Our Pick: Anusol
Check price on Amazon →Anusol Suppositories Review: The Other Pharmacy Name, and What the Listing Does Not Tell You
Buy the 12 per pack listing at $12.90, about $1.08 a suppository, and read the Drug Facts panel on the box before the first one, because the listing does not publish the actives and Anusol has sold more than one formula. The alternate 12 count listing is $24.82 for the same count and should be skipped. Preparation H at about 75 cents and Calmol 4 at about $1.01 are the benchmarks. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~9 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Buy Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack, at $12.90 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), which is about $1.08 per suppository ($12.90 divided by 12). It is the pharmacy-counter name most people know after Preparation H, and the box is a carton of twelve wrapped rectal suppositories. Do not buy the alternate Anusol Suppositories 12 listing at $24.82; it is the same count at nearly double the price, about $2.07 each ($24.82 divided by 12).
Here is the honest problem with reviewing Anusol from a listing: neither title states the active ingredients. Anusol has sold protectant-only suppository formulas, and the formula on a given box depends on the market it was packaged for. So this review does something the rest of the site rarely has to do: it tells you what the listing states (twelve suppositories, a price), what every hemorrhoidal Drug Facts panel carries regardless of formula (the uses, the daily cap, the 7 day stop line), and then sends you to the panel on the box that arrives for the actives. If you want a suppository whose actives are printed and knowable before you order, the two benchmarks below are Preparation H (cocoa butter plus phenylephrine) and Calmol 4 (cocoa butter plus zinc oxide).
Every hemorrhoidal suppository is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel, and we quote panels rather than improvise around them. Uses on this class of label are temporary relief of the itching, burning and discomfort of hemorrhoids and protection of irritated tissue. The stop line is the same on every box: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. Children under 12: ask a doctor. If pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand has paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.
The short version
- Our Pick: Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack, $12.90 at our September 5, 2026 check, about $1.08 each. Skip the alternate 12 count listing at $24.82.
- The listing does not publish the actives and Anusol has sold more than one suppository formula. Read the Drug Facts panel on the box before the first use.
- Every hemorrhoidal panel carries the same stop line: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and ask a doctor. Under 12, ask a doctor. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional.
- Preparation H (about 75 cents, cocoa butter plus phenylephrine) is the price benchmark; Calmol 4 (about $1.01, cocoa butter plus zinc oxide, up to 6 daily) is the protectant-only benchmark with printed actives.
- Buy Anusol for the name and the wrapped carton; buy the benchmarks if you want to know the actives before you order.
At a glance
| Product | Actives (per label) | Count | Cost per use | Label directions | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack | Not published on listing; read the box | 12 | $1.08 | Per the panel on the box | $12.90 | Check price on Amazon |
| Anusol Suppositories 12 (alternate listing) | Not published on listing; read the box | 12 | $2.07 | Per the panel on the box | $24.82 | Check price on Amazon |
| Preparation H Suppositories, 12 ct x 2 | Cocoa butter, phenylephrine HCl | 24 | $0.75 | Up to 4 daily; under 12 ask a doctor | $17.96 | Check price on Amazon |
| Calmol 4 Suppositories, 24 ct | Cocoa butter, zinc oxide | 24 | $1.01 | Up to 6 daily; under 12 ask a doctor | $24.12 | Check price on Amazon |
Both Anusol suppository listings and the two benchmarks. Actives are as stated on the Drug Facts panel or the listing title; where neither states them we say not published. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per use computed only where the listing states both price and count.
Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack
Anusol
The pharmacy-name carton of twelve at about $1.08 each; read the panel for the actives.
Our verdict: This is the Anusol listing to buy, at about $1.08 a suppository, wrapped, in a carton of twelve. What you cannot do from the listing is confirm the actives before ordering, because the title does not state them and Anusol has sold more than one suppository formula. Read the panel on the box, then apply its directions and nothing beyond them.
Verified: Listing: Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack. Count stated on the listing; actives not published on the listing (read the Drug Facts panel on the box). Live at $12.90 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
What it is. Anusol Suppositories, 12 per pack is a carton of twelve individually wrapped rectal suppositories under the Anusol name. At $12.90 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the cost per suppository is about $1.08 ($12.90 divided by 12). The listing title states the brand and the count and nothing else, and that is the whole of what we can verify about the formula from the listing. Anusol has sold protectant-only suppository formulas, and which one is in the carton depends on the market the carton was packaged for.
What owners consistently report. The wrapped units travel well and do not soften as readily as a loose jar would, and the carton is small enough for a cabinet. The consistent complaint is the one this review is built around: the box that arrives is not always the formula the buyer remembered from a pharmacy, because the name spans more than one product. For insertion technique and what to do if a suppository slips back out, see how to use a rectal suppository. For the shelf around this product, start at the best hemorrhoid suppositories.
Who should buy it
Buy the 12 per pack listing if you want the Anusol name specifically, you are comfortable reading the actives off the box before use, and you have used Anusol before and know which formula you expect.
