Boiron HemCalm Review: A Homeopathic Ointment and Tablet, Explained Without the Marketing

HemCalm is homeopathic, and this page says so in the first sentence: its claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. The 1 oz ointment at $7.41 is the one to buy if you want it, and it sits beside a Preparation H ointment at $6.98 and an Amazon Basic Care ointment at $5.21 that carry Drug Facts panels with named OTC actives. The 60 count tablets are about 18 cents each. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~10 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 ozBest Overall

Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz

Boiron · 3.6

$7.41

Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid OintmentBest Value

Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment

Amazon Basic Care · 4.3

$5.21

Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count (pack of 2)Upgrade Pick

Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count (pack of 2)

Boiron · 3.3

$22.02

Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz, at $7.41 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), is a homeopathic ointment, and that word decides everything else on this page. Homeopathic products are labeled under a different framework from the OTC drugs on the rest of the hemorrhoid shelf: their labels state that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. We do not say HemCalm treats, shrinks, heals or cures anything, because nothing on its label or in our standards lets us. What we can tell you is what the listings state, what the box carries, what it costs against the OTC ointments beside it, and who might reasonably choose it anyway.

Boiron sells HemCalm in two forms in our catalog: the 1 oz ointment above, and tablets in a 60 count at $11.01 and a 120 count pack of 2 at $22.02, both about 18 cents a tablet. The listing titles describe all three as for hemorrhoid relief of pain, itching, swelling or discomfort, which is the maker's phrasing under the homeopathic labeling framework; the titles do not name the homeopathic ingredients or their dilutions, and neither do we. The two benchmarks below are ointments that do carry a Drug Facts panel with named OTC actives, Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz at $6.98 and Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment at $5.21.

How we handle this shelf: OTC hemorrhoidal drugs get their Drug Facts Uses and Directions quoted and nothing beyond them; homeopathic products get described as homeopathic, with their own label language, and never with a treatment claim. The stop line that applies to any hemorrhoid symptom regardless of what you put on it is the one the OTC labels print: rectal bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and see a doctor. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use of anything on this page. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand has paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • HemCalm is homeopathic. Its label's claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. We do not say it treats anything.
  • If you want it anyway, the 1 oz ointment at $7.41 (September 5, 2026 check) is the form to buy; the 60 count tablets at $11.01 and the 120 count at $22.02 are both about 18 cents a tablet.
  • The listing titles do not name the homeopathic ingredients or dilutions; the box does. Read it before use.
  • For an ointment with a Drug Facts panel and named OTC actives at a similar price, Preparation H Ointment 1 oz is $6.98 and Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment is $5.21.
  • Bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and see a doctor, whichever product you chose. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional first.

At a glance

ProductFrameworkActives or ingredientsSize or countCost per usePrice (9/5/26)Check price
Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 ozHomeopathicNot named on the listing; see box1 ozNot computable$7.41Check price on Amazon
Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 60 ctHomeopathicNot named on the listing; see box60$0.18$11.01Check price on Amazon
Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 ct (pack of 2)HomeopathicNot named on the listing; see box120$0.18$22.02Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 ozOTC drug, Drug FactsPer the tube's panel1 ozNot computable$6.98Check price on Amazon
Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid OintmentOTC drug, Drug FactsPer the tube's panelNot publishedNot computable$5.21Check price on Amazon

The three HemCalm listings and two OTC ointment benchmarks. HemCalm is homeopathic and its ingredients are not named on the listing titles; the benchmarks carry Drug Facts panels. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per use computed only where the listing states a count.

Our PickThe HemCalm to Buy, If You Buy HemCalm
Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz

Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz

Boiron

A homeopathic ointment from the largest homeopathic maker, 1 oz for $7.41, no treatment claim from us.

3.6

Our verdict: If you have decided you want a homeopathic hemorrhoid product, this is the form to buy: a 1 oz tube from Boiron, the largest homeopathic maker, at $7.41. We describe it as homeopathic and stop there. For an ointment with named OTC actives at the same price, the two benchmarks below are where we would spend the money.

