Which Witch Hazel Pads Should You Buy? Tucks, Preparation H, Birchwood A-E-R and Major Medi-Pads (2026)

Buy Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68. It is the witch hazel pad every other pad is compared against, the Drug Facts label covers external itching, burning and irritation, and 100 for $7.68 is about 8 cents a pad, the cheapest per use on the shelf. Below it: the Tucks kit with cream, Preparation H's wipe, Birchwood's A-E-R pads titled for postpartum, the Major Medi-Pads jar with aloe, and DUDE's big box. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 countBest Overall

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks · 4.8

$7.68

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBest Value

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H · 4.7

$6.34

DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 countUpgrade Pick

DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 count

DUDE Wipes · 4.6

$19.66

Buy Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). For the external itching, burning and irritation of a hemorrhoid, and for postpartum care where the same pads are the standard hospital send-home, this is the product: witch hazel is the labeled active, the Drug Facts panel is the external-use hemorrhoidal label, and 100 pads for $7.68 is about 8 cents each ($7.68 divided by 100). If you want a wipe large enough to cleanse with rather than a pad to press, Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count, at $6.34 is the same active at about 13 cents.

Witch hazel is an astringent distilled from the bark and leaves of the witch hazel shrub, and it has been on the OTC hemorrhoidal monograph as an external ingredient for decades. A medicated pad is a cotton disc soaked in it; a wipe is a larger nonwoven sheet. The pad is for pressing against irritated skin, cooling it, and, in the way postpartum nurses teach it, laying across a sanitary pad or leaving against the anus between bowel movements. The wipe is for cleansing. This page ranks the pads and the two wipes people cross-shop against them, on what is printed: the active, the count where the title states it, cost per pad, and how the label directs use. Every product here is Tier A or B; the shelf has no shortage of unbranded jars and we have left them off.

The rules on this shelf. Witch hazel pads and wipes are OTC drugs with a Drug Facts panel, and the panel is consistent across brands: for external use only; temporarily relieves the external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids; adults use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, and before applying a topical hemorrhoid treatment; children under 12, ask a doctor; do not put into the rectum with fingers or any device. Every label says stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days, and ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, $7.68 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 8 cents a pad, the cheapest per use on the shelf.
  • Pad plus cream in one box: Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 witch hazel pads and a 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream, $9.66.
  • For cleansing rather than pressing: Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count, $6.34, about 13 cents a wipe.
  • Titled for postpartum: Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R pads at $7.40 name both hemorrhoid and postpartum relief on the listing; count not published.
  • Every witch hazel label says external use only, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, and stop and ask a doctor for bleeding or symptoms beyond 7 days.

At a glance

ProductActive (per title)FormatCountCost eachPrice (9/5/26)Check price
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100Witch hazelCotton pad, jar100$0.08$7.68Check price on Amazon
Tucks Multi-Care Relief KitWitch hazel pads + cream40 pads and 0.5 oz cream40 padsn/a (kit)$9.66Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48Witch hazelWipe, tub48$0.13$6.34Check price on Amazon
Birchwood A-E-R Medicated Cooling PadsWitch hazelCotton padNot publishedn/a$7.40Check price on Amazon
Major Medi-Pads with Aloe, 100Witch hazel, aloeCotton pad, jar100$0.16$16.18Check price on Amazon
DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144Witch hazelWipe, flushable144$0.14$19.66Check price on Amazon

The six witch hazel products on this page. Active is as stated on the listing title; where the title states no count, we say so and compute no cost per pad. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickBest Overall
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks

The witch hazel pad by name, 100 to the jar, about 8 cents each.

4.8

Our verdict: Tucks is the pad that made witch hazel a hemorrhoid product, and the 100 count jar is the way to buy it. The Drug Facts label is the full external-use hemorrhoidal label, the pads are thick enough to hold their witch hazel, and at $7.68 for 100 they are about 8 cents each, the lowest cost per use on this page and on the wider wipe shelf. Buy it first for hemorrhoids and for postpartum care alike.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel (astringent); percentage on the Drug Facts panel, not stated on the title. 100 count per the title. Live at $7.68 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The reference pad. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count are round cotton pads soaked in witch hazel, 100 to the jar per the title. The Drug Facts panel reads: temporarily relieves the external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids; adults, use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, and before applying a topical hemorrhoid treatment; children under 12, ask a doctor; for external use only; do not put into the rectum with fingers or any device. Owners use them two ways, pressed against the skin for a moment of cooling, or left in place between bowel movements, and postpartum nurses teach a third: laid along a sanitary pad.

