Our Pick: Tucks
Check price on Amazon →Hemorrhoid Relief in Pregnancy and Postpartum (2026): Tucks, Sitz Salts, Perineal Spray and the Barrier
Ask a doctor first: that line is on every OTC hemorrhoid label, and this page repeats it before it ranks anything. With that said, Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68 is the product hospitals send new mothers home with, at about 8 cents a pad. Around it: Birchwood A-E-R pads titled for postpartum, Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts, Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum spray, Preparation H flushable wipes, Calmoseptine for raw skin, and Balneol for cleansing. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~14 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Best ValueBirchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads
Birchwood Laboratories · 4.4
$7.40
Every over-the-counter hemorrhoid product carries the same sentence on its Drug Facts panel: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. We are not going to rank around that line; we are going to lead with it. Ask your obstetrician, midwife or pharmacist before using any product on this page. With that said, the answer most of them give for the itching and irritation of pregnancy hemorrhoids, and for the perineal and hemorrhoid soreness after birth, is a witch hazel pad, and the pad is Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 8 cents each ($7.68 divided by 100). For the soak that goes with it, Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz, at $14.15.
Hemorrhoids are common in the third trimester, when the uterus presses on the veins that drain the rectum and constipation adds straining, and they are common after a vaginal birth for the obvious reason. The products people reach for split into two groups. The first is what this page is built from: witch hazel pads and wipes, sitz bath salts, a perineal spray, a skin barrier and a cleansing lotion, none of which contain a vasoconstrictor or a local anesthetic. The second is the phenylephrine and lidocaine shelf, Preparation H cream and suppositories, Doctor Butler's ointment, Curist, whose labels carry the same pregnancy line plus their own ask-a-doctor conditions; we cover those in the best hemorrhoid creams and the best hemorrhoid suppositories, and on this page we say only that a clinician decides whether any of them is appropriate for you. Three products here are not OTC drugs at all (the sitz salts, the cleansing lotion and the perineal spray), and we describe them exactly as their listings do.
The rules on this shelf. Witch hazel pads and wipes are OTC drugs with a Drug Facts panel: for external use only; temporarily relieves external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids; adults use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor; stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days; if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Calmoseptine is a zinc oxide skin protectant with its own panel. Nothing here is labeled to shrink swollen tissue or relieve pain, because the actives labeled for those carry warnings that belong in a clinician's hands during pregnancy. Postpartum bleeding is expected and is not the hemorrhoid label's bleeding line, but rectal bleeding is, and any bleeding you cannot account for is a call to the office. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.
The short version
- Every OTC hemorrhoid label says: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Ask first; this page assumes you have.
- Our Pick: Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, $7.68 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 8 cents a pad. Witch hazel only, the standard hospital send-home.
- The soak: Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz, $14.15, the only Tier A sitz salt in the catalog; it is a personal care product, not a drug.
- Perineal care: Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray, $15.95, titled with aloe and chamomile; Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz, $15.98, for cleansing without wiping.
- Raw skin: Calmoseptine Ointment, 4 oz tube, $10.99, a zinc oxide barrier, not a hemorrhoid drug. No phenylephrine or lidocaine product is in a pick slot on this page.
At a glance
| Product | What it is | Active (per title or panel) | Count or size | Cost each | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 | OTC witch hazel pad | Witch hazel | 100 | $0.08 | $7.68 | Check price on Amazon |
| Birchwood A-E-R Pads | OTC witch hazel pad | Witch hazel | Not published | n/a | $7.40 | Check price on Amazon |
| Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts, 10 oz | Bath salts, not a drug | Per the pack | 10 oz | $1.42 per oz | $14.15 | Check price on Amazon |
| Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray | Perineal spray | Aloe, chamomile (per title) | Not published | n/a | $15.95 | Check price on Amazon |
| Preparation H Flushable Wipes, 96 | OTC witch hazel wipe | Witch hazel | 96 | $0.13 | $12.12 | Check price on Amazon |
| Calmoseptine Ointment, 4 oz tube | Skin protectant, not a hemorrhoid drug | Zinc oxide, menthol per Drug Facts | 4 oz | $2.75 per oz | $10.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz | Cleansing lotion, not a drug | Per the pack | 3 oz | $5.33 per oz | $15.98 | Check price on Amazon |
The seven products on this page. Actives are as stated on the listing title or the Drug Facts panel; three products are not OTC drugs and are labeled as such. Where the title states no count, we say so. Every OTC product's label says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count
Tucks
The witch hazel pad hospitals send new mothers home with, 100 to the jar, about 8 cents each.