Verified: Listing: Boiron HemCalm Ointment for Hemorrhoid Relief of Pain, Itching, Swelling or Discomfort, 1 oz. Homeopathic; ingredients and dilutions are on the box, not the listing title. Live at $7.41 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 oz is a homeopathic ointment. The listing title states the size, 1 oz, and the maker's phrasing, hemorrhoid relief of pain, itching, swelling or discomfort; it does not name the homeopathic ingredients or their dilutions, and those are printed on the box by Latin name. Homeopathic products are labeled under a framework separate from OTC drugs, and their labels state that the claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. At $7.41 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it costs 43 cents more than the Preparation H ointment in the same size.

What we will and will not say: we will say it is homeopathic, that Boiron is a large and long-established homeopathic maker, that the tube is an ounce, and what it costs. We will not say it treats, shrinks, heals or relieves anything, because that is a claim its labeling framework does not let us make and our standards do not let us repeat. If that is the answer you needed, the rest of this card is about what to do instead.

Who reasonably buys it. Someone who has read the above and prefers a homeopathic product on principle, or someone the phenylephrine ask-a-doctor list on the OTC ointments has sent looking for a product without OTC actives. For that second person, a witch hazel pad such as Tucks is an OTC astringent with no vasoconstrictor at about 8 cents a pad, and a protectant-only suppository such as Calmol 4 is the internal option; both are ranked at the best hemorrhoid creams and the best hemorrhoid suppositories. Whatever you choose: rectal bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means see a doctor.

Who should buy it

Buy the HemCalm ointment if you want a homeopathic product specifically and understand what that label framework does and does not state. Otherwise buy a benchmark with a Drug Facts panel.

What we don't like

It is homeopathic, so no Drug Facts uses we can quote, no named actives on the listing, and no claim we can make for it. It costs more than the Preparation H ointment in the same size.

Framework
Homeopathic; claims based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, not FDA evaluated
Ingredients
Not named on the listing title; printed on the box by Latin name with dilutions
Size or count
1 oz
Form
Ointment, external
Label directions
Per the box
Cost per use
Not computable
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Largest homeopathic maker
  • Stated 1 oz size
  • No OTC vasoconstrictor or anesthetic

Worth noting

  • Homeopathic: no treatment claim possible
  • Ingredients not on the listing
  • More than Preparation H ointment in the same size
The Tablet Form
Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 60 count

Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 60 count

Boiron

The homeopathic tablet, 60 for $11.01, about 18 cents each, same framework as the ointment.

3.4

Our verdict: The same homeopathic framework in a tablet taken by mouth. Sixty for $11.01 is about 18 cents a tablet ($11.01 divided by 60). Everything said about the ointment applies; the only difference is the route, and an oral homeopathic tablet has no OTC counterpart on this shelf to benchmark against.

Verified: Listing: Boiron HemCalm Tablets for Hemorrhoid Relief of Pain, Itching, Swelling or Discomfort, 60 count. Homeopathic; ingredients on the box. Live at $11.01 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 60 count is the oral form of HemCalm, a homeopathic tablet. The listing title states the count and the maker's phrasing and does not name the ingredients or dilutions, which the box prints. At $11.01 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) each tablet is about 18 cents ($11.01 divided by 60). The label framework is the same as the ointment: claims based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, not FDA evaluated.

No benchmark exists for this one. Every OTC hemorrhoidal drug in our catalog is applied externally or inserted; there is no oral OTC hemorrhoid drug to compare a tablet against. That is worth pausing on. If you want an oral product, the box's directions are the only directions, and the 7 day rule the OTC labels print is still the sensible stop: no improvement in a week, or any bleeding, means a doctor.

Who should buy it

Buy the tablets if you want the homeopathic product in an oral form and understand the framework it is labeled under.

What we don't like

Homeopathic, no claim we can make, ingredients not on the listing, and no OTC benchmark exists for an oral hemorrhoid product.

Framework
Homeopathic; claims based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, not FDA evaluated
Ingredients
Not named on the listing title; printed on the box
Size or count
60 tablets
Form
Oral tablet
Label directions
Per the box
Cost per use
$0.18 ($11.01 divided by 60)
Packaging
Bottle or blister per the box

What we like

  • Stated count, so a real per-tablet price
  • Oral form for people who want no topical product

Worth noting

  • Homeopathic: no treatment claim possible
  • No OTC benchmark for an oral hemorrhoid product
Upgrade PickThe Tablet Two-Pack
Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count (pack of 2)

Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count (pack of 2)

Boiron

Two bottles for exactly twice the price, about 18 cents a tablet, no bundle saving.

