Our Pick: Preparation H

Check price on Amazon →

Best Lidocaine Hemorrhoid Creams (2026): Preparation H, Doctor Butler's and Curist Compared

Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, at $26.58 if you want the name brand in a small tube; buy Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine, 6 oz, at $24.00 if you want the same class of product at about $4.00 an ounce. Lidocaine is the OTC active a label may describe as relieving hemorrhoid pain, and this page ranks every credible tube, ointment, packet and wipe that carries it. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~13 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 ozBest Overall

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz

Preparation H · 4.5

$26.58

Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentUpgrade Pick

Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's · 4.4

$29.99

Buy Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, at $26.58 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). When the complaint is pain, on the toilet and after, rather than itching, lidocaine is the active the Drug Facts label describes as relieving it, and this is the name-brand tube: lidocaine stated in the title, the full active set on the panel, 1 oz for a single episode. If you would rather have six times the cream for less money, Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream states 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in a 6 oz tube at $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce ($24.00 divided by 6), and it is the value pick by a wide margin.

Lidocaine is a local anesthetic, and on the OTC hemorrhoidal shelf its labeled use is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning. It does not shrink swollen tissue (that is phenylephrine) and it does not tighten or cool irritated skin (that is witch hazel). What it does is numb, which for the episode where a bowel movement hurts is the thing that matters most. Most lidocaine hemorrhoid products pair it with phenylephrine, so one tube carries both the pain line and the swollen-tissue line, and both actives' warning blocks. This page ranks six: three from Doctor Butler's, the brand built around lidocaine and fissures; two from Preparation H, a cream and a wipe; and Curist, the only tube here that prints its lidocaine percentage on the listing. One lidocaine product in our catalog is deliberately absent: Good Clean Love's lidocaine gel is a vaginal product, not a hemorrhoid one, and it belongs on the women's desk.

The rules on this shelf. Every product here is an OTC drug with a Drug Facts panel, and lidocaine's panel carries lines the plain hemorrhoid creams do not: do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas; for external use only; and stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or symptoms last more than 7 days. Where phenylephrine is also present, add: ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription for high blood pressure or depression. Every label says children under 12 ask a doctor, stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, and if pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional before use. Numbing a symptom is not the same as resolving its cause; the 7 day line exists because pain that lidocaine keeps masking is pain a doctor should see. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, no brand paid for a placement, and if you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Preparation H Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, $26.58 at our September 5, 2026 check. The name-brand lidocaine tube, sized for one episode.
  • Best value by far: Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine stated in the title, 6 oz for $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce.
  • The specialist line: Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment ($19.99), its Advanced version ($29.99), and 12 to-go packets ($25.95, about $2.16 each); sizes not published on the tube listings.
  • For pain on wiping: Preparation H Rapid Relief Wipes with Lidocaine, $24.99, the only wipe here; count not published.
  • Lidocaine's own label lines: not in large quantities, not over raw or blistered skin, and stop and ask a doctor if pain lasts beyond 7 days. Where phenylephrine is also present, its heart and blood pressure lines apply too.

At a glance

ProductActives (per title)FormatSize or countCost per oz or usePrice (9/5/26)Check price
Preparation H Cream with LidocaineLidocaine; full set on panelCream1 oz$26.58 per oz$26.58Check price on Amazon
Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid CreamLidocaine 5%, phenylephrineCream6 oz (170 g)$4.00 per oz$24.00Check price on Amazon
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentLidocaine, phenylephrine HClOintmentNot publishedn/a$19.99Check price on Amazon
Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentLidocaine (per title)OintmentNot publishedn/a$29.99Check price on Amazon
Doctor Butler's Maximum Strength Ointment, 12 packetsPer panel; maximum strength per titleSingle-use packets12$2.16 per packet$25.95Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Rapid Relief Wipes with LidocaineLidocaineWipeNot publishedn/a$24.99Check price on Amazon

The six lidocaine products on this page. Actives and percentages are as stated on the listing title; where the title states no size or count, we say so and compute no cost per ounce or per use. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Our PickBest Name-Brand Lidocaine Cream
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz

Preparation H

The reference brand's lidocaine cream, 1 oz, sized for one episode and priced like a name brand.