Our verdict: Tucks is the pad on the postpartum cart, and it is the pad most obstetric offices name when asked about pregnancy hemorrhoids, because witch hazel is the one hemorrhoid active with no ask-a-doctor conditions beyond the pregnancy line itself. The label still says ask a health professional before use, and we say it too. Once you have, $7.68 for 100 is about 8 cents a pad and a jar lasts the whole recovery.
Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel (astringent); percentage on the Drug Facts panel. 100 count per the title. Label: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Live at $7.68 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The pad, and the routine it belongs to. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count are cotton pads in witch hazel. The Drug Facts panel reads: temporarily relieves the external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids; adults, use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; for external use only; children under 12, ask a doctor; and, the line this page exists for, if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Postpartum nurses teach three uses: pressed against the perineum or anus for cooling, left in place against the anus between bowel movements, and laid in a row along a sanitary pad so the witch hazel sits against sore skin for hours.
Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor. Postpartum, that reads differently: lochia is expected and is not the hemorrhoid label's bleeding line, but rectal bleeding is, and a hemorrhoid that is still a problem at the six week visit is something to raise there. Pair the pads with the sitz soak below, and read the best witch hazel pads for the Birchwood and Major alternatives. The brand write-up is the Tucks pads review.
Who should buy it
Buy Tucks once your clinician has said a witch hazel pad is fine, for pregnancy hemorrhoids or for postpartum perineal and hemorrhoid soreness, and use it the way the nurses teach: pressed, left in place, or along a sanitary pad.
What we don't like
It soothes skin and does nothing a hemorrhoid label calls treatment, the pad is too small to cleanse with, and the jar dries if the lid is loose.
- What it is
- OTC drug, witch hazel pad
- Active ingredient
- Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
- Count
- 100
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Pregnancy line
- If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use
- Cost per pad
- $0.08 ($7.68 divided by 100)
- Packaging
- Jar with lid
What we like
- The standard postpartum send-home pad
- Witch hazel only; no vasoconstrictor or anesthetic warnings
- About 8 cents a pad, a jar covers the recovery
- Works along a sanitary pad as well as pressed
Worth noting
- Soothes only; not labeled to shrink or numb
- Too small to cleanse with
- Jar dries out if the lid is loose
Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads
Birchwood Laboratories
The hospital-supply witch hazel pad whose listing names postpartum relief, count not published.
Our verdict: A-E-R is the other pad on the postpartum cart, from a medical supply maker rather than a consumer brand, and its Amazon title says postpartum relief outright. Same witch hazel label as Tucks, same pregnancy line. The listing does not state the count, so we cannot compute a cost per pad. Buy it if it is what your hospital used and you want the same jar at home.
Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel; titled for hemorrhoid and postpartum relief. Count not stated on the title. Label: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Live at $7.40 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The supply-room pad. Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads state witch hazel on the title and name both hemorrhoid and postpartum relief, which is unusual candor for a listing. Birchwood sells to hospitals and long-term care, and the pads reach mothers in the recovery kit as often as by purchase. The Drug Facts panel is the witch hazel label: external itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor, and if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use.
Stop lines are the same: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor, with the postpartum reading that lochia is expected and rectal bleeding is not. It is the pad we pair with the soak in the best sitz bath salts.
Who should buy it
Buy A-E-R if it is the pad the hospital used, or if you want a witch hazel pad whose listing names postpartum use, and you are not choosing on cost per pad.
What we don't like
Count not published, so no cost per pad, and a supply-catalog brand with less consumer presence than Tucks.
- What it is
- OTC drug, witch hazel pad
- Active ingredient
- Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
- Count
- Not published on the listing title
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Pregnancy line
- If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use
- Packaging
- Jar
What we like
- Postpartum relief named on the listing title
- The hospital-supply alternative to Tucks
- Witch hazel only
Worth noting
- Count not published, no cost per pad
- Limited consumer presence
Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz
Lansinoh
The postpartum brand's sitz salts, 10 oz for $14.15, the soak the pads go with.
