Our Pick: Colace
Check price on Amazon →Stool Softeners, Ranked (2026): Colace, Kirkland, Amazon Basics and Dulcolax Compared
Colace Stool Softener, 100 mg, 60 capsules, at $16.39, is the pick: the reference docusate sodium brand, a Drug Facts label that reads 12 to 72 hours, about 27 cents a capsule. If you want the same 100 mg for 3 cents, Kirkland Signature sells 400 for $12.50. This page ranks every docusate product on Amazon, oral and the one rectal, on the label, the strength and the cost per dose. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~13 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Buy Colace Stool Softener, 100 mg, 60 capsules, at $16.39 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). Docusate sodium 100 mg is the stool softener, Colace is the brand the category is named after, and the label reads relief of occasional constipation with a bowel movement generally in 12 to 72 hours, about 27 cents a capsule ($16.39 divided by 60). If you have used docusate before and want the same 100 mg at the lowest verified cost per dose, Kirkland Signature Stool Softener 100 mg, 400 softgels, is $12.50, about 3 cents each. Amazon Basics matches that at 100 for $3.09.
A stool softener is not a laxative in the way a suppository or an enema is. Docusate sodium is a surfactant: it lets water and fat mix into the stool so it stays soft, which is why the label window is 12 to 72 hours rather than minutes, and why it is the product a doctor names when the problem is hard stool that keeps coming back, after surgery, in pregnancy with a doctor's say-so, or for anyone who should not strain. Every docusate label says the same things: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours, directions by age (12 and over; a separate line for 2 to under 12; ask a doctor under 2), ask a doctor before use if you are taking mineral oil, and not more than 1 week unless a doctor directs. Because the medicine is identical across brands at 100 mg, this page ranks on strength, count, cost per dose, and the one real product difference, which is whether a stimulant has been added.
The two things on this shelf that are not plain docusate deserve a sentence each. Colace 2-in-1 adds a stimulant laxative to the stool softener; its label is a different label with a stimulant's warnings, and it is not a product to buy by accident. The Magic Bullet is docusate in a suppository, a rectal route to a stool softener that pharmacists name for specific bowel routines; it is the one non-oral product here. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.
The short version
- Our Pick: Colace Stool Softener 100 mg, 60 capsules, $16.39 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 27 cents each. The reference docusate brand, 12 to 72 hours on the label.
- Same 100 mg for a fraction of the price: Kirkland Signature 400 softgels for $12.50 (about 3 cents each) and Amazon Basics 100 softgels for $3.09 (about 3 cents each).
- Higher strength: Colace Extra Strength 250 mg, 60 for $22.97, about 38 cents each; the label directions differ from 100 mg, so read the box.
- Not plain docusate: Colace 2-in-1 adds a stimulant laxative and carries a stimulant's label; the Magic Bullet is docusate in a suppository, 10 for $14.99.
- Every docusate label: 12 to 72 hours, occasional use, ask a doctor if taking mineral oil, not more than 1 week without a doctor, and rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use means stop and ask.
At a glance
| Product | Active | Strength | Count | Cost per unit | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colace Stool Softener, 60 | Docusate sodium | 100 mg | 60 | $0.27 | $16.39 | Check price on Amazon |
| Kirkland Signature Stool Softener, 400 | Docusate sodium | 100 mg | 400 | $0.03 | $12.50 | Check price on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics Stool Softener, 100 | Docusate sodium | 100 mg | 100 | $0.03 | $3.09 | Check price on Amazon |
| Dulcolax Stool Softener Liquid Gels | Docusate sodium | Not on title | Not published | n/a | $5.98 | Check price on Amazon |
| Colace Extra Strength, 60 | Docusate sodium | 250 mg | 60 | $0.38 | $22.97 | Check price on Amazon |
| Colace Clear Soft Gels, 60 | Docusate sodium | Not on title | 60 | $0.29 | $17.13 | Check price on Amazon |
| Colace 2-in-1, 60 tablets | Docusate sodium + stimulant laxative | Per label | 60 | $0.28 | $16.69 | Check price on Amazon |
| Magic Bullet Suppository, 10 | Docusate sodium (rectal) | Per label | 10 | $1.50 | $14.99 | Check price on Amazon |
Every docusate product we verified. Strength is as stated on the listing title or Drug Facts label; where the title states no count, the row says not published. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per dose is per capsule or suppository, computed only where the listing states both price and count.