4.5

Our verdict: This is the lidocaine tube most pharmacists point to, because it is Preparation H and because a 1 oz tube matches a 7 day episode. Lidocaine is on the title, the rest of the actives are on the panel, and the label covers pain, itching and burning. It is also $26.58 an ounce, which is the most expensive cream on the page by a wide margin. Buy it for the brand and the size; buy Curist if you want volume.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: lidocaine (local anesthetic); the Drug Facts panel lists the full active set and percentages, not stated on the title. 1 oz tube per the title. Live at $26.58 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The name brand's answer to pain. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz states lidocaine in the title; the Drug Facts panel lists the full active set and percentages, which the listing does not. Lidocaine's Uses line is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning, and that is the reason to buy this tube over the standard Preparation H cream: when a bowel movement hurts and the hours after it hurt, numbing is the labeled answer. Directions are the hemorrhoidal standard: adults, apply up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor.

The price, stated plainly: $26.58 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) for 1 oz is $26.58 an ounce. Curist, below, is about $4.00 an ounce with a stated 5% lidocaine. A 1 oz tube is the right amount for a 7 day episode, so the small size is a feature, but the per-ounce gap is real and we are not going to pretend otherwise.

Lidocaine's own lines: do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas; for external use only; stop and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or symptoms last more than 7 days. If the panel lists phenylephrine, its heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid, diabetes and enlarged prostate ask-a-doctor conditions apply too. Bleeding means stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional first. The non-lidocaine Preparation H tubes are ranked in the best hemorrhoid creams.

Who should buy it

Buy the Preparation H lidocaine cream if pain is the main symptom, you want the name brand, and a 1 oz tube covers the episode; it is the tube to keep in a bag rather than buy in volume.

What we don't like

$26.58 an ounce, more than six times Curist's per-ounce price, and the listing title states only lidocaine, not the full active set or any percentage.

Active ingredients
Lidocaine (per the listing title); full set on the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
1 oz
Form
Cream, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per ounce
$26.58 ($26.58 divided by 1)
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Lidocaine for pain from the reference brand
  • 1 oz matches a 7 day episode
  • A panel any pharmacist recognizes

Worth noting

  • $26.58 an ounce, the highest here
  • No percentage stated on the listing title
Best ValueBest Value (5% Lidocaine, 6 oz)
Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 oz

Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 oz

Curist

The only tube that prints its lidocaine percentage, 5%, with phenylephrine, in 6 oz for about $4.00 an ounce.

4.5

Our verdict: Curist is the one product on this page whose listing states both the lidocaine percentage and the size, and the numbers are the whole argument: 5% lidocaine, the top of the OTC range, with phenylephrine, in 6 oz for $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce. That is roughly a sixth of Preparation H per ounce. Six ounces is more than an episode needs and a 5% product in that volume makes the large-quantity caution worth rereading, but on value nothing here is close.

Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine. 6 oz (170 g) tube per the title. Live at $24.00 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The tube with its numbers on the listing. Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream states 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in its title, along with 6 oz (170 g). Five percent is as much lidocaine as an OTC external product carries, and pairing it with phenylephrine gives the tube both the pain line and the swollen-tissue line on its Uses panel. The title also names fissures, which is why it is the second pick in the best anal fissure treatments. Directions: adults, up to 4 times daily; under 12, ask a doctor.

The math: $24.00 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) divided by 6 oz is $4.00 an ounce. Preparation H's lidocaine cream is $26.58 an ounce. Doctor Butler's does not publish a size, so we cannot place it. If you already know you need lidocaine and phenylephrine together, Curist is the buy; if you are not sure a 6 oz tube will ever be finished, it will not be, and that is fine at this price.