Why it wins: label, thickness and price. At $7.68 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the jar is about 8 cents a pad ($7.68 divided by 100). The Major Medi-Pads jar is twice that, and the Preparation H wipe is 13 cents. Nothing else with a Drug Facts panel on this shelf comes in under a dime.

What the label says to watch: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days; if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Keep the lid tight: the jar's top layer dries if it is left loose, by consistent owner report. The brand write-up is the Tucks pads review, the pad-versus-wipe decision is Tucks vs Preparation H wipes, and the postpartum use is covered in the pregnancy and postpartum guide.

Who should buy it

Buy the Tucks 100 count if you want a witch hazel pad to press, leave in place or lay on a sanitary pad, for hemorrhoids or postpartum care, at the lowest cost per use on the shelf.

What we don't like

A pad is too small to cleanse with, so you still need a wipe or a shower after a bowel movement, and the jar dries out if the lid is loose.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
100
Form
Medicated cotton pad, jar
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per pad
$0.08 ($7.68 divided by 100)
Packaging
Jar with lid

What we like

  • Cheapest per use on the shelf at about 8 cents
  • The reference pad, named by postpartum nurses
  • Thick enough to hold witch hazel and be left in place
  • Full external-use Drug Facts label

Worth noting

  • Too small to cleanse with
  • Jar dries out if the lid is left loose
Best Pad and Cream Kit
Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 pads and 0.5 oz cream

Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 pads and 0.5 oz cream

Tucks

Forty Tucks pads and a half-ounce hemorrhoid cream in one box, for a first episode.

4.4

Our verdict: The Multi-Care kit bundles 40 Tucks pads with a 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream, which is the cleanse-then-treat routine the label prints, in one box. It is the right purchase for a first episode when you do not yet own either. The cream's actives are not on the listing title, so read the panel, and because it is a kit we compute no cost per pad. Once you know what you use, the 100 count jar and a full-size cream are cheaper.

Verified: Per the listing title: 40 witch hazel pads and a 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream. The cream's actives are not stated on the title; the Drug Facts panel names them. Live at $9.66 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The routine in a box. Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit packs 40 witch hazel pads with a 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream, per the title. The witch hazel label directs use before applying a topical hemorrhoid treatment, and the kit is that sentence made literal: pad, then cream. The pads carry the same Drug Facts panel as the 100 count jar; the cream carries its own, and the listing title does not state its actives, so read the panel before assuming it matches or differs from Preparation H.

When a kit makes sense: the first time. At $9.66 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it costs about two dollars more than the 100 count jar alone and includes a cream. For a second episode, the 100 count jar plus a full-size cream from the best hemorrhoid creams is the better value; a half ounce of cream does not go far.

Both labels carry the stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. If the cream's panel lists phenylephrine, its heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and enlarged prostate ask-a-doctor lines apply too.

Who should buy it

Buy the kit for a first episode when you own neither pads nor cream and want both in one box; once you know what you use, buy each full size.

What we don't like

Only 40 pads and a half ounce of cream, the cream's actives are not on the listing title, and per unit it costs more than buying the jar and a full tube.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel pads; cream actives on the Drug Facts panel, not on the title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panels; not stated on the listing title
Count
40 pads plus 0.5 oz cream
Form
Medicated pads and cream, kit
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Boxed kit

What we like

  • Cleanse-then-treat routine in one purchase
  • Same Tucks pads as the jar
  • Sensible first-episode buy

Worth noting

  • Cream actives not stated on the title
  • Small quantities of both; worse value than buying full size
Best ValueBest Wipe If You Would Rather Cleanse
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H

The same witch hazel on a full-size cleansing wipe, 48 to the tub, about 13 cents each.