Colace Stool Softener, 100 mg, 60 capsules
Colace
The reference docusate 100 mg, 12 to 72 hours on the label, about 27 cents a capsule.
Our verdict: Colace is the stool softener a doctor or pharmacist means when they say stool softener, and the 60 count is the sensible size: enough for the days-long course the label describes, not so many that they expire. About 27 cents a capsule is several times the generics, and for a first purchase the brand's label clarity is worth it. Once you know docusate works for you, move to Kirkland or Amazon Basics.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium 100 mg per capsule, stool softener, 60 capsules. Drug Facts label: for relief of occasional constipation; generally produces a bowel movement in 12 to 72 hours; directions by age, under 2 ask a doctor; ask a doctor if taking mineral oil. Live at $16.39 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The reference stool softener. Colace Stool Softener, 100 mg, is docusate sodium in a capsule. The Drug Facts label reads relief of occasional constipation and generally produces a bowel movement in 12 to 72 hours. Directions are by age: adults and children 12 and over, a range printed on the label; children 2 to under 12, a separate line; under 2, ask a doctor. We do not restate the capsule counts; the box does.
Label lines: ask a doctor before use if you are taking mineral oil; stop and ask a doctor for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use; not more than 1 week unless a doctor directs. The brand write-up is our Colace review; the rectal-versus-oral question is in suppository vs oral laxative; and if you need something today rather than in 12 to 72 hours, the best laxatives for fast relief is the other shelf.
Who should buy it
Anyone buying a stool softener for the first time, or anyone whose doctor named Colace by name.
What we don't like
About 27 cents a capsule for a medicine the generics sell at 3 cents, and a 12 to 72 hour window that surprises people expecting a laxative.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- 100 mg per capsule
- Count
- 60
- Form
- Oral capsule
- Label ages
- 12 and over; 2 to under 12 per label; under 2 ask a doctor
- Cost per unit
- $0.27 ($16.39 divided by 60)
- Label window
- 12 to 72 hours
What we like
- The reference docusate brand
- Clear by-age label
- Sensible 60 count
Worth noting
- Nine times the generic cost per capsule
- 12 to 72 hours, not a fast laxative
Kirkland Signature Stool Softener 100 mg, 400 softgels
Kirkland Signature
The same docusate 100 mg as Colace, 400 for $12.50, about 3 cents a softgel.
Our verdict: Kirkland's stool softener is docusate 100 mg, the same strength as Colace, at about 3 cents a softgel. For a household where a doctor has directed ongoing use, it is the buy. For a first-time or occasional user, 400 softgels is a multi-year supply that will expire first, which is the only reason it is not the pick.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium 100 mg per softgel, stool softener, 400 softgels, both stated in the listing title. Drug Facts label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours. Live at $12.50 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The Costco answer. Kirkland Signature Stool Softener 100 mg is docusate sodium 100 mg, 400 softgels, both in the listing title. The label is the standard docusate label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours, directions by age, ask a doctor if taking mineral oil.
All docusate label lines apply, including the 1 week line: 400 softgels is a quantity that only makes sense under a doctor's direction for ongoing use. The whole constipation shelf, for readers deciding between a softener and something faster, is in the best suppositories for constipation.
Who should buy it
Households where a doctor has directed ongoing docusate use and cost per dose matters.
What we don't like
Four hundred softgels is a quantity that outlasts most needs and most expiry dates.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- 100 mg per softgel
- Count
- 400
- Form
- Oral softgel
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel; under 2 ask a doctor
- Cost per unit
- $0.03 ($12.50 divided by 400)
- Label window
- 12 to 72 hours
What we like
- About 3 cents a softgel
- Same 100 mg as Colace
- Strength and count in the title
Worth noting
- 400 is a multi-year supply
- Only sensible under a doctor's direction
Amazon Basics Stool Softener, Docusate Sodium 100 mg, 100 softgels
Amazon Basics
Docusate 100 mg, 100 softgels for $3.09, generic pricing in a sensible quantity.
Our verdict: Amazon Basics gives you Kirkland's cost per softgel, about 3 cents, in a bottle of 100 rather than 400, which is the quantity most people should actually buy. Same docusate 100 mg, same label. It is the best generic for anyone who is not stocking a household for years.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium 100 mg per softgel, stool softener laxative, 100 softgels, all stated in the listing title. Drug Facts label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours. Live at $3.09 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Generic, right-sized. Amazon Basics Stool Softener is docusate sodium 100 mg, 100 softgels, per the listing title. Standard docusate label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours, directions by age, ask a doctor if taking mineral oil.