Both warning blocks apply and the volume makes them matter: lidocaine's do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and phenylephrine's ask a doctor before use for heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, or a prescription for blood pressure or depression. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first.

Who should buy it

Buy Curist if you want lidocaine and phenylephrine together with the percentage and size printed on the listing, and you would rather own one large tube at $4.00 an ounce than a small one at $26.58.

What we don't like

Six ounces of a 5% lidocaine cream is far more than a 7 day episode uses and makes the large-quantity caution worth taking seriously, and it is a newer brand with less shelf history.

Active ingredients
Lidocaine 5% (local anesthetic), phenylephrine (vasoconstrictor), per the listing title
Strength
Lidocaine 5% per the title; phenylephrine percentage on the panel
Size
6 oz (170 g)
Form
Cream, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per ounce
$4.00 ($24.00 divided by 6)
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • 5% lidocaine stated on the listing, the only tube here that prints it
  • About $4.00 an ounce
  • Phenylephrine in the same tube
  • Fissures named on the title

Worth noting

  • Far more than one episode uses
  • Both actives' warning lists apply
  • Newer brand
Best Specialist Ointment
Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's

Lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl in a petrolatum-base ointment from the brand built around them.

4.6

Our verdict: Doctor Butler's is a proctologist's brand, and its original ointment is lidocaine and phenylephrine in an ointment base that stays on the skin. It is the tube that leads our fissure guide for that pairing. The listing does not state the size, so there is no cost per ounce, and at $19.99 it sits between Curist and Preparation H in price. Buy it for the ointment base and the specialist label; buy Curist if you want the math.

Verified: Labeled actives per the listing title: lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl. Titled as a hemorrhoid and fissure ointment. Size not stated on the listing title, so no cost per ounce. Live at $19.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The specialist's tube. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment states lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl in the listing title and names fissures alongside hemorrhoids. The base is an ointment, which does not absorb the way a cream does and keeps a film on the skin through the next bowel movement, and that combination, an anesthetic that stays put, is why the brand has the following it does. Directions are the hemorrhoidal standard: adults up to 4 times daily; under 12, ask a doctor.

What is not published: the size. The Amazon title does not state the ounces, so we compute no cost per ounce and cannot place it against Curist's $4.00 or Preparation H's $26.58. At $19.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is the cheapest tube on the page by sticker; whether it is cheap per ounce is a number the listing does not give.

Both warning blocks apply: lidocaine's caution against large quantities and raw or blistered skin, and phenylephrine's ask-a-doctor conditions for heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate and prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression. Stop and ask a doctor for bleeding, worsening, or no improvement in 7 days; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The whole line, including the spray and wipes without lidocaine, is covered in the Doctor Butler's review.

Who should buy it

Buy the original Doctor Butler's ointment if you want lidocaine and phenylephrine in an ointment base that stays on the skin, and a fissure is part of the picture.

What we don't like

Size not on the listing title, so no cost per ounce, and two actives means two warning lists.

Active ingredients
Lidocaine (local anesthetic), phenylephrine HCl (vasoconstrictor), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
Not published on the listing title
Form
Ointment, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Both actives named on the title
  • Ointment base stays on the skin
  • Fissures named on the title, specialist brand

Worth noting

  • Size not published
  • Both warning lists apply
Upgrade PickBest Advanced Formula
Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment

Doctor Butler's

The Advanced version of the Doctor Butler's ointment, lidocaine on the title, $10 more than the original.

