Tucks Pads Review: The Witch Hazel Pad, and Whether the Kit or the Wipes Beat It

Buy the 100 count jar at $7.68, about 8 cents a pad. Witch hazel is the labeled astringent, the pad is for external use only, and the label allows up to 6 uses a day or one after each bowel movement, with children under 12 sent to a doctor. The Multi-Care kit adds a half-ounce cream for $9.66; Preparation H wipes and DUDE wipes are the flushable benchmarks at about 13 to 14 cents each. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~9 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 countBest Overall

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks · 4.7

$7.68

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBest Value

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H · 4.5

$6.34

DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, Witch Hazel, 144 countUpgrade Pick

DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, Witch Hazel, 144 count

DUDE Wipes · 4.3

$19.66

Buy Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, at $7.68 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), about 8 cents a pad ($7.68 divided by 100). It is the witch hazel pad every other pad and wipe on this shelf is measured against, and at 8 cents it is the cheapest per use of anything in our hemorrhoid catalog from a Tier A brand. The Drug Facts panel lists witch hazel as the astringent, the pad is labeled for external use only, and the directions allow up to 6 applications daily or one after each bowel movement. If you want a cream in the same box, the Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit at $9.66 bundles 40 pads with a 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream.

A pad is not a suppository, and this is a suppository site, so here is where Tucks fits. Suppositories are labeled for rectal use, which is internal. Pads and wipes are labeled for external use: the itching, burning and irritation around the opening, and the cleanse-and-dry step that nearly every suppository label directs before insertion. Most people who buy a hemorrhoidal suppository end up buying a pad or wipe beside it, and Tucks is the one they buy. The two benchmarks below are the flushable wipe alternatives, Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel and DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Wipes; Tucks pads are not labeled flushable, and that is the main practical difference.

This is an over-the-counter drug with a Drug Facts panel, and we quote it rather than improvise around it. The uses on a witch hazel pad panel are temporary relief of the external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids, and, when practical, cleansing the area. Directions: adults, cleanse the affected area with mild soap and warm water and rinse thoroughly when practical, gently dry by patting or blotting, then apply the pad externally to the affected area up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; children under 12, ask a doctor. Stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand has paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count, $7.68 at our September 5, 2026 check, about 8 cents a pad. Witch hazel astringent, external use only, up to 6 a day on the label.
  • The Multi-Care Relief Kit at $9.66 is 40 pads plus a 0.5 oz cream; the pads alone are about 24 cents each in that box, so buy the kit for the cream, not the pads.
  • Tucks pads are not labeled flushable. Preparation H flushable wipes (about 13 cents each) and DUDE Wipes hemorrhoid wipes (about 14 cents each) are the benchmarks if flushing matters.
  • External use only: a pad does what a suppository is not labeled for, and vice versa. Most buyers keep both.
  • Bleeding, worsening, or no improvement within 7 days means stop and ask a doctor. Children under 12, ask a doctor. Pregnant or postpartum, ask a health professional before use; witch hazel pads are common postpartum, but the label decides.

At a glance

ProductActive (per label)CountCost per useFlushable?Price (9/5/26)Check price
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 ctWitch hazel100$0.08No$7.68Check price on Amazon
Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 pads + 0.5 oz creamWitch hazel (pads); cream per its panel40 pads + 1 cream$0.24 per pad, cream not computableNo$9.66Check price on Amazon
Preparation H Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 ctWitch hazel48$0.13Not stated on the 48 ct listing; 96 ct listing says flushable$6.34Check price on Amazon
DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 ctWitch hazel144$0.14Yes, per listing$19.66Check price on Amazon

Both Tucks SKUs and the two flushable-wipe benchmarks. Actives are as stated on the Drug Facts panel or the listing title. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per use computed only where the listing states both price and count.

Our PickBest Overall
Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count

Tucks

The reference witch hazel pad: external use, up to 6 a day on the label, about 8 cents each.

4.7

Our verdict: This is the pad. A hundred witch hazel pads in a jar at about 8 cents each, a panel with one astringent active and no drug-interaction list, and the cleanse-and-soothe role every suppository label leaves open. Buy it beside whichever suppository you chose; the rest of this page is about the exceptions.