4.7

Our verdict: Preparation H's wipe is on a pad page because most people deciding on Tucks are really deciding between a pad and a wipe. Same active, same label, larger sheet: a wipe cleans after a bowel movement in a way a pad cannot. At $6.34 for 48 it is about 13 cents each. If you can buy only one witch hazel product, and cleansing is the need, this is it; if soothing is the need, Tucks.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel (astringent); percentage on the Drug Facts panel, not stated on the title. 48 count per the title. Live at $6.34 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The wipe half of the decision. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count carry the same witch hazel active and the same Drug Facts panel as Tucks: external itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and before a topical treatment, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor. The sheet is several times a Tucks pad's size, which is the point: it cleanses. At $6.34 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about 13 cents a wipe ($6.34 divided by 48).

Pad or wipe: a pad soothes and can be left in place; a wipe cleanses and is discarded. The label's before-a-topical-treatment direction is easier to follow with a wipe, because the wipe is the cleansing step. The two are not competitors so much as steps, and Tucks vs Preparation H wipes walks through when each earns its place.

Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The wider wipe field, including the flushable 96 count, DUDE, Doctor Butler's and the lidocaine wipe, is in the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy the Preparation H wipe if cleansing after a bowel movement is the job, or as the first step before a Tucks pad or a cream.

What we don't like

About 13 cents against Tucks's 8, too large and too wet to leave in place, and the tub dries out if the lid is left open.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
48
Form
Medicated wipe, tub
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per wipe
$0.13 ($6.34 divided by 48)
Packaging
Tub with lid

What we like

  • Large enough to cleanse with
  • Same active and label as Tucks
  • Reference wipe brand

Worth noting

  • More per use than a Tucks pad
  • Not meant to be left in place
Best Titled for Postpartum
Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads

Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads

Birchwood Laboratories

The hospital-supply witch hazel pad, titled for hemorrhoid and postpartum relief, count not published.

4.4

Our verdict: Birchwood's A-E-R pads are what a hospital hands out when it is not handing out Tucks, and the listing title says the quiet part: hemorrhoid and postpartum relief. The label is the same witch hazel label. The title does not state the count, so we cannot compute a cost per pad, and at $7.40 the jar is priced beside Tucks. Buy it if it is what the hospital gave you and you want the same thing at home.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel; titled pre-moistened medicated cooling pads for hemorrhoid and postpartum relief. Count not stated on the listing title, so no cost per pad. Live at $7.40 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The other hospital pad. Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel Pads state witch hazel on the title, along with pre-moistened, medicated, cooling, and a use line that names both hemorrhoid and postpartum relief. Birchwood is a medical supply maker rather than a consumer brand, which is why the pads turn up in postpartum kits and long-term-care supply rooms more often than on a pharmacy end cap. The Drug Facts panel is the external-use witch hazel label: itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor.

What is not published: the count. The Amazon title states no number, so at $7.40 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) we cannot compute a cost per pad or say whether it undercuts Tucks. We rank it on its label and its postpartum title, not on value.

Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first, which for a pad titled postpartum is the line to read twice. It sits beside Tucks in the pregnancy and postpartum guide and in the sitz bath guide as the pad to pair with a soak.

Who should buy it

Buy A-E-R if it is the pad the hospital sent you home with, or if you want a witch hazel pad whose listing names postpartum use and you are not choosing on cost per pad.

What we don't like

Count not published, so no cost per pad and no way to compare it to Tucks on value, and it is a supply-catalog brand with thinner consumer support.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Form
Medicated cotton pad, pre-moistened
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Jar

What we like

  • Titled for both hemorrhoid and postpartum relief
  • The hospital-supply alternative to Tucks
  • Same witch hazel label

Worth noting

  • Count not published, no cost per pad
  • Supply-catalog brand, limited consumer presence
Best Pharmacy-Generic Pad with Aloe
Major Medi-Pads Witch Hazel Hemorrhoidal Pads with Aloe, 100 count

Major Medi-Pads Witch Hazel Hemorrhoidal Pads with Aloe, 100 count

Major Pharmaceuticals

Major's witch hazel pad with aloe, 100 to the jar, about 16 cents each.