4.4

Our verdict: The Advanced ointment is Doctor Butler's step-up, $10 above the original, with lidocaine on the title and the difference on the panel rather than the listing. We cannot tell you from the title what Advanced adds, and we will not guess. It is the tube for someone who has used the original, wants the brand's fuller formula, and is willing to read the panel to see what changed.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: lidocaine; titled Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, lidocaine hemorrhoid treatment and fissure treatment. Size not stated on the listing title; what Advanced adds is on the panel, not the title. Live at $29.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The step-up, with the change on the box. Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment states lidocaine in the title and describes itself as a lidocaine hemorrhoid treatment and fissure treatment. The title does not state phenylephrine the way the original's does, does not state the size, and does not say what Advanced means; the Drug Facts panel and the ingredient list answer all three, and the honest thing we can say is that the listing does not. At $29.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is $10 above the original and the most expensive Doctor Butler's tube.

How to decide between the two: if you have not used Doctor Butler's before, start with the original, whose title names both actives. If the original worked and you want the fuller formula the brand sells, read the Advanced panel side by side with the original's and pay the $10 for the difference you can see there, not for the word on the box.

Lidocaine's lines apply: not in large quantities, not over raw or blistered skin, stop and ask a doctor if worse or beyond 7 days. If the panel lists phenylephrine, its ask-a-doctor conditions apply too. Bleeding means stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional first.

Who should buy it

Buy the Advanced ointment if the original Doctor Butler's worked for you and you want the brand's fuller formula, after reading the panel to see what the extra $10 buys.

What we don't like

The title states lidocaine and nothing else: no phenylephrine, no size, and no statement of what Advanced adds, so the $10 premium is unexplained by the listing.

Active ingredients
Lidocaine (per the listing title); full set on the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Size
Not published on the listing title
Form
Ointment, tube
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • The brand's fuller formula
  • Lidocaine and fissures named on the title
  • Ointment base

Worth noting

  • What Advanced adds is not on the listing
  • Size not published; $10 above the original
Best Single-Use Packets
Doctor Butler's Maximum Strength Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, 12 to-go packets

Doctor Butler's Maximum Strength Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, 12 to-go packets

Doctor Butler's

Twelve single-use packets of the maximum strength ointment, about $2.16 each, for a bag or a desk.

4.3

Our verdict: The packets solve a problem the tubes do not: applying an anesthetic ointment away from home without carrying a tube. Twelve single-use packets of the brand's maximum strength ointment for $25.95 is about $2.16 a packet, which is expensive per application and correct for what it is. The title states maximum strength and pain relief but not the actives, so read the panel; the brand's other titles say lidocaine, and the panel is where this one does.

Verified: Per the listing title: maximum strength hemorrhoid and fissure ointment, 12 to-go packets, instant pain relief. Actives and percentages on the Drug Facts panel, not stated on the title. 12 count per the title. Live at $25.95 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The travel format. Doctor Butler's Maximum Strength Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, 12 to-go packets put the brand's ointment in single-use sachets, 12 to the box per the title. Each is one application: tear, apply, discard. The title says maximum strength and instant pain relief, and names hemorrhoids and fissures, but does not name the actives; the Drug Facts panel does, and the pain claim is the lidocaine use line. At $25.95 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about $2.16 a packet ($25.95 divided by 12).

When packets beat a tube: at work, in a car, in a hospital bag, anywhere a tube with an applicator tip is awkward to carry or use. Twelve packets at up to 4 applications a day is three days of full use; they are a supplement to a tube at home, not a replacement, and at $2.16 each nobody should use them as the primary supply.

Lidocaine's lines apply: not in large quantities, not over raw or blistered skin, stop and ask a doctor if worse or beyond 7 days. If the panel lists phenylephrine, its ask-a-doctor conditions apply too. Bleeding means stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding means ask a health professional first.

Who should buy it

Buy the packets as the away-from-home supplement to a tube, for a bag, a desk or travel, when a single sealed application is worth $2.16.

What we don't like

About $2.16 an application, actives not stated on the title, and three days of full use per box.