3.3

Our verdict: Two 60 count bottles for $22.02, which is $11.01 times two to the cent, so about 18 cents a tablet ($22.02 divided by 120) and no saving over buying singles. There is no reason to choose it over two single bottles except a single checkout.

Verified: Listing: Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count (pack of 2). Homeopathic; ingredients on the box. Live at $22.02 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. The Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count pack of 2 is the 60 count sold twice. At $22.02 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the per-tablet cost is about 18 cents ($22.02 divided by 120), identical to the single bottle. Same homeopathic framework, same unnamed ingredients on the listing, same directions on the box.

A hundred and twenty of anything for a symptom whose OTC labels say to see a doctor after 7 days is a lot. Check the printed date, and if you are reordering tablets for a recurring problem, the recurrence is the thing to raise with a clinician. Do suppositories expire explains printed dates on this shelf generally.

Who should buy it

Buy the pack of 2 only if you already use the tablets and prefer one checkout; there is no price advantage.

What we don't like

No bundle saving, and a quantity that outruns the 7 day stop line by a wide margin.

Framework
Homeopathic; claims based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, not FDA evaluated
Ingredients
Not named on the listing title; printed on the box
Size or count
120 tablets (pack of 2)
Form
Oral tablet
Label directions
Per the box
Cost per use
$0.18 ($22.02 divided by 120)
Packaging
Two bottles

What we like

  • One checkout for two bottles
  • Same tablet and label as the single bottle

Worth noting

  • Exactly twice the single price, no saving
  • Far more than a 7 day course
Benchmark: The OTC Ointment at the Same Size
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz

Preparation H

An OTC ointment with a Drug Facts panel, the same 1 oz, for 43 cents less than HemCalm.

4.5

Our verdict: The like-for-like benchmark: an ounce of ointment from the pharmacy name, with a Drug Facts panel that states named OTC actives and quotable uses, at $6.98. That is 43 cents less than HemCalm for a product whose label framework lets it state what it is for. This is where we would spend the money.

Verified: Listing: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, Itching, Burning and Discomfort Relief, 1 oz tube. OTC drug; actives on the tube's Drug Facts panel. Live at $6.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 oz is the OTC ointment in the same size as HemCalm. It is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel; the listing title states its purpose as itching, burning and discomfort relief, and the panel on the tube states the actives and percentages, which the listing title does not print. At $6.98 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is cheaper than HemCalm by 43 cents.

What a Drug Facts panel gives you that a homeopathic label does not: named actives with a stated purpose, uses evaluated under the OTC monograph system, directions with a daily cap, an age line (under 12, ask a doctor), and the stop line: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. If the panel lists phenylephrine, its ask-a-doctor list applies; read the tube. The wider ointment and cream field is at the best hemorrhoid creams, and the brand's line at the Preparation H suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Buy the Preparation H ointment instead of HemCalm if you want an ounce of ointment whose label can state what it is for, from a pharmacy name, for less money.

What we don't like

The listing title does not print the actives, so you read them on the tube, and a 1 oz tube is small if shared.

Framework
OTC drug, Drug Facts panel
Active ingredients
On the tube's Drug Facts panel; not printed on the listing title
Size or count
1 oz
Form
Ointment, external
Label directions
External use per the panel; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
Not computable
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Drug Facts panel with named actives
  • Same 1 oz size, 43 cents less
  • Pharmacy name

Worth noting

  • Actives not printed on the listing
  • Small tube
Best ValueBenchmark: The Value OTC Ointment
Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment

Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment

Amazon Basic Care

The store-brand OTC ointment with a Drug Facts panel, $5.21, the cheapest tube on the page.

4.3

Our verdict: The cheapest tube on the page, and an OTC drug with a Drug Facts panel rather than a homeopathic label. The listing does not publish the size, so we cannot compare it per ounce; it does publish the maker's purpose line, and the tube publishes the actives. For a buyer choosing on price, this beats HemCalm by $2.20.

Verified: Listing: Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment, fast-acting pain relief, relieves burning, itching, swelling and discomfort. OTC drug; actives on the tube's Drug Facts panel; size not published on the listing title. Live at $5.21 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid Ointment is the store-brand OTC ointment. The listing title states its purpose in the maker's words, fast-acting pain relief for burning, itching, swelling and discomfort; the size is not published on the title, and the actives and percentages are on the tube's Drug Facts panel. At $5.21 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) it is the least expensive product on this page.