4.2

Our verdict: Major is the generic house behind a good share of what pharmacies and hospitals stock, and its Medi-Pads are the Tucks idea with aloe added, 100 to the jar. At $16.18 that is about 16 cents a pad, twice Tucks, which is an odd place for a generic to sit and the reason it ranks where it does. Buy it if aloe matters to you or if Major is what your pharmacy carries; otherwise Tucks is the same label for half the price.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel, with aloe; titled hemorrhoidal hygienic cleansing pads, cooling relief. 100 count jar per the title. Live at $16.18 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The generic pad, priced like a brand. Major Medi-Pads Witch Hazel Hemorrhoidal Pads with Aloe, 100 count state witch hazel and aloe on the title, describe themselves as hygienic cleansing pads with cooling relief, and come 100 to the jar. The Drug Facts panel is the external-use witch hazel label: itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor. Aloe is listed as a soothing addition, not an active with a labeled use.

The math does not favor it: $16.18 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) divided by 100 is about 16 cents a pad, against 8 cents for Tucks. Major's laxative products are usually the value option; here the brand is the value option. If your pharmacy stocks Medi-Pads and not Tucks, the label is equivalent and the choice is fine; if you are buying online, Tucks.

Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. Major's other products on the site are laxatives, ranked in the best bisacodyl suppositories.

Who should buy it

Buy Medi-Pads if you want aloe in a witch hazel pad, or if Major is what your pharmacy carries and you want the same jar at home.

What we don't like

About twice Tucks's cost per pad for the same label, which is the wrong way round for a generic.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), with aloe, per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
100
Form
Medicated cotton pad, jar
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per pad
$0.16 ($16.18 divided by 100)
Packaging
Jar

What we like

  • Witch hazel with aloe, 100 count stated
  • Pharmacy-generic house widely stocked
  • Same external-use label as Tucks

Worth noting

  • About 16 cents a pad, twice Tucks
  • Aloe carries no labeled use
Upgrade PickBest Big Box Wipe
DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 count

DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 count

DUDE Wipes

Witch hazel on a large flushable wipe, 144 to the box, about 14 cents each.

4.6

Our verdict: DUDE Wipes is the big-box wipe on a pad page for the reader who has decided a wipe is what they want and would rather buy once. Same witch hazel label, larger and wetter sheet by owner consensus, flushable per the title, 144 for $19.66, about 14 cents each. It is not a pad, it cannot be left in place, and it is a cent more per use than Preparation H. It is here for volume.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: witch hazel; titled medicated, hemorrhoid, flushable. 144 count per the title. Live at $19.66 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Volume, in wipe form. DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 count state witch hazel on the title along with medicated, hemorrhoid and flushable. The Drug Facts panel is the external-use witch hazel label: itching, burning and irritation, up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and before a topical treatment, external use only, under 12 ask a doctor. Owners consistently describe the sheet as larger and wetter than the pharmacy brands', which is DUDE's whole reputation carried onto the medicated shelf.

The math: $19.66 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) divided by 144 is about 14 cents a wipe. That is a cent above Preparation H and nearly twice Tucks, for a product that does the cleansing job a pad cannot. If your household goes through wipes, the box makes sense; if you want to soothe and leave something in place, it is the wrong format.

Stop lines: bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days mean stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. On flushable: the title claims it, and old plumbing or a septic system should ignore the claim and bin them. The full wipe ranking is the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy DUDE if you want a large flushable cleansing wipe with witch hazel and would rather buy 144 at once than a tub of 48.

What we don't like

It is a wipe, not a pad, a cent more per use than Preparation H, and 144 is far more than the label's 7 day episode needs.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
144
Form
Medicated wipe, flushable per title
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per wipe
$0.14 ($19.66 divided by 144)
Packaging
Box of 144

What we like

  • Largest box on the page
  • Large, wet sheet for cleansing
  • Flushable stated on the title

Worth noting

  • Not a pad; cannot be left in place
  • More per use than Tucks or Preparation H