Active ingredients
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Strength
Maximum strength per the title; percentages on the panel
Count
12 single-use packets
Form
Ointment, sachets
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per packet
$2.16 ($25.95 divided by 12)
Packaging
Box of 12

What we like

  • Single-use, sealed, travels anywhere
  • The brand's maximum strength formula
  • Count stated, so the per-use math is real

Worth noting

  • About $2.16 per application
  • Actives not on the listing title
Best Lidocaine Wipe
Preparation H Rapid Relief Hemorrhoid Wipes with Lidocaine

Preparation H Rapid Relief Hemorrhoid Wipes with Lidocaine

Preparation H

The only wipe with lidocaine, for the episode where wiping itself is the painful part.

4.3

Our verdict: Every other lidocaine product here is applied after cleansing; this one is the cleansing. A wipe with a local anesthetic numbs the skin in the same motion that cleans it, which for the episode where wiping is the worst part of the day is the right tool. The count is not on the listing, so no cost per wipe, and at $24.99 it is expensive for a wipe. It is a pain product; if pain is not the symptom, the witch hazel tubs do the job for 13 cents.

Verified: Labeled active per the listing title: lidocaine (local anesthetic); titled Rapid Relief, numbing relief for swelling, pain, burning and itching. Count not stated on the listing title, so no cost per wipe. Live at $24.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Numbing, in the cleansing step. Preparation H Rapid Relief Hemorrhoid Wipes with Lidocaine state lidocaine in the title, and the title's use line runs to swelling, pain, burning and itching. Lidocaine's Drug Facts use is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning, and a wipe delivers it to the skin that hurts before anything else touches it. The witch hazel label's direction to cleanse before a topical treatment applies here too: wipe, then cream or ointment.

What is not published: the count. At $24.99 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) we cannot compute a cost per wipe. What we can say is that it is a lidocaine product used after every bowel movement, which is exactly the pattern the label's large-quantity caution is written for, so the up-to-6-times-daily ceiling on wipes is a ceiling.

Lidocaine's lines: not in large quantities, not over raw or blistered skin, for external use only, stop and ask a doctor if worse or beyond 7 days. Under 12, ask a doctor; bleeding, stop and ask a doctor; pregnant or breastfeeding, ask a health professional first. The witch hazel wipes it replaces for people without pain are ranked in the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy the Rapid Relief wipe if wiping itself is painful and you want the anesthetic applied in the cleansing step, before a cream or ointment goes on.

What we don't like

Count not published, expensive for a wipe, and a lidocaine product used after every bowel movement is the use pattern the large-quantity caution is written for.

Active ingredient
Lidocaine (local anesthetic), per the listing title
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel; not stated on the listing title
Count
Not published on the listing title
Form
Medicated wipe
Label ages
Adults; under 12 ask a doctor
Packaging
Pack

What we like

  • The only lidocaine wipe
  • Numbs in the cleansing step
  • Preparation H label

Worth noting

  • Count not published
  • Expensive for a wipe
  • Large-quantity caution matters with after-every-movement use

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 ozBest Name-Brand Lidocaine CreamPreparation H · $26.58Check price on Amazon
  2. Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, 5% Lidocaine and Phenylephrine, 6 ozBest Value (5% Lidocaine, 6 oz)Curist · $24.00Check price on Amazon
  3. Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentBest Specialist OintmentDoctor Butler's · $19.99Check price on Amazon
  4. Doctor Butler's Advanced Hemorrhoid & Fissure OintmentBest Advanced FormulaDoctor Butler's · $29.99Check price on Amazon
  5. Doctor Butler's Maximum Strength Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment, 12 to-go packetsBest Single-Use PacketsDoctor Butler's · $25.95Check price on Amazon
  6. Preparation H Rapid Relief Hemorrhoid Wipes with LidocaineBest Lidocaine WipePreparation H · $24.99Check price on Amazon