Our verdict: A sitz bath is a shallow warm soak of the perineum and anus, and it is the first thing most postpartum discharge sheets list. Lansinoh, the breastfeeding-supply brand, sells the salts for it, 10 oz for $14.15, about $1.42 an ounce. It is not a drug and it is not labeled to treat anything; it is a soak. The ingredients are on the pack, not the title, so read them if you have a sensitivity, and ask your clinician about soaking if you have stitches.
Verified: Per the listing title: sitz bath salts for postpartum care, 10 oz. A personal care product, not an OTC drug; ingredients are on the pack, not stated on the title. Live at $14.15 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The soak. Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 oz are exactly what the title says: bath salts for a sitz bath, from the brand that sells nipple cream and nursing pads to the same customer. A sitz bath is a few inches of warm water in a basin that sits on the toilet or in a clean tub, and the salts dissolve into it; the soak is ten to fifteen minutes by most discharge instructions, though your own sheet governs. Lansinoh's is the only Tier A sitz salt in our catalog, and it is priced accordingly: $14.15 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) for 10 oz is about $1.42 an ounce ($14.15 divided by 10).
The soak is where the pads fit: soak, pat dry, then a witch hazel pad. Ask your clinician before soaking if you have perineal stitches or a cesarean incision; most say yes to a sitz bath and no to a full bath in the early weeks, but the instruction is theirs to give. The full soak-and-pair routine is in the best sitz bath salts.
Who should buy it
Buy Lansinoh's salts if your discharge instructions include sitz baths and you want the postpartum brand's version rather than plain warm water, and you have checked the pack's ingredients against any sensitivity.
What we don't like
It is a personal care product with no labeled use, the ingredients are on the pack rather than the listing, and warm water alone is what many clinicians recommend.
- What it is
- Sitz bath salts, personal care, not a drug
- Ingredients
- On the pack; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- 10 oz
- Use
- Dissolved in a warm sitz bath, per the pack
- Pregnancy line
- Not a drug; ask your clinician before soaking with stitches or an incision
- Cost per ounce
- $1.42 ($14.15 divided by 10)
- Packaging
- Pouch or jar per the pack
What we like
- The only Tier A sitz salt in the catalog
- From a brand built for the postpartum customer
- Size stated, so the math is real
Worth noting
- Not a drug; no labeled use
- Ingredients not on the listing title
Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray
Doctor Butler's
A perineal and hemorrhoid spray titled for pregnancy and postpartum, with aloe and chamomile.
Our verdict: Doctor Butler's is a specialist hemorrhoid brand, and this is the one product in its line built for pregnancy and postpartum by name: a no-touch spray for skin that hurts to wipe, titled with aloe and chamomile rather than the lidocaine and phenylephrine in the rest of the range. The title names no monograph active, so read the pack for what it does carry. At $15.95 with no stated size we compute no cost per ounce.
Verified: Per the listing title: pregnancy and postpartum perineal spray and hemorrhoid treatment with aloe and chamomile. The title names no OTC monograph active; read the pack for its panel. Size not stated on the title. Live at $15.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The no-touch option. Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray is titled as a perineal spray and hemorrhoid treatment with aloe and chamomile. The format is the reason it is here: after a vaginal birth, and with stitches especially, a spray reaches skin that cannot be wiped or pressed, and it is the format postpartum nurses reach for beside the peri bottle. The title names aloe and chamomile and no OTC monograph active, which sets it apart from the brand's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, whose title names lidocaine and phenylephrine and whose label sends pregnant readers to a doctor before use.
The pregnancy line applies as it does to everything: ask a health professional before use, and ask specifically about spraying on a healing perineum. The brand's full line, including the lidocaine products this page keeps out of its pick slots, is covered in the Doctor Butler's review.
Who should buy it
Buy the Doctor Butler's postpartum spray if perineal skin is too sore to wipe or press, you want a no-touch format, and your clinician is fine with a spray on a healing perineum.
What we don't like
The title names no monograph active and no size, so we cannot say what it is labeled to do or what it costs per ounce; the pack decides both.
- What it is
- Perineal spray; panel on the pack
- Active ingredient
- Not stated on the listing title; aloe and chamomile named
- Size
- Not published on the listing title
- Use
- Spray, no-touch application, per the pack
- Pregnancy line
- Ask a health professional before use
- Packaging
- Spray bottle
What we like
- No-touch spray for skin too sore to wipe
- Titled for pregnancy and postpartum by name
- No lidocaine or phenylephrine named on the title
Worth noting
- No active or size on the listing title
- No cost per ounce to compare
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes with Witch Hazel, 96 count
Preparation H
Witch hazel on a full-size flushable wipe, 96 to the tub, about 13 cents each.
