cannot: we can say it lubricates and moisturizes and supports comfort, in the way a moisturizer does, and that it contains none of the OTC hemorrhoidal actives (no phenylephrine, no lidocaine, no hydrocortisone, no zinc oxide on the title). We cannot say it treats hemorrhoids, heals fissures, or does anything an OTC label would have to state under the monograph system, because there is no such label. That is not a criticism of the product; it is a description of the framework it is sold under.

Who reasonably buys it. Someone who has been sent away from phenylephrine by the ask-a-doctor list, has decided against lidocaine, and wants a suppository whose whole job is to lubricate and coat. For that reader the OTC alternative with a quotable panel is Calmol 4, a cocoa butter and zinc oxide protectant suppository at about $1.01 each with a stated count of 24. Directions for Proktis-M are on the box; follow them and nothing beyond them. For insertion technique, see how to use a rectal suppository. And the line that applies to every rectal product: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means a doctor. Fissure symptoms in particular, which the maker's phrasing invokes, belong with a clinician; see the best anal fissure treatments for what the labels on that shelf do and do not state.

Who should buy it

Buy Proktis-M if you specifically want a hyaluronic acid rectal suppository with no OTC drug actives, understand it is not a drug and carries no quotable uses, and accept an unpublished count at $29.99.

What we don't like

No Drug Facts panel, no quotable uses or directions, a count the listing does not state, a maker's healing phrase we cannot stand behind, and a price that is the highest on the page for the least documented product.

Framework
Non-drug rectal suppository; no Drug Facts panel
Key ingredient
Hyaluronic acid, per the listing title
Drug actives
None stated; natural and non-steroidal per the title
Count
Not published on the listing
Form
Rectal suppository
Directions
Per the box; no regulated Uses or Directions to quote
Cost per use
Not computable
Packaging
Box; count not published

What we like

  • No phenylephrine, lidocaine or steroid
  • Hyaluronic acid, a moisturizing and lubricating ingredient
  • The recognizable name in this niche on Amazon

Worth noting

  • Not a drug; no quotable uses
  • Count not published
  • $29.99, the most expensive suppository on the page
  • Maker's healing phrase we do not adopt
Benchmark: The OTC Reference
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2

Preparation H

The OTC suppository with a Drug Facts panel, a stated count, and about 75 cents per use.

4.6

Our verdict: Everything Proktis-M does not publish, Preparation H does: two named actives with labeled purposes, quotable uses, a daily cap, an age line, a stop line, and a count of 24 that makes it about 75 cents per use ($17.96 divided by 24). The trade is the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: cocoa butter (protectant) and phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor). Listing count: 12 per box, pack of 2. Directions: adults up to 4 times daily; under 12 ask a doctor. Live at $17.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2 is the OTC reference. The Drug Facts panel lists cocoa butter as a protectant and phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor; the uses are temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids, temporary shrinking of hemorrhoidal tissue, and protection of irritated tissue. Directions: adults up to 4 times daily; children under 12, ask a doctor. Stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. At $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about 75 cents each.

The phenylephrine list is the reason a reader ends up at Proktis-M: ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate; ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription drug for high blood pressure or depression. If that is you, the next benchmark is the OTC answer. The full review is at the Preparation H suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Buy Preparation H if you want the OTC reference suppository with a quotable panel and none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions apply to you.

What we don't like

The phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list, a cocoa butter base that softens in heat, and a listing title that does not print the percentages.

Framework
OTC drug, Drug Facts panel
Active ingredients
Cocoa butter (protectant), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor)
Strength
Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
Count
24 (12 per box, pack of 2)
Form
Rectal suppository, foil wrapped, cocoa butter base
Directions
Adults up to 4 times daily; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.75 ($17.96 divided by 24)
Packaging
Foil strips in two cartons

What we like

  • Drug Facts panel with quotable uses
  • Stated count, about 75 cents each
  • Pharmacy name

Worth noting

  • Phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list
  • Softens in heat
Upgrade PickBenchmark: OTC Without Phenylephrine
Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count

Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count

Calmol 4

The OTC protectant-only suppository: cocoa butter and zinc oxide, up to 6 daily, about $1.01 each.

4.4

Our verdict: For the reader who wants a suppository without a vasoconstrictor, an anesthetic or a steroid, this is the OTC answer: a protectant coating with an astringent, a quotable panel, a stated count of 24, and about $1.01 per use ($24.12 divided by 24). It is what we would buy before Proktis-M, for less money and more information.

Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: cocoa butter (protectant) and zinc oxide (protectant). Listing count: 24. Directions: adults up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor. Live at $24.12 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count is the closest OTC counterpart to what Proktis-M offers: a coating suppository with no phenylephrine, no lidocaine and no steroid. Its Drug Facts panel lists cocoa butter and zinc oxide, both protectants; its directions allow adults up to 6 per day or one after each bowel movement, with children under 12 sent to a doctor; and it carries the 7 day stop line. At $24.12 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is about $1.01 each, and unlike Proktis-M we can compute that because the listing states the count.

Calmol 4 or Proktis-M: both coat, both avoid the OTC actives with warning lists, and only one has a quotable panel, a stated count, and a price under $25. Proktis-M's distinguishing ingredient is hyaluronic acid; if a moisturizing ingredient is the specific thing you want, that is the reason to pay more. The Calmol 4 review is at the Calmol 4 review; the shelf at the best hemorrhoid suppositories.

Who should buy it

Buy Calmol 4 instead of Proktis-M if you want a suppository without vasoconstrictor, anesthetic or steroid and would rather have a Drug Facts panel and a stated count than hyaluronic acid.

What we don't like

A Tier B brand with thinner distribution, about $1.01 each, and no vasoconstrictor use on the panel.

