Our Pick: Dulcolax
Check price on Amazon →Bisacodyl Suppositories, Ranked (2026): Dulcolax, Major, Paddock and NeilMed
Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 4 count, at $5.48. Bisacodyl 10 mg, a Drug Facts label that reads 15 minutes to 1 hour, and a box sized for the occasional use a stimulant laxative is labeled for. Below it: the generics that match the strength at a lower cost per dose, and the larger Dulcolax boxes for households where a doctor has directed regular use. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.
By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~12 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research
Buy Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 4 count, at $5.48 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026). Bisacodyl 10 mg per suppository, labeled for relief of occasional constipation, generally producing a bowel movement in 15 minutes to 1 hour, from the brand that defines the category, in a box of 4 that matches what a stimulant laxative is actually for. If you already know bisacodyl is your product and want the lowest cost per dose at the same 10 mg, Paddock Bisacodyl Suppositories USP 10 mg, 12 for $8.90, is about 74 cents each.
Bisacodyl is the stimulant laxative suppository. Where glycerin draws water into the bowel, bisacodyl acts on the bowel wall itself, and every Drug Facts label on this page says the same three things: it is a stimulant laxative, it is for occasional constipation, and it generally produces a bowel movement in 15 minutes to 1 hour. The strength is 10 mg on every product here, so the ranking does not turn on the medicine. It turns on count, cost per dose, packaging, and whether the box size is honest about how a stimulant should be used. A box of 4 says occasional. A box of 28 says a doctor is involved, and several of these labels carry the phrase or as directed by a doctor for exactly that case.
The label lines, stated once. Directions: adults and children 12 years and over, 1 suppository in a single daily dose; children 6 to under 12 years, a reduced direction printed on the label; children under 6, ask a doctor. Ask a doctor before use if you have stomach pain, nausea or vomiting, or a sudden change in bowel habits lasting over 2 weeks. Stop use and ask a doctor if you have rectal bleeding or fail to have a bowel movement after use, because either could indicate a serious condition. Do not use for more than 1 week unless directed by a doctor. Abdominal discomfort, faintness and cramps are listed as possible effects. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand paid for a placement.
The short version
- Our Pick: Dulcolax Medicated Suppositories, 4 count, $5.48 at our September 5, 2026 check. Bisacodyl 10 mg, 15 minutes to 1 hour, about $1.37 each, sized for occasional use.
- Lowest cost per dose at 10 mg: Paddock Bisacodyl USP, 12 for $8.90, about 74 cents each. Major Bisacodyl 10 mg, 12 for $9.99, is about 83 cents.
- If a doctor has directed regular use: Dulcolax 28 count at $22.99, about 82 cents each, or the 16 count comfort-shaped at $24.49.
- Every bisacodyl label is 12 and over, with a reduced direction for 6 to under 12 and ask a doctor under 6. No bisacodyl suppository is a kids product.
- Stimulant laxatives are for occasional use: not more than 1 week without a doctor, and rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use means stop and ask.
At a glance
| Product | Strength | Count | Cost per dose | Packaging | Price (9/5/26) | Check price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dulcolax Medicated Suppositories, 4 | 10 mg | 4 | $1.37 | Sealed, boxed | $5.48 | Check price on Amazon |
| Paddock Bisacodyl USP 10 mg, 12 | 10 mg | 12 | $0.74 | Boxed | $8.90 | Check price on Amazon |
| Major Bisacodyl 10 mg, 12 | 10 mg | 12 | $0.83 | Boxed, comfort-shaped | $9.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Dulcolax Medicated Suppositories, 28 | 10 mg | 28 | $0.82 | Sealed, boxed | $22.99 | Check price on Amazon |
| Dulcolax Comfort Shaped Suppositories, 16 | 10 mg | 16 | $1.53 | Sealed, comfort-shaped | $24.49 | Check price on Amazon |
| NeilMed Bisacodyl Suppositories | Not on title | Not published | n/a | Individually wrapped | $8.28 | Check price on Amazon |
| NeilMed Bisacodyl Suppositories, larger pack | Not on title | Not published | n/a | Individually wrapped | $28.11 | Check price on Amazon |
Every bisacodyl suppository we verified. Strength is 10 mg wherever the listing title or Drug Facts label states it; NeilMed's titles do not state a strength. Prices are live Amazon figures verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per dose only where the listing states both price and count.
Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 4 count
Dulcolax
The reference bisacodyl 10 mg suppository in a box sized for occasional use.
Our verdict: The category brand, the category strength, and the right box size. Four bisacodyl 10 mg suppositories for $5.48 is about $1.37 each, which is more per dose than the generics and exactly the quantity a product labeled for occasional use should come in. If bisacodyl is new to you, this is the box.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl 10 mg per suppository, stimulant laxative, 4 per box. Drug Facts label: for relief of occasional constipation; generally produces a bowel movement in 15 minutes to 1 hour; 12 and over, 6 to under 12 per label, under 6 ask a doctor. Live at $5.48 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The stimulant suppository, defined. Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories contain bisacodyl 10 mg. The Drug Facts label reads relief of occasional constipation, generally produces a bowel movement in 15 minutes to 1 hour, and directs adults and children 12 and over to 1 suppository in a single daily dose, with a reduced direction for 6 to under 12 and ask a doctor under 6.
Bisacodyl's label lists abdominal discomfort, faintness and cramps as possible effects, which is the reason glycerin comes first on the flagship constipation page and bisacodyl second. The brand review is our Dulcolax suppositories review; the mechanism comparison is glycerin vs bisacodyl; and if you are weighing the suppository against Dulcolax's tablets, Dulcolax suppository vs tablets covers the different label windows.
Who should buy it
Anyone using a bisacodyl suppository for the first time, or restocking for the occasional use the label describes.
What we don't like
About $1.37 per dose is nearly double the generics, and a stimulant carries cramps and discomfort as listed possible effects.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl
- Strength
- 10 mg per suppository
- Count
- 4
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository, sealed
- Label ages
- 12 and over; 6 to under 12 per label; under 6 ask a doctor
- Cost per dose
- $1.37 ($5.48 divided by 4)
- Packaging
- Boxed, individually sealed
What we like
- Category brand at the standard 10 mg
- Box of 4 matches the occasional-use label
- 15 minutes to 1 hour on the label
Worth noting
- About $1.37 a dose
- Stimulant; cramps listed as a possible effect
Paddock Bisacodyl Suppositories USP 10 mg, 12 count
Paddock Laboratories
The lowest verified cost per dose at the standard 10 mg: 12 for $8.90.
Our verdict: Paddock is a generic pharmaceutical house, and its bisacodyl suppository is the same 10 mg as Dulcolax at about 74 cents a dose, the lowest verified figure on this page. Buy it if you have used bisacodyl before and know it is what your doctor is fine with. Twelve is still within the range a genuinely occasional user will use before expiry.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl USP 10 mg per suppository, 12 per box, both stated in the listing title. Live at $8.90 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Generic, USP, 10 mg, counted. Paddock Bisacodyl Suppositories USP 10 mg state the strength and the count, 12, in the listing title, which is all a bisacodyl buyer needs to know. USP on the label means the product meets the United States Pharmacopeia monograph for bisacodyl suppositories.
Directions and stop lines are the bisacodyl set: 12 and over, reduced direction for 6 to under 12, ask a doctor under 6, not more than 1 week without a doctor, stop for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use. For the Dulcolax-versus-generic decision across the whole shelf, Dulcolax vs Fleet covers the brand question from the glycerin side too.
Who should buy it
Experienced bisacodyl users who want the standard 10 mg at the lowest cost per dose.
What we don't like
A plain generic box with no consumer-brand support, and 12 stimulant suppositories is more than a truly occasional user needs.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl USP
- Strength
- 10 mg per suppository
- Count
- 12
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository
- Label ages
- 12 and over; 6 to under 12 per label; under 6 ask a doctor
- Cost per dose
- $0.74 ($8.90 divided by 12)
- Packaging
- Boxed
What we like
- Lowest cost per dose on the page
- Strength and count in the title
- USP
Worth noting
- Generic presentation
- 12 is more than occasional use needs
Major Bisacodyl 10 mg Suppositories, 12 count
Major Pharmaceuticals
Major's 10 mg bisacodyl, comfort-shaped per the title, about 83 cents a dose.