Stop lines and the 1 week line apply. Amazon Basic Care also sells a PEG 3350 powder, ClearLax, covered in the best osmotic laxatives.
Who should buy it
Anyone who knows docusate works for them and wants generic pricing in a sensible bottle.
What we don't like
A store brand with no consumer support beyond the label, which for docusate is not much of a loss.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- 100 mg per softgel
- Count
- 100
- Form
- Oral softgel
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel; under 2 ask a doctor
- Cost per unit
- $0.03 ($3.09 divided by 100)
- Label window
- 12 to 72 hours
What we like
- About 3 cents a softgel
- Sensible 100 count
- Strength and count in the title
Worth noting
- Store brand
Dulcolax Stool Softener Liquid Gel Capsules
Dulcolax
Docusate under the Dulcolax name, labeled for hard, dry stools; count not on the listing.
Our verdict: Dulcolax's stool softener is docusate, not the stimulant the brand is known for, and the listing says exactly what it is for: hard, dry stools. At $5.98 it is a low box price, but the title states neither strength nor count, so there is no per-capsule figure and it ranks below the generics that publish both.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium, stool softener, liquid gel capsules, gentle relief for hard, dry stools per the listing title. Drug Facts label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours. Strength and count not on the listing title. Live at $5.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The brand's non-stimulant. Dulcolax Stool Softener Liquid Gel Capsules are docusate sodium, labeled for gentle relief of occasional constipation for hard, dry stools, 12 to 72 hours. Nothing stimulant about it, despite the name on the box.
Docusate label lines apply. If you came here because Dulcolax means fast relief to you, the stimulant products are a different shelf, ranked in the best bisacodyl suppositories and compared to this softener in Dulcolax suppository vs tablets.
Who should buy it
Buyers who want a brand docusate liquid gel at a low box price and will read the box for count.
What we don't like
Neither strength nor count on the listing title.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- Not on the listing title
- Count
- Not published
- Form
- Oral liquid gel capsule
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Label window
- 12 to 72 hours
What we like
- Low box price
- Labeled for hard, dry stools
Worth noting
- Strength not on title
- Count not published
Colace Extra Strength Stool Softener, 250 mg, 60 capsules
Colace
Docusate 250 mg, a different label with different directions from the 100 mg products.
Our verdict: The Extra Strength is 250 mg of docusate per capsule against 100 mg everywhere else on this page, and its directions are its own; the 100 mg label's capsule counts do not apply. It is the product for someone whose doctor has named a higher docusate strength. About 38 cents a capsule.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium 250 mg per capsule, stool softener, 60 capsules, both stated in the listing title. Drug Facts label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours, directions specific to the 250 mg strength. Live at $22.97 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
A different strength, a different label. Colace Extra Strength states docusate sodium 250 mg in the listing title, 60 capsules. The Drug Facts label carries directions for the 250 mg strength, which are not the 100 mg directions; read the box you buy.
Same docusate cautions: ask a doctor if taking mineral oil, not more than 1 week without a doctor, stop for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use.
Who should buy it
Buyers whose doctor has named docusate at 250 mg.
What we don't like
A strength to be named, not chosen, and the highest brand price per capsule on the page.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- 250 mg per capsule
- Count
- 60
- Form
- Oral capsule
- Label ages
- Per the 250 mg Drug Facts panel
- Cost per unit
- $0.38 ($22.97 divided by 60)
- Label window
- 12 to 72 hours
What we like
- 250 mg stated in the title
- Brand label clarity
Worth noting
- Different directions from 100 mg
- About 38 cents a capsule
Colace Clear Stool Softener Soft Gel Capsules, 60 count
Colace
Colace's clear soft gel; strength not on the title, 60 for $17.13, about 29 cents each.
Our verdict: Colace Clear is the brand's dye-free soft gel. The listing title does not state the strength, so read the panel before assuming it matches the 100 mg capsule. At about 29 cents a soft gel it is priced like the standard Colace, and it is the right buy only if a clear, dye-free capsule is what you specifically want.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium, stool softener, clear soft gel capsules, 60 count per the listing title. Strength not on the listing title. Drug Facts label: occasional constipation, 12 to 72 hours. Live at $17.13 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Clear capsule, undisclosed strength. Colace Clear Stool Softener Soft Gel Capsules, 60 count, are docusate sodium in a clear soft gel. The listing title does not state the milligrams; the Drug Facts panel does, and it may differ from the 100 mg red capsule.