Our verdict: A pad soothes; a wipe cleans. After a bowel movement with a hemorrhoid, or a first bowel movement after birth, dry paper is the wrong tool, and the Preparation H wipe is the witch hazel version of the right one. Ninety-six for $12.12 is about 13 cents a wipe, flushable per the title, and the label is the same external-use witch hazel label with the same pregnancy line. Cleanse with this, then a Tucks pad.
Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel; titled flushable. 96 count per the title. Label: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Live at $12.12 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The cleansing half. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes with Witch Hazel, 96 count put witch hazel on a full-size nonwoven sheet, flushable per the title. The Drug Facts panel is the external-use witch hazel label: itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and before a topical treatment, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor, and if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. At $12.12 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about 13 cents a wipe ($12.12 divided by 96).
Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor, with the postpartum reading that lochia is expected and rectal bleeding is not. On flushable, plumbing decides: old pipes and septic systems should bin them. The full wipe field is the best hemorrhoid wipes.
Who should buy it
Buy the 96 count wipes for cleansing after bowel movements during pregnancy hemorrhoids or postpartum, once your clinician has said witch hazel is fine, and pair them with a pad.
What we don't like
Witch hazel stings briefly on raw skin by consistent report, the tub dries if left open, and flushable claims and old plumbing do not mix.
- What it is
- OTC drug, witch hazel wipe
- Active ingredient
- Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
- Count
- 96
- Label ages
- Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
- Pregnancy line
- If pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use
- Cost per wipe
- $0.13 ($12.12 divided by 96)
- Packaging
- Tub with lid, flushable per title
What we like
- Full-size sheet for cleansing, which a pad cannot do
- Witch hazel only
- About 13 cents a wipe, flushable per title
Worth noting
- Stings briefly on raw skin
- Tub dries out if left open
Calmoseptine Ointment, 4 oz tube
Calmoseptine
A zinc oxide skin protectant for perineal and perianal skin gone raw, not a hemorrhoid drug.
Our verdict: Calmoseptine is not a hemorrhoid product, and that is its value on this page. It is a zinc oxide and menthol skin protectant, the same class as diaper cream, and postpartum skin that has been wiped, soaked and padded for two weeks needs a barrier more than it needs another astringent. The 4 oz tube at $10.99 is about $2.75 an ounce and cleaner to apply than the jar. Ask your clinician before using it near stitches.
Verified: Labeled actives per the Drug Facts panel: zinc oxide (skin protectant) and menthol; percentages on the panel. Labeled as a skin protectant and moisture barrier, not as a hemorrhoid treatment. 4 oz tube per the title. Live at $10.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The barrier. Calmoseptine Ointment, 4 oz tube carries zinc oxide and menthol per its Drug Facts panel, and its label is a skin protectant label: for irritated skin, chafing and protection from moisture, with the listing naming diaper rash, heat rash and insect bites. Nothing in it is labeled for hemorrhoids, and nothing in it constricts or numbs. What it does is sit on skin as a film and keep moisture and friction off it, which is why it is in every hospital supply room and why postpartum nurses reach for it when perianal skin has gone raw from the routine itself.
Its label's own stop line is the skin protectant one: stop and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or lasts more than 7 days. The hemorrhoid's stop lines are the hemorrhoid's. The standalone write-up is the Calmoseptine review, and it appears on the cream page as the barrier option in the best hemorrhoid creams.
Who should buy it
Buy Calmoseptine to protect perianal skin that has gone raw from the wipe-soak-pad routine, once your clinician is fine with a zinc oxide barrier near the area, and keep it off stitches unless told otherwise.
What we don't like
It is not a hemorrhoid product and does nothing a hemorrhoid label is for, and the menthol stings on broken skin.