What we don't like
The listing does not publish the actives, the formula on a given box is not knowable from the listing, and at about $1.08 each it costs a third more per suppository than Preparation H.
- Active ingredients
- Not published on the listing; read the Drug Facts panel on the box
- Strength
- Not published
- Count
- 12
- Form
- Rectal suppository, individually wrapped
- Label directions
- Per the Drug Facts panel on the box; under 12 ask a doctor on this class of label
- Cost per use
- $1.08 ($12.90 divided by 12)
- Packaging
- Carton of 12
What we like
- The other trusted pharmacy name
- Individually wrapped, travels well
- Count stated on the listing
Worth noting
- Actives not published on the listing
- Formula may differ by market the box was packaged for
- About $1.08 each
Anusol Suppositories 12 (alternate listing)
Anusol
The same twelve-count under a second listing at nearly double the price; buy the other one.
Our verdict: This is the second Anusol 12 count listing on Amazon, and at $24.82 it is about $2.07 per suppository ($24.82 divided by 12), nearly double the other listing for the same stated count. There is no information on either listing that explains the gap. Buy the $12.90 listing.
Verified: Listing: Anusol Suppositories 12. Count stated on the listing; actives not published on the listing. Live at $24.82 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Why it is on the page. Search Amazon for Anusol suppositories and this listing, Anusol Suppositories 12, appears beside the $12.90 one. Its title states the same count and, like the other, nothing about the actives. At $24.82 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it works out to about $2.07 each ($24.82 divided by 12). We list it so you recognize it and skip it, not because there is a reason to choose it.
Who should buy it
Nobody, while the $12.90 listing is available. If it is not, buy a benchmark with printed actives rather than paying $2.07 a suppository for an unpublished formula.
What we don't like
Nearly double the price of the other listing for the same stated count, with the same unpublished actives.
- Active ingredients
- Not published on the listing; read the Drug Facts panel on the box
- Strength
- Not published
- Count
- 12
- Form
- Rectal suppository, individually wrapped
- Label directions
- Per the Drug Facts panel on the box
- Cost per use
- $2.07 ($24.82 divided by 12)
- Packaging
- Carton of 12
What we like
- Same Anusol name and count
- Wrapped units
Worth noting
- About $2.07 each, nearly double the other listing
- Actives not published
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2
Preparation H
Cocoa butter plus phenylephrine on the panel, 24 wrapped, about 75 cents each.
Our verdict: The price and clarity benchmark. Twenty-four wrapped suppositories at about 75 cents each ($17.96 divided by 24), with both actives printed on a panel you can read before you buy. The trade is the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list, which is long and applies to a lot of adults.
Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: cocoa butter (protectant) and phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor). Listing count: 12 per box, pack of 2. Directions: adults up to 4 times daily; under 12 ask a doctor. Live at $17.96 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Why it is here. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2 is what Anusol is compared against by everyone who searches for either. The Drug Facts panel lists cocoa butter as a protectant and phenylephrine HCl as a vasoconstrictor; the uses include temporary shrinking of hemorrhoidal tissue, a line that belongs to the vasoconstrictor. Directions: adults up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning, and after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor. At $17.96 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is about 75 cents each ($17.96 divided by 24), a third less than Anusol.
Who should buy it
Buy Preparation H instead of Anusol if you want the actives printed and knowable before ordering, the lowest per-unit price on the shelf, and none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions apply to you.
What we don't like
The phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list is long, the cocoa butter base softens in heat, and the listing title does not print the percentages.
- Active ingredients
- Cocoa butter (protectant), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), per the Drug Facts panel
- Strength
- Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
- Count
- 24 (12 per box, pack of 2)
- Form
- Rectal suppository, foil wrapped, cocoa butter base
- Label directions
- Adults up to 4 times daily; under 12 ask a doctor
- Cost per use
- $0.75 ($17.96 divided by 24)
- Packaging
- Foil strips in two cartons
What we like
- Actives printed and verifiable
- About 75 cents each
- Only common suppository with a vasoconstrictor
Worth noting
- Long phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list
- Softens in heat
Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count
Calmol 4
Cocoa butter plus zinc oxide, no phenylephrine, up to 6 daily on the label, about $1.01 each.
Our verdict: If the appeal of Anusol is a protectant-only suppository without phenylephrine, Calmol 4 is that product with the actives printed: cocoa butter and zinc oxide, up to 6 per day on the label, about $1.01 each ($24.12 divided by 24). It costs a few cents less per unit than Anusol and you know what is in it before you order.
Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: cocoa butter (protectant) and zinc oxide (protectant). Listing count: 24. Directions: adults up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor. Live at $24.12 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Why it is here. Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 count is the protectant-only suppository whose panel we can quote: cocoa butter and zinc oxide, both labeled as protectants, and no vasoconstrictor, which means no heart disease, blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes, or prostate ask-a-doctor list. The label directs adults to insert one suppository up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, sends children under 12 to a doctor, and carries the 7 day stop line. At $24.12 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is about $1.01 each ($24.12 divided by 24), against Anusol's $1.08.