Docusate label lines apply. Full brand line in the Colace review.
Who should buy it
Buyers who want a clear, dye-free docusate soft gel from the brand.
What we don't like
Strength not on the listing title, at brand pricing.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- Not on the listing title; on the Drug Facts panel
- Count
- 60
- Form
- Oral clear soft gel
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Cost per unit
- $0.29 ($17.13 divided by 60)
- Label window
- 12 to 72 hours
What we like
- Clear, dye-free capsule
- Count published
Worth noting
- Strength not on the title
- Brand pricing
Colace 2-in-1 Stool Softener Plus Stimulant Laxative Tablets, 60 count
Colace
Docusate plus a stimulant laxative in one tablet; a stimulant's label, not a stool softener's.
Our verdict: The 2-in-1 is not a stool softener with a bonus. It is a stimulant laxative that also contains docusate, and its label reads like a stimulant's: occasional use, cramps and discomfort as possible effects, not more than 1 week. It is on this page so nobody buys it thinking it is Colace. If a doctor has named a softener-plus-stimulant combination, this is a verified listing; if not, buy plain docusate.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium (stool softener) plus a stimulant laxative, per the listing title, 60 tablets. Drug Facts label: for relief of occasional constipation; the stimulant component carries a stimulant's directions and warnings. Live at $16.69 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Two actives, one of them a stimulant. Colace 2-in-1 combines docusate sodium with a stimulant laxative in a single tablet, 60 per bottle. The Drug Facts panel states both actives and their strengths, and its directions and warnings follow the stimulant: this is a product for occasional constipation, not the days-long softening course plain docusate is used for.
Stimulant cautions apply: occasional use, not more than 1 week without a doctor, stop for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use. For the stimulant shelf on its own terms, see the best senna laxatives.
Who should buy it
Only buyers whose doctor has named a softener-plus-stimulant combination.
What we don't like
Easy to buy by mistake as plain Colace; it is a stimulant product with a stimulant's label.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium plus a stimulant laxative (see Drug Facts panel)
- Strength
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Count
- 60
- Form
- Oral tablet
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Cost per unit
- $0.28 ($16.69 divided by 60)
- Label window
- Per the stimulant label
What we like
- A combination product for those whose doctor named one
- Count published
Worth noting
- Contains a stimulant
- Not interchangeable with plain Colace
The Magic Bullet Suppository for Constipation, 10 count
Concepts in Confidence
Docusate in a rectal suppository, the product pharmacists name for structured bowel routines.
Our verdict: The Magic Bullet is the one docusate product here that is not taken by mouth: a suppository, ten to the pack, that pharmacists and rehabilitation clinicians name for bowel routines where a predictable rectal stool softener is wanted. It is a specialist product with a specialist price, about $1.50 each. If a clinician named it, this is the listing; if not, it is not a general-purpose alternative to a capsule.
Verified: Labeled active: docusate sodium, rectal suppository, 10 per pack per the listing title. Strength not on the listing title. Live at $14.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The rectal docusate. The Magic Bullet Suppository delivers docusate sodium as a rectal suppository, 10 per pack. The listing title does not state the strength; the Drug Facts panel does. It is made by Concepts in Confidence and is a product clinicians name for structured bowel programs rather than one people find on a pharmacy shelf.
Read the panel for directions; follow the clinician's instruction where one has been given. Stop lines apply. The full write-up, including how it differs from a glycerin suppository, is the Magic Bullet suppository review.
Who should buy it
People whose clinician has named a docusate suppository for a bowel routine.
What we don't like
A specialist product at about $1.50 each, with the strength on the panel rather than the listing.