- What it is
- OTC skin protectant, not a hemorrhoid drug
- Active ingredient
- Zinc oxide (skin protectant), menthol, per Drug Facts
- Size
- 4 oz
- Label ages
- Per the skin protectant panel
- Pregnancy line
- Ask a health professional before use; keep off stitches unless directed
- Cost per ounce
- $2.75 ($10.99 divided by 4)
- Packaging
- Tube
What we like
- Zinc oxide barrier for raw skin, the hospital standard
- No vasoconstrictor or anesthetic
- Tube is cleaner than the jar; about $2.75 an ounce
Worth noting
- Not labeled for hemorrhoids
- Menthol stings on broken skin
Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz
Balneol
A cleansing lotion for anal and vaginal irritation, applied to paper, for skin that hurts to wipe dry.
Our verdict: Balneol is the product proctologists have recommended for decades to people who cannot tolerate wiping: a lotion you put on toilet paper so the paper glides and cleans without friction. Its title says it relieves anal and vaginal irritation; it is a cleansing product rather than an OTC drug, and we describe it as the listing does. At $15.98 for 3 oz, about $5.33 an ounce, it is the expensive way to make paper gentle, and for a raw postpartum perineum it is worth it.
Verified: Per the listing title: cleansing lotion, relieves anal and vaginal irritation, 3 oz. A cleansing product rather than an OTC monograph drug; ingredients on the pack. Live at $15.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The lotion that goes on the paper. Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 oz is applied to toilet paper or a cotton pad rather than directly to the skin, and the paper then cleans without dragging. The title states that it relieves anal and vaginal irritation and gives the size, 3 oz; it does not state ingredients, which are on the pack. It is not an OTC monograph hemorrhoid drug, it carries no witch hazel, phenylephrine or lidocaine, and we make no claim for it beyond what the title says. At $15.98 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $5.33 an ounce ($15.98 divided by 3), and a little goes a long way.
The pregnancy line applies as it does to everything on this page: ask a health professional before use. Balneol also appears in the best anal fissure treatments, where cleansing without friction is half the routine, and beside the sitz soak in the best sitz bath salts.
Who should buy it
Buy Balneol if wiping, even with a wet wipe, is painful, and you want a lotion that makes paper glide; it suits stitches, fissures and long-irritated skin.
What we don't like
About $5.33 an ounce, ingredients not on the listing title, and it is a cleansing aid rather than anything labeled to treat a hemorrhoid.
- What it is
- Cleansing lotion, not an OTC monograph drug
- Ingredients
- On the pack; not stated on the listing title
- Size
- 3 oz
- Use
- Applied to toilet paper or a pad, per the pack
- Pregnancy line
- Ask a health professional before use
- Cost per ounce
- $5.33 ($15.98 divided by 3)
- Packaging
- Bottle
What we like
- Makes wiping painless for skin that cannot tolerate friction
- No witch hazel, phenylephrine or lidocaine
- A small bottle lasts weeks
Worth noting
- About $5.33 an ounce
- Ingredients not on the listing title
What you'll need
The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 countBest Overall (Ask a Doctor First)Tucks · $7.68Check price on Amazon
- Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel PadsBest Pad Titled for PostpartumBirchwood Laboratories · $7.40Check price on Amazon
- Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts for Postpartum Care, 10 ozBest Sitz Bath SoakLansinoh · $14.15Check price on Amazon
- Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum SprayBest Perineal SprayDoctor Butler's · $15.95Check price on Amazon
- Preparation H Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes with Witch Hazel, 96 countBest Cleansing WipePreparation H · $12.12Check price on Amazon
- Calmoseptine Ointment, 4 oz tubeBest Barrier for Raw SkinCalmoseptine · $10.99Check price on Amazon
- Balneol Cleansing Lotion, 3 ozBest Cleansing LotionBalneol · $15.98Check price on Amazon
How we chose
Every product on this page was checked against its Amazon listing and, where it is an OTC drug, its Drug Facts panel. For each we recorded what the product is (an OTC drug, a skin protectant, or a personal care product), the active the title or panel names, the count or size where the title states it, what the label directs, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per pad or per ounce is computed only where the title states both price and count or size, with the division shown. We deliberately excluded every phenylephrine and lidocaine product from the pick slots: their labels carry the pregnancy line plus their own ask-a-doctor conditions, and that decision belongs with a clinician. Owner reports, heavily weighted toward postpartum reviewers on this page, were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether pads stay put on a sanitary pad, whether a spray stings on stitches, whether a barrier ointment stains.