Verified: Labeled active per the Drug Facts panel: witch hazel (astringent). Listing count: 100. Directions: apply externally up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; children under 12 ask a doctor. Live at $7.68 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 count is a jar of one hundred round, pre-moistened cotton pads. The Drug Facts panel lists one active ingredient, witch hazel, labeled as an astringent, and the listing title describes the pads as medicated cooling pads for witch hazel hemorrhoid treatment. The panel's uses are temporary relief of the external itching, burning and irritation associated with hemorrhoids and, when practical, cleansing of the area. It is labeled for external use only. Owners describe the sensation as cooling, which is the listing's own word; we report it as an owner description, not a measurement.

Why it is the pick: at $7.68 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the jar works out to about 8 cents per pad ($7.68 divided by 100), the lowest cost per use of any Tier A product in our hemorrhoid catalog. Nothing else on this page, and nothing else on the shelf, gets you a witch hazel application for a single-digit number of cents.

What the label directs. Adults: when practical, cleanse the affected area with mild soap and warm water and rinse thoroughly; gently dry by patting or blotting with toilet tissue or a soft cloth; then apply the pad externally to the affected area up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement. Children under 12: ask a doctor. Because the pad is external, it is also the way most people do the cleanse-and-dry step that hemorrhoidal suppository labels direct before insertion; see how to use a rectal suppository for the sequence.

What the label says to watch. For external use only. Stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. Keep out of reach of children. Owners consistently report two practical things the label does not: the pads are not labeled flushable and should go in the bin, and the jar's inner seal matters, because an open jar left in a warm bathroom dries out over weeks. For the pad and wipe field as a whole, see the best witch hazel pads and the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy the 100 count jar if you want a witch hazel pad for external itching and burning, for the cleanse step before a suppository, or for postpartum use on a clinician's say-so. It is the correct first pad purchase on this shelf.

What we don't like

The pads are not labeled flushable, the jar dries out if the seal is not closed, and the listing title does not print the witch hazel percentage; the Drug Facts panel does.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Percentage not printed on the listing title; see the Drug Facts panel
Count
100
Form
Pre-moistened cotton pad, external use only
Label directions
Up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.08 ($7.68 divided by 100)
Packaging
Jar with inner seal

What we like

  • About 8 cents a pad, cheapest per use on the shelf
  • One astringent active, no drug-interaction list
  • Up to 6 a day on the label
  • The cleanse step before a suppository, done

Worth noting

  • Not labeled flushable
  • Jar dries out if left open
  • Percentage not printed on the listing
Best for Pads Plus a Cream
Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 witch hazel pads and 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream

Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 witch hazel pads and 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream

Tucks

Forty pads and a half-ounce cream in one box; buy it for the cream, not the pad price.

4.3

Our verdict: The kit is forty of the same witch hazel pads plus a 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream for $9.66. On pads alone that is about 24 cents each ($9.66 divided by 40), three times the jar. The reason to buy it is the cream, whose actives are on its own panel; if you only want pads, buy the jar.

Verified: Listing: Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 witch hazel pads and 0.5 oz hemorrhoid cream. Pads: witch hazel (astringent). Cream: actives per its own Drug Facts panel, not printed on the listing title. Live at $9.66 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. The Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit pairs 40 witch hazel pads with a 0.5 oz tube of Tucks hemorrhoid cream. The listing title states both counts and the cream size and does not state the cream's actives, so we send you to the tube's Drug Facts panel for those. At $9.66 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), if you value the cream at nothing the pads cost about 24 cents each ($9.66 divided by 40); if you value the pads at the jar's 8 cents, the cream is costing you roughly $6.46 for half an ounce.

The honest read: this is a starter box for someone who does not yet own a cream, not a way to buy pads. The pads carry the same panel as the jar (witch hazel, external use, up to 6 daily, under 12 ask a doctor). The cream carries its own panel and its own directions, and if it lists a vasoconstrictor or an anesthetic, its own warnings apply; read the tube. For the cream field, see the best hemorrhoid creams.

Both products share the shelf-wide stop line: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, or if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days. Owners consistently report that the kit's pad tub is smaller and easier to keep sealed than the 100 count jar, which is the one practical point in its favor.