Store brand, same rules: a Drug Facts panel is a Drug Facts panel. The uses, directions, under 12 line, 7 day stop line and pregnancy line are quoted from it the same way as from a pharmacy name's, and if the panel lists phenylephrine or an anesthetic, the corresponding warnings apply. What the listing does not give you is a size, so value per ounce against the 1 oz Preparation H tube cannot be computed from the listing. Read the tube.

Who should buy it

Buy the Amazon Basic Care ointment if price is the deciding factor and you want an OTC product with a Drug Facts panel rather than a homeopathic label.

What we don't like

Size not published on the listing, actives not on the title, and a store brand's distribution is Amazon only.

Framework
OTC drug, Drug Facts panel
Active ingredients
On the tube's Drug Facts panel; not printed on the listing title
Size or count
Not published on the listing
Form
Ointment, external
Label directions
External use per the panel; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
Not computable
Packaging
Tube

What we like

  • Cheapest tube on the page at $5.21
  • Drug Facts panel with named actives

Worth noting

  • Size not published
  • Amazon-only distribution

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Boiron HemCalm Ointment, 1 ozThe HemCalm to Buy, If You Buy HemCalmBoiron · $7.41Check price on Amazon
  2. Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 60 countThe Tablet FormBoiron · $11.01Check price on Amazon
  3. Boiron HemCalm Tablets, 120 count (pack of 2)The Tablet Two-PackBoiron · $22.02Check price on Amazon
  4. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Ointment, 1 ozBenchmark: The OTC Ointment at the Same SizePreparation H · $6.98Check price on Amazon
  5. Amazon Basic Care Hemorrhoid OintmentBenchmark: The Value OTC OintmentAmazon Basic Care · $5.21Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This review is built on the listing titles, the label framework each product is sold under, and the live price. For each SKU we recorded whether it is an OTC drug with a Drug Facts panel or a homeopathic product, the actives or ingredients where the title or panel states them, the size or count where the title states it, and the Amazon price on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per use is shown only where the listing states a count, with the division shown. Where a listing title does not name ingredients, we write not named and point to the box rather than guessing; that applies to all three HemCalm listings. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: tube texture, tablet dissolution, and whether the tube lasts.

Compliance for this shelf: OTC hemorrhoidal drugs get their Uses and Directions quoted and nothing beyond them, with the shelf's stop line (bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and ask a doctor), the under 12 ask-a-doctor line, and the pregnancy line (ask a health professional before use). Homeopathic products are described as homeopathic, in structure-and-comfort language only, and never with a treatment, cure or prevention claim; their labels state that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw this review before publication.

Questions, answered

Is Boiron HemCalm homeopathic?

Yes. HemCalm is a homeopathic product, and its label states that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. We describe it as homeopathic and do not say it treats anything.

What are the ingredients in HemCalm?

The listing titles do not name them. Homeopathic labels print the ingredients by Latin name with a dilution figure on the box, and that is where to read them. We do not list ingredients a listing does not state.

Does HemCalm work for hemorrhoids?

We cannot say that it does, and we do not. Its label framework states the claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice rather than accepted medical evidence and are not FDA evaluated. Products with a Drug Facts panel, such as the Preparation H and Amazon Basic Care ointments on this page, are the ones whose labels state uses we can quote.

HemCalm ointment or tablets: which should I buy?

If you buy HemCalm, the 1 oz ointment at $7.41 (September 5, 2026 check) is the form with an OTC counterpart to compare against. The tablets are oral, at about 18 cents each in both the 60 and 120 count, and there is no OTC oral hemorrhoid drug to benchmark them against.

Is HemCalm cheaper than Preparation H?

No. At our September 5, 2026 check the HemCalm ointment was $7.41 for 1 oz and the Preparation H ointment was $6.98 for 1 oz; the Amazon Basic Care ointment was $5.21 with no size published on the listing.

Can I use HemCalm during pregnancy?

Ask a health professional before use, which is the line every hemorrhoid product label on this shelf carries. We do not go beyond it for any product, homeopathic or OTC.

When should I see a doctor instead of buying anything?

The OTC labels on this shelf print the answer: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. Rectal bleeding in particular is not something any product here is labeled to manage.