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 countBest OverallTucks · $7.68Check price on Amazon
  2. Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 pads and 0.5 oz creamBest Pad and Cream KitTucks · $9.66Check price on Amazon
  3. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBest Wipe If You Would Rather CleansePreparation H · $6.34Check price on Amazon
  4. Birchwood Laboratories A-E-R Medicated Cooling Witch Hazel PadsBest Titled for PostpartumBirchwood Laboratories · $7.40Check price on Amazon
  5. Major Medi-Pads Witch Hazel Hemorrhoidal Pads with Aloe, 100 countBest Pharmacy-Generic Pad with AloeMajor Pharmaceuticals · $16.18Check price on Amazon
  6. DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 countBest Big Box WipeDUDE Wipes · $19.66Check price on Amazon

How we chose

Every product on this page was checked against its Amazon listing and its Drug Facts panel. For each we recorded the active the title names, the format (pad or wipe), the count where the title states it, what the label directs and who it sends to a doctor, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per pad is computed only where the listing title states both price and count, with the division shown; for the Tucks kit, which bundles pads with a cream, we compute none. Where a title states no count, the table says not published. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether a jar dries out, whether the pads are thick enough to hold witch hazel, whether they sting on raw skin, and how they behave when laid on a sanitary pad.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote each label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Witch hazel pads and wipes are for external use only; the label directs adults to use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and sends children under 12 to a doctor; it says not to put the product into the rectum with fingers or a device; and it says stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, the condition worsens, or it does not improve within 7 days. Every label says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding; postpartum use is the most common reason people buy these, and that line still applies. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.

Questions, answered

What are the best witch hazel pads for hemorrhoids?

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 8 cents a pad. Witch hazel is the labeled active, the Drug Facts label covers external itching, burning and irritation, and the pads are thick enough to leave in place. Birchwood A-E-R pads carry the same label and name postpartum use on the title; Major Medi-Pads add aloe at about twice the cost per pad.

How do you use Tucks pads?

The Drug Facts label directs adults to use up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement, and before applying a topical hemorrhoid treatment; it is for external use only, and the label says not to put the pad into the rectum with fingers or any device. In practice owners press the pad against the skin for a moment of cooling, or leave it in place between bowel movements; postpartum nurses teach laying pads along a sanitary pad. Children under 12: ask a doctor.

Are witch hazel pads safe during pregnancy and after birth?

Every witch hazel pad and wipe label says: if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Witch hazel pads are the standard postpartum send-home from hospitals, and Birchwood's listing names postpartum relief on the title, but the label's line is unchanged and we repeat it. Our pregnancy and postpartum guide covers the full routine.

Tucks pads or Preparation H wipes?

Same active, same label, different format. A Tucks pad is a small cotton disc for pressing or leaving in place, about 8 cents each; a Preparation H wipe is a full-size sheet for cleansing after a bowel movement, about 13 cents each. Cleanse with the wipe, soothe with the pad, and the label's before-a-topical-treatment direction is satisfied either way. Our Tucks vs Preparation H wipes comparison goes through it by moment of use.

Can you leave a witch hazel pad on overnight?

The label directs up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement and says external use only; it does not print a duration per application. Owners commonly leave a Tucks pad in place between bowel movements, including overnight, against the outside of the anus. Nothing on the label should be read as permission to insert a pad, and the label says not to.

Do witch hazel pads shrink hemorrhoids?

No. The OTC label for witch hazel is temporary relief of external itching, burning and irritation. Shrinking swollen hemorrhoidal tissue is the labeled use of phenylephrine, found in Preparation H cream, ointment and suppositories and in Doctor Butler's and Curist. A pad soothes the skin; it does not treat the hemorrhoid.

Which witch hazel pads are cheapest?

Tucks, at about 8 cents a pad ($7.68 for 100 at our September 5, 2026 check). Preparation H wipes are about 13 cents, DUDE Wipes about 14 cents, and Major Medi-Pads about 16 cents. Birchwood A-E-R does not state a count on its listing, so we cannot compute its cost per pad.

What if there is blood on the pad?

Stop using the product and ask a doctor. That line is on every witch hazel pad label. A little blood is common with hemorrhoids and it is still the cue to have a clinician confirm that a hemorrhoid is what it is, because a pad does nothing for the other causes.