Who should buy it

Buy the kit if you do not yet own a hemorrhoid cream and want pads and a cream to arrive together. If you already have a cream, or only want pads, buy the 100 count jar.

What we don't like

About 24 cents a pad on the pad math, the cream's actives are not on the listing, and half an ounce of cream does not last.

Active ingredient
Pads: witch hazel (astringent). Cream: per its Drug Facts panel, not printed on the listing
Strength
Not printed on the listing title
Count
40 pads plus one 0.5 oz cream
Form
Pre-moistened pads (external) plus cream (external)
Label directions
Pads up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; cream per its panel; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.24 per pad ($9.66 divided by 40); cream not computable
Packaging
Small tub plus tube in one carton

What we like

  • Pads and a cream in one order
  • Smaller tub seals more reliably than the jar
  • Same pad panel as the 100 count

Worth noting

  • Three times the jar's cost per pad
  • Cream actives not on the listing
  • 0.5 oz of cream
Best ValueBenchmark: The Brand-Name Wipe
Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count

Preparation H

Witch hazel in a larger wipe from the other pharmacy name, about 13 cents each.

4.5

Our verdict: The same active in a larger wipe format from the other pharmacy name. At $6.34 for 48 it is about 13 cents each ($6.34 divided by 48), about a nickel more per use than Tucks. Choose it for a bigger wipe or because you are already buying the Preparation H suppository; the 96 count flushable listing is the same price per wipe.

Verified: Listing: Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count. Witch hazel is the labeled astringent. Live at $6.34 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 count is what Tucks is compared against by anyone who has both brands' suppositories in the cabinet. The active is the same witch hazel astringent, the use is external, and the directions are the same up to 6 daily or after each bowel movement with children under 12 sent to a doctor. At $6.34 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) each wipe is about 13 cents ($6.34 divided by 48). The wipe is larger than a Tucks pad, which owners either like for coverage or dislike for waste.

On flushing: the 48 count listing does not state flushable; the 96 count listing at $12.12 (also about 13 cents each, $12.12 divided by 96) does. If flushing is the reason you are leaving Tucks, buy the listing that says so. The head-to-head is at Tucks vs Preparation H wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy the Preparation H wipes instead of Tucks if you want a larger wipe, or you want a flushable format and choose the 96 count listing that states it.

What we don't like

About a nickel more per use than Tucks, the 48 count does not state flushable, and the tub dries out if left open.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), per the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Not printed on the listing title
Count
48
Form
Pre-moistened wipe, external use
Label directions
Up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.13 ($6.34 divided by 48)
Packaging
Resealable tub

What we like

  • Larger wipe than a Tucks pad
  • Same witch hazel active and directions
  • Flushable in the 96 count listing

Worth noting

  • About 13 cents each against 8
  • 48 count listing does not state flushable
Upgrade PickBenchmark: Flushable in Volume
DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, Witch Hazel, 144 count

DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, Witch Hazel, 144 count

DUDE Wipes

Witch hazel wipes labeled flushable, 144 for $19.66, about 14 cents each.

4.3

Our verdict: The volume flushable option. One hundred forty-four witch hazel wipes labeled flushable at $19.66 is about 14 cents each ($19.66 divided by 144), a bit more than Preparation H's flushable and nearly double Tucks. Buy it if flushing is non-negotiable and you want a single large order; otherwise Tucks is cheaper and Preparation H is the pharmacy name.

Verified: Listing: DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, Witch Hazel, 144 count. Witch hazel is the labeled astringent; flushable per the listing title. Live at $19.66 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Why it is here. DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, 144 count is the largest flushable witch hazel pack in our catalog from a Tier A brand. The listing title states the active (witch hazel), the count (144), and that the wipes are flushable. The panel's use is external, the directions follow the same up to 6 daily or after each bowel movement pattern, and children under 12 are sent to a doctor. At $19.66 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) each wipe is about 14 cents ($19.66 divided by 144).

Tucks or DUDE: Tucks is a cotton pad you bin, at 8 cents; DUDE is a wipe labeled flushable, at 14 cents. If your plumbing or your household rules make flushable the deciding factor, DUDE or the 96 count Preparation H listing is the answer. If not, the Tucks jar is the better value by a wide margin. The wider wipe field is at the best hemorrhoid wipes.