Compliance for this shelf: we quote each OTC label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them, and we repeat on every card the line every hemorrhoid label carries, if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Witch hazel products are for external use only, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, with under 12 sent to a doctor and the bleeding, worsening and 7 day stop lines. Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts, Balneol and the Doctor Butler's perineal spray are not OTC monograph drugs and are not approved to treat any condition; we describe them as their listings do. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Nothing on this page is a substitute for your obstetrician, midwife or pharmacist. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.
Questions, answered
What can I use for hemorrhoids while pregnant?
Ask your obstetrician, midwife or pharmacist first; every OTC hemorrhoid label says if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. The products clinicians most often name are witch hazel pads and wipes, such as Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads (100 for $7.68 at our September 5, 2026 check) and Preparation H wipes with witch hazel, because witch hazel carries no ask-a-doctor conditions beyond the pregnancy line. Phenylephrine and lidocaine products carry the pregnancy line plus their own conditions, and whether they are appropriate for you is the clinician's call.
Is Preparation H safe during pregnancy?
The label answers it: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Preparation H's cream, ointment and suppositories contain phenylephrine, a vasoconstrictor, and their panels also carry heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid and diabetes ask-a-doctor lines. Preparation H's witch hazel wipes carry only the pregnancy line. Which, if any, is right for you is a question for your obstetrician or pharmacist, not for a review site.
What helps hemorrhoids after giving birth?
The routine most discharge sheets describe: a warm sitz bath (Lansinoh Sitz Bath Salts, 10 oz, $14.15, if you want salts rather than plain water), pat dry, witch hazel pads (Tucks or Birchwood A-E-R) pressed to the area or laid along a sanitary pad, a witch hazel wipe or Balneol on paper for cleansing after bowel movements, a no-touch spray such as Doctor Butler's Pregnancy & Postpartum Spray if the skin cannot be touched, and a zinc oxide barrier like Calmoseptine for skin that has gone raw. Ask your clinician before using any of it near stitches.
Are Tucks pads safe postpartum?
Tucks pads are the standard postpartum send-home from hospitals, and witch hazel is the hemorrhoid active with the narrowest label. The Drug Facts panel still says if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use, and we repeat it. Once your clinician has said yes, the label directs up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, external use only.
Can I use a sitz bath with stitches?
Most postpartum instructions include sitz baths with perineal stitches, but the instruction has to come from your clinician, and a cesarean incision is a separate question. Lansinoh's salts are a personal care product with no labeled use; plain warm water is what many clinicians recommend. Soak as directed, pat dry, and keep pads and ointments off the stitches themselves unless told otherwise.
Is Calmoseptine safe during pregnancy or postpartum?
Calmoseptine is a zinc oxide and menthol skin protectant, the same class as diaper cream, and its label is about irritated skin rather than hemorrhoids. It contains no vasoconstrictor or anesthetic. Ask your clinician before using it, keep it off stitches unless directed, and expect the menthol to sting on broken skin. It is the barrier for skin gone raw from the routine, not a hemorrhoid treatment.
When should I call the doctor about hemorrhoids after birth?
Rectal bleeding, severe pain, a lump that is hard and very painful, or a hemorrhoid that has not improved within about a week are the label's stop lines and the reasons to call. Lochia, the expected postpartum bleeding, is not the hemorrhoid label's bleeding line, but any bleeding you cannot account for is a call to the office, and a hemorrhoid still troubling you at the postpartum visit belongs on that visit's agenda.
Do stool softeners help pregnancy hemorrhoids?
Straining is a major contributor to pregnancy and postpartum hemorrhoids, and docusate stool softeners are the products clinicians most often name for it; many postpartum discharge sheets list one. Every laxative label has its own ask-a-doctor lines, including the pregnancy line, so ask first. Our best stool softeners guide ranks that shelf.
Filed under Buyer's Guide
Keep reading
Best Sitz Bath Salts (2026)
Lansinoh's salts and what to pair with the soak: pads, wipes, spray and cleanser.
Best Witch Hazel Pads (2026)
Tucks, Birchwood A-E-R, Major Medi-Pads and the wipes, ranked on the label and cost per pad.
Best Stool Softeners (2026)
The docusate shelf clinicians name for the straining that drives pregnancy hemorrhoids.
Best Hemorrhoid Creams (2026)
The phenylephrine and lidocaine shelf, for when your clinician says one is fine.