Framework
OTC drug, Drug Facts panel
Active ingredients
Cocoa butter (protectant), zinc oxide (protectant)
Strength
Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
Count
24
Form
Rectal suppository, wrapped, cocoa butter base
Directions
Adults up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$1.01 ($24.12 divided by 24)
Packaging
Carton of 24

What we like

  • No phenylephrine, lidocaine or steroid
  • Quotable panel and stated count
  • Up to 6 daily on the label

Worth noting

  • Tier B distribution
  • No vasoconstrictor use
Best ValueBenchmark: The Other Pharmacy Name
Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack

Anusol

An OTC suppository with a stated count and a panel on the box, about $1.08 each.

4.0

Our verdict: Anusol publishes a count and carries a Drug Facts panel on the box, even if the listing does not print the actives. At $12.90 for 12, about $1.08 each ($12.90 divided by 12), it is the lowest sticker price on the page and still an OTC drug with the shelf's stop line. Against Proktis-M it is less than half the price with more regulated information.

Verified: Listing: Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack. Count stated; actives not published on the listing (read the Drug Facts panel on the box). Live at $12.90 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack is the other pharmacy-name OTC suppository. The listing states the count and not the actives; Anusol has sold more than one suppository formula and the Drug Facts panel on the box that arrives is the source. Every hemorrhoidal panel carries the same stop line (bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days), the under 12 ask-a-doctor line, and the pregnancy line. At $12.90 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is about $1.08 each.

The point of including it: even the least-documented OTC suppository on this page publishes a count and carries a regulated panel. Proktis-M does neither. The standalone review is at the Anusol suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Buy Anusol if you want a pharmacy-name OTC suppository at the lowest sticker price on the page and are comfortable reading the actives off the box.

What we don't like

Actives not published on the listing, and a second Anusol 12 count listing at $24.82 that is easy to buy by mistake.

Framework
OTC drug, Drug Facts panel on the box
Active ingredients
Not published on the listing; read the box
Strength
Not published
Count
12
Form
Rectal suppository, wrapped
Directions
Per the panel on the box; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$1.08 ($12.90 divided by 12)
Packaging
Carton of 12

What we like

  • Lowest sticker price on the page
  • Stated count, regulated panel on the box

Worth noting

  • Actives not on the listing
  • Duplicate listing at double the price

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Proktis-M Natural, Non-Steroidal Rectal Suppositories with Hyaluronic AcidThe Hyaluronic Acid SuppositoryProktis-M · $29.99Check price on Amazon
  2. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Benchmark: The OTC ReferencePreparation H · $17.96Check price on Amazon
  3. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 countBenchmark: OTC Without PhenylephrineCalmol 4 · $24.12Check price on Amazon
  4. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per packBenchmark: The Other Pharmacy NameAnusol · $12.90Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This review is built on the listing title, the framework the product is sold under, and the live price. For each SKU we recorded whether it is an OTC drug with a Drug Facts panel or a non-drug suppository, the actives or key ingredient the title or panel states, the count where the title states it, the form, and the Amazon price on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per use is shown only where the listing states a count, with the division shown; Proktis-M's listing does not, so none is shown. Where a listing uses phrasing such as healing, we attribute it to the maker and do not adopt it. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a listing cannot tell you: how the suppository melts, whether it stays in place, and whether the box states a count and directions.

Compliance for this shelf: OTC hemorrhoidal drugs get their Uses and Directions quoted and nothing beyond them, with the shelf's stop line (bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and ask a doctor), the under 12 ask-a-doctor line, and the pregnancy line (ask a health professional before use). Hyaluronic acid suppositories and similar non-drug inserts are described in structure-and-comfort language only (lubricates, moisturizes, supports comfort) and never with a treatment, healing, cure or prevention claim. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw this review before publication.

Questions, answered

What is Proktis-M?

A non-steroidal rectal suppository with hyaluronic acid, per the listing title. It is not an OTC drug: there is no Drug Facts panel, no named active with a labeled purpose, and no regulated uses. We describe it as a lubricating, moisturizing suppository that supports comfort and do not go beyond that.

Does Proktis-M heal fissures or hemorrhoids?

We cannot say that, and we do not. The listing's healing phrase is the maker's, and there is no Drug Facts panel to hold it to. Fissure symptoms and rectal bleeding are a clinician's diagnosis, and the OTC stop line applies: worsening or no improvement within 7 days means a doctor.

How many suppositories are in a box of Proktis-M?

The listing title does not state the count, so we do not compute a cost per use. At $29.99 at our September 5, 2026 check, it is the most expensive suppository on the page regardless of count; the box states the number.

Is Proktis-M a steroid?

No. The listing title states non-steroidal, and it names no OTC drug active at all: no phenylephrine, no lidocaine, no hydrocortisone. Its key ingredient is hyaluronic acid.

What is the OTC alternative to Proktis-M?

Calmol 4, a cocoa butter and zinc oxide protectant suppository with a Drug Facts panel, a stated count of 24, up to 6 per day on the label, and about $1.01 each at our September 5, 2026 check. It has no vasoconstrictor, anesthetic or steroid, which is the property most Proktis-M buyers are looking for.

Can Proktis-M be used during pregnancy?

There is no label line to quote, because there is no Drug Facts panel. The standing rule on this shelf applies: ask a health professional before use. Our pregnancy and postpartum guide covers the products whose labels are written for that situation.

How do I use a rectal suppository?

Follow the directions on the box. In general, wash your hands, lie on your side with the upper knee drawn up, insert the suppository pointed end first past the sphincter, and remain still for a few minutes. Our guide to using a rectal suppository covers the sequence and what to do if it slips out.