- Active ingredient
- Docusate sodium
- Strength
- Not on the listing title
- Count
- 10
- Form
- Rectal suppository
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Cost per unit
- $1.50 ($14.99 divided by 10)
- Packaging
- Pack of 10
What we like
- The rectal docusate clinicians name
- Count published
Worth noting
- About $1.50 each
- Strength not on the title
- Specialist use
What you'll need
The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- Colace Stool Softener, 100 mg, 60 capsulesBest OverallColace · $16.39Check price on Amazon
- Kirkland Signature Stool Softener 100 mg, 400 softgelsBest ValueKirkland Signature · $12.50Check price on Amazon
- Amazon Basics Stool Softener, Docusate Sodium 100 mg, 100 softgelsBest Small GenericAmazon Basics · $3.09Check price on Amazon
- Dulcolax Stool Softener Liquid Gel CapsulesBest Brand Liquid GelDulcolax · $5.98Check price on Amazon
- Colace Extra Strength Stool Softener, 250 mg, 60 capsulesBest Higher StrengthColace · $22.97Check price on Amazon
- Colace Clear Stool Softener Soft Gel Capsules, 60 countBest Dye-Free OptionColace · $17.13Check price on Amazon
- Colace 2-in-1 Stool Softener Plus Stimulant Laxative Tablets, 60 countSoftener Plus Stimulant (Read the Label)Colace · $16.69Check price on Amazon
- The Magic Bullet Suppository for Constipation, 10 countThe Docusate SuppositoryConcepts in Confidence · $14.99Check price on Amazon
How we chose
Every docusate sodium product in our verified Amazon catalog is on this page, oral and rectal. For each we recorded the active, the strength where the listing title or label states it, the count where the title states it, the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API, and cost per unit only where both price and count are published, with the division shown. Because docusate 100 mg is the same medicine whatever the box says, the ranking puts the reference brand first for a first-time buyer, then the identical-strength generics on cost per dose, then the products whose strength or formulation differs and therefore carry a different label.
Compliance: docusate is an OTC drug and we quote each label's Uses and Directions only. Docusate labels direct by age, with a separate line for children 2 to under 12 and ask a doctor under 2; we describe that structure and do not restate capsule counts, because the 100 mg and 250 mg labels differ and the box is the authority. Every card carries the 12 to 72 hour window, the ask-a-doctor-if-taking-mineral-oil line, the 1 week line, and the stop lines. The 2-in-1 product contains a stimulant laxative and is described with a stimulant's cautions. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy, and nothing here is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement.
Questions, answered
What is the best stool softener?
Colace Stool Softener, 100 mg, 60 capsules, at $16.39 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 27 cents a capsule. It is the reference docusate sodium brand with a clear by-age label and a 12 to 72 hour window. For the same 100 mg at about 3 cents, Kirkland Signature (400 for $12.50) and Amazon Basics (100 for $3.09) are the generics.
How long does a stool softener take to work?
Every docusate label states that it generally produces a bowel movement in 12 to 72 hours. It softens stool gradually as it forms; it is not a fast laxative. If there is no bowel movement after use, the label says stop and ask a doctor.
Is a stool softener the same as a laxative?
The label calls docusate a stool softener laxative, but it works differently from a stimulant, a saline or an osmotic laxative. Docusate is a surfactant that lets water into the stool over days; it does not stimulate the bowel or draw water in quickly. That is why it is the product named for avoiding strain and for recurring hard stool rather than for immediate relief.
How often can you take docusate?
The label gives directions by age, with a separate line for children 2 to under 12 and ask a doctor under 2, and says not to use for more than 1 week unless a doctor directs. We do not restate capsule counts because the 100 mg and 250 mg labels differ; read the box.
Can I take a stool softener with mineral oil?
Docusate labels say ask a doctor before use if you are taking mineral oil. Do not combine them on your own.
Is Colace 2-in-1 a stool softener?
It contains docusate, but it also contains a stimulant laxative, and its label carries a stimulant's directions and warnings: occasional use, not more than 1 week, cramps as a possible effect. It is not interchangeable with plain Colace. Buy it only if a doctor has named a softener-plus-stimulant combination.
What is the Magic Bullet suppository?
Docusate sodium in a rectal suppository, 10 per pack, made by Concepts in Confidence. It is a product clinicians name for structured bowel routines rather than a general alternative to a capsule, and at about $1.50 each it is priced accordingly.
Can I take a stool softener while pregnant?
The label says that if you are pregnant or breast-feeding you should ask a health professional before use. Docusate is frequently the product a doctor names in that conversation, and the conversation comes first.
Filed under Buyer's Guide
Keep reading
Colace Review
Every Colace product, 100 mg, Extra Strength, Clear and 2-in-1, on one page.
Suppository vs Oral Laxative
When 12 to 72 hours is fine and when you need the rectal route.
Best Osmotic Laxatives (2026)
MiraLAX, ClearLax and the saline products for the longer run.
Magic Bullet Suppository Review
The docusate suppository on its own terms.

