Who should buy it
Buy Calmol 4 instead of Anusol if you want a protectant-only suppository and want to know the actives before ordering, or if you are on the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list and want a clearly labeled alternative.
What we don't like
A Tier B brand with thinner distribution, about $1.01 each, and this SKU's title does not restate the actives (the cocoa butter and zinc oxide listing at $26.63 does).
- Active ingredients
- Cocoa butter (protectant), zinc oxide (protectant), per the Drug Facts panel
- Strength
- Percentages not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
- Count
- 24
- Form
- Rectal suppository, wrapped, cocoa butter base
- Label directions
- Adults up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
- Cost per use
- $1.01 ($24.12 divided by 24)
- Packaging
- Carton of 24
What we like
- Protectant-only, no phenylephrine list
- Up to 6 daily on the label
- Actives verifiable before ordering
Worth noting
- Tier B brand, thinner distribution
- No vasoconstrictor use on the label
What you'll need
The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- Anusol Suppositories, 12 per packBest OverallAnusol · $12.90Check price on Amazon
- Anusol Suppositories 12 (alternate listing)The Listing to SkipAnusol · $24.82Check price on Amazon
- Preparation H Hemorrhoid Suppositories, 12 count, pack of 2Benchmark: Printed Actives, Lowest PricePreparation H · $17.96Check price on Amazon
- Calmol 4 Hemorrhoidal Suppositories, 24 countBenchmark: Protectant-Only, Printed ActivesCalmol 4 · $24.12Check price on Amazon
How we chose
This review is built on the live listing and the Drug Facts panel where the listing lets us read it. For each SKU we recorded the count the title states, the actives where the title or a verifiable panel states them, the form, the label's directions and age line where stated, and the Amazon price on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per use is shown only where the listing title gives both a price and a count, with the division shown. Where a listing does not publish an active ingredient, we write not published and say so plainly rather than guessing; that is the case for both Anusol listings. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a listing cannot tell you: whether the carton arrives with the formula the buyer expected, and whether the wrapper opens cleanly.
Compliance for this shelf: we quote the label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Hemorrhoidal suppositories are labeled for rectal use only and for the number of daily applications the panel states. The stop line is the same on every box: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. Children under 12, ask a doctor. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. Where a formula includes phenylephrine, its ask-a-doctor list applies (heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate). We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw this review before publication.
Questions, answered
What is in Anusol suppositories?
The Amazon listing title states the count, 12, and does not state the active ingredients. Anusol has sold more than one suppository formula, and the formula on a given carton depends on the market it was packaged for. Read the Drug Facts panel on the box that arrives; it lists the actives and their purpose.
Which Anusol suppository listing should I buy?
The 12 per pack listing at $12.90 at our September 5, 2026 check, about $1.08 each. The alternate Anusol Suppositories 12 listing was $24.82 for the same stated count, about $2.07 each, with nothing on either listing to explain the gap.
How often can you use Anusol suppositories?
Follow the directions on the Drug Facts panel of the box you receive; hemorrhoidal suppository labels state a daily cap and say not to exceed it unless directed by a doctor. Children under 12, ask a doctor. If the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days, or if bleeding occurs, stop use and ask a doctor.
Can you use Anusol suppositories during pregnancy?
Hemorrhoidal labels say if pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use, and we do not go beyond the label. Products whose labels are written for pregnancy and postpartum are ranked in our pregnancy and postpartum guide.
Anusol or Preparation H: which is better?
Preparation H prints its actives (cocoa butter and phenylephrine HCl) and costs about 75 cents each; Anusol does not publish its actives on the listing and costs about $1.08 each. If you want a vasoconstrictor and none of the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor conditions apply, Preparation H. If you want a protectant-only suppository, Anusol or Calmol 4, and Calmol 4 lets you read the actives before ordering. The full comparison is at Preparation H vs Anusol.
Does Anusol contain hydrocortisone?
The suppository listings on this page do not state hydrocortisone, and OTC hydrocortisone hemorrhoidal products in the United States are creams labeled for external use. Any Anusol product with hydrocortisone in its name is a different product from the suppositories reviewed here; read the panel.
What do I do if the suppository is soft?
Suppositories with a cocoa butter or similar base soften in a warm bathroom or in summer shipping. Chill the wrapped unit briefly before opening so it holds its shape, and do not use one that has lost its shape. Our storage guide covers it.
Filed under Review
Keep reading
Preparation H vs Anusol
The two pharmacy names side by side: printed actives versus unpublished, price per suppository, and a verdict per buyer.
Best Hemorrhoid Suppositories (2026)
Every hemorrhoidal suppository in the catalog ranked on the Drug Facts panel and cost per use.
Calmol 4 Review
The protectant-only suppository with cocoa butter and zinc oxide printed on the panel.
How to Use a Rectal Suppository
Positioning, timing, and what to do if a suppository slips back out.