Who should buy it

Buy DUDE Wipes if you want a flushable witch hazel wipe in a single large order and would rather not reorder for months.

What we don't like

Nearly double Tucks per use, and a 144 count is a lot of wipes for one occasional user.

Active ingredient
Witch hazel (astringent), stated on the listing title
Strength
Not printed on the listing title
Count
144
Form
Pre-moistened wipe, external use, flushable per listing
Label directions
Up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement; under 12 ask a doctor
Cost per use
$0.14 ($19.66 divided by 144)
Packaging
Resealable packs

What we like

  • Labeled flushable on the listing
  • 144 in one order
  • Witch hazel active stated on the title

Worth noting

  • About 14 cents each against 8
  • Large pack for an occasional user

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. Tucks Medicated Cooling Pads, 100 countBest OverallTucks · $7.68Check price on Amazon
  2. Tucks Multi-Care Relief Kit, 40 witch hazel pads and 0.5 oz hemorrhoid creamBest for Pads Plus a CreamTucks · $9.66Check price on Amazon
  3. Preparation H Hemorrhoid Wipes with Witch Hazel, 48 countBenchmark: The Brand-Name WipePreparation H · $6.34Check price on Amazon
  4. DUDE Wipes Medicated Hemorrhoid Flushable Wipes, Witch Hazel, 144 countBenchmark: Flushable in VolumeDUDE Wipes · $19.66Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This review is built on the Drug Facts panel and the live listing. For every SKU we recorded the active ingredient and its labeled purpose, the count the listing title states, the form (pad, wipe, or cream), whether the listing states flushable, the label's directions and age line, and the Amazon price on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per use is shown only where the listing title gives both a price and a count, with the division shown; for a kit that includes a cream we compute the pad cost only and say the cream is not computable. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on what a label cannot tell you: whether the jar seal holds, whether the pads dry out, and whether the wipes hold together.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote the label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. Witch hazel pads and wipes are labeled for external use only, up to 6 applications daily or one after each bowel movement, with children under 12 sent to a doctor. The stop line is the same as every hemorrhoidal product: stop use and ask a doctor if bleeding occurs, if the condition worsens, or if it does not improve within 7 days. Pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. Where a kit includes a cream, the cream's own Drug Facts panel governs it. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw this review before publication.

Questions, answered

What is the active ingredient in Tucks pads?

The Drug Facts panel lists witch hazel, labeled as an astringent. The listing title does not print the percentage; the panel on the jar does. There is no anesthetic, vasoconstrictor or steroid on the panel.

How often can you use Tucks pads?

The label directs applying the pad externally to the affected area up to 6 times daily or after each bowel movement. Children under 12: ask a doctor. When practical, cleanse the area with mild soap and warm water and pat dry first.

Can you flush Tucks pads?

No. The pads are cotton and are not labeled flushable; put them in the bin. If flushable matters, the 96 count Preparation H wipes listing and the DUDE Wipes hemorrhoid wipes both state flushable on the listing.

Can Tucks pads be used internally?

The label says for external use only. Internal symptoms are what suppositories are labeled for; see our guide to the best hemorrhoid suppositories.

Are Tucks pads safe during pregnancy or after childbirth?

Witch hazel pads are widely used postpartum, and the label's line is if pregnant or breast-feeding, ask a health professional before use. We do not go beyond the label; the clinician decides. Our pregnancy and postpartum guide ranks the products written for that situation.

Is the Tucks Multi-Care kit worth it?

For the cream, possibly; for the pads, no. At $9.66 at our September 5, 2026 check, the 40 pads work out to about 24 cents each against about 8 cents in the 100 count jar. Buy the kit only if you also want the 0.5 oz cream and do not already own one.

Tucks or Preparation H wipes?

Same active, different format. Tucks is a cotton pad at about 8 cents; Preparation H is a larger wipe at about 13 cents, and its 96 count listing states flushable. Buy Tucks for price, Preparation H for a bigger wipe or a flushable format. The full comparison is at Tucks vs Preparation H wipes.

How long can I keep using Tucks pads?

The label says to stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens or does not improve within 7 days, or if bleeding occurs. Use beyond that window is a conversation with a doctor.