How we chose

Every product on this page was checked against its Amazon listing and its Drug Facts panel. For each we recorded the actives the title names and any percentage it states, the format, the size or count where the title states it, what the label directs and who it sends to a doctor, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per ounce or per use is computed only where the listing title states both price and size or count, with the division shown; where a title states neither, the table says not published. Only Curist prints a lidocaine percentage on its title, and only Curist gets one here. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: how quickly the numbing is felt, whether a cream stings before it numbs, whether a packet is enough for one application.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote each label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Lidocaine labels say for external use only, do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or symptoms last more than 7 days. Where phenylephrine is present, its ask-a-doctor conditions (heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, enlarged prostate, prescription drugs for blood pressure or depression) apply too. Every label directs adults up to 4 times daily, sends children under 12 to a doctor, says stop and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, and says ask a health professional before use if pregnant or breastfeeding. Good Clean Love's lidocaine gel is a vaginal product and is not ranked here. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw the ranking before publication.

Questions, answered

What is the best lidocaine cream for hemorrhoids?

For a single episode with the name brand, Preparation H Hemorrhoid Symptom Treatment Cream with Lidocaine, 1 oz, at $26.58 at our September 5, 2026 check. For value, Curist Fissure Hemorrhoid Cream, which states 5% lidocaine and phenylephrine in a 6 oz tube at $24.00, about $4.00 an ounce. For an ointment base that stays on the skin, Doctor Butler's Hemorrhoid & Fissure Ointment at $19.99, lidocaine and phenylephrine HCl on the title.

Does lidocaine shrink hemorrhoids?

No. Lidocaine is a local anesthetic, and its labeled use is temporary relief of pain, itching and burning. Shrinking swollen hemorrhoidal tissue is phenylephrine's labeled use, which is why most lidocaine hemorrhoid creams (Curist, Doctor Butler's original, and Preparation H's per its panel) pair the two. A lidocaine-only product numbs and does nothing to the swelling.

How often can you use lidocaine hemorrhoid cream?

The Drug Facts label directs adults to apply up to 4 times daily, especially at night, in the morning and after each bowel movement, and sends children under 12 to a doctor. The lidocaine panel adds: do not use in large quantities, particularly over raw surfaces or blistered areas, and stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or symptoms last more than 7 days.

Which hemorrhoid cream has the most lidocaine?

Among products that state a percentage on the listing, Curist, at 5%, which is the top of the OTC external range. Preparation H's lidocaine cream and the Doctor Butler's ointments do not state a percentage on their Amazon titles; the Drug Facts panel on each box does. We report only what the listing or the panel states and do not guess.

Can I use lidocaine hemorrhoid cream if I have high blood pressure?

The lidocaine itself does not carry that line, but most lidocaine hemorrhoid creams also contain phenylephrine, and phenylephrine's panel says ask a doctor before use if you have high blood pressure, heart disease, thyroid disease, diabetes or difficulty urinating due to an enlarged prostate, and ask a doctor or pharmacist if you take a prescription for high blood pressure or depression. Curist and Doctor Butler's original state phenylephrine on their titles; read the panel on any lidocaine product before assuming it is lidocaine only.

Is lidocaine cream good for anal fissures?

Lidocaine's label is pain relief, and pain is the fissure's defining symptom, which is why Curist and Doctor Butler's name fissures on their titles. A fissure that bleeds or persists beyond a week is the label's stop line and a reason to see a doctor, who has prescription options an OTC cream cannot match. Our best anal fissure treatments guide covers the OTC shelf and where its limits are.

Why is Good Clean Love's lidocaine gel not on this page?

Because it is a vaginal product, labeled for vaginal pain and itch, not a hemorrhoid product. It belongs on the women's desk pages, and a hemorrhoid page that listed it would be recommending a product for a use its label does not cover.

What if the pain lasts more than a week?

Stop and ask a doctor; that line is on every lidocaine and hemorrhoid label. On a numbing product it matters more than usual, because lidocaine masks pain rather than resolving its cause, and pain that has needed masking for a week is pain a clinician should see.