Our verdict: Major's bisacodyl matches Paddock on strength and count and adds a comfort-shaped design per its title, for about 9 cents more per dose. If shape matters to you, it is worth it; if not, Paddock is the cheaper of two near-identical generics.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl 10 mg per suppository, stimulant laxative, 12 comfort-shaped per the listing title. Labeled gentle, predictable, fast relief. Live at $9.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
The other 12 count generic. Major Bisacodyl 10 mg Suppositories are labeled as a stimulant laxative for gentle, predictable, fast relief, 12 comfort-shaped units per the listing title. Major is a large generic house that supplies pharmacies and institutions.
Bisacodyl directions and stop lines apply in full. Major also sells bisacodyl 5 mg tablets and senna tablets, covered in the best laxatives for fast relief and the best senna laxatives.
Who should buy it
Experienced bisacodyl users who want a comfort-shaped generic at the standard strength.
What we don't like
Nine cents more per dose than Paddock for the same 10 mg and count.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl
- Strength
- 10 mg per suppository
- Count
- 12
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository, comfort-shaped
- Label ages
- 12 and over; 6 to under 12 per label; under 6 ask a doctor
- Cost per dose
- $0.83 ($9.99 divided by 12)
- Packaging
- Boxed
What we like
- Standard 10 mg, count published
- Comfort-shaped per the title
Worth noting
- Slightly more than Paddock per dose
Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 28 count
Dulcolax
The brand's 10 mg suppository at about 82 cents a dose, for households where a doctor has directed regular use.
Our verdict: Twenty-eight stimulant suppositories is not an occasional-use quantity, and the label knows it: the or as directed by a doctor clause is what this box is for. At about 82 cents a dose it brings the brand down to generic pricing. Buy it if a doctor has told you to use bisacodyl regularly; otherwise the 4 count is the honest size.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl 10 mg per suppository, stimulant laxative, 28 per box. Same Drug Facts label as the 4 count. Live at $22.99 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Brand pricing at generic cost per dose. Dulcolax Medicated Suppositories, 28 count, are the same bisacodyl 10 mg as the 4 count with the same label, in a box seven times the size.
Directions and stop lines apply. Dulcolax also sells a 28 count labeled Fast Relief at $25.98, about 93 cents each, same bisacodyl 10 mg; we list the plain 28 here because it is cheaper per dose. For a broader look at bowel-routine products that pharmacists name, the Magic Bullet suppository review covers the docusate alternative.
Who should buy it
Households where a doctor has directed regular bisacodyl use and wants the brand.
What we don't like
Twenty-eight stimulant suppositories is far beyond what the occasional-use label anticipates without a doctor.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl
- Strength
- 10 mg per suppository
- Count
- 28
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository, sealed
- Label ages
- 12 and over; 6 to under 12 per label; under 6 ask a doctor
- Cost per dose
- $0.82 ($22.99 divided by 28)
- Packaging
- Boxed, individually sealed
What we like
- Brand at about 82 cents a dose
- Sealed units
Worth noting
- Quantity implies doctor-directed use
- Not for occasional buyers
Dulcolax Laxative, 10 mg, Comfort Shaped Suppositories, 16 count
Dulcolax
Dulcolax's comfort-shaped 10 mg suppository, 16 count, the priciest per dose on the page.
Our verdict: The comfort-shaped Dulcolax is the same 10 mg bisacodyl in a shape designed for easier insertion, and at $24.49 for 16 it is about $1.53 each, the highest cost per dose here. It ranks on shape and brand, not price. If comfort shape is what you want, Major's generic offers it at about 83 cents.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl 10 mg per suppository, comfort shaped, 16 per box, per the listing title. Same Drug Facts label as the other Dulcolax suppositories. Live at $24.49 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Shape, at a price. Dulcolax Comfort Shaped Suppositories, 16 count, state 10 mg and comfort shaped in the listing title. The label is the Dulcolax bisacodyl label.
Directions and stop lines apply. There is a second 16 count listing, Dulcolax Laxative Suppositories, 16 Count, at $24.90; same product family, slightly more, and we list the one that states comfort shaped in its title. The practical insertion guide, which is where shape matters, is how to insert a suppository.
Who should buy it
Buyers who specifically want the Dulcolax comfort shape and are not price-sensitive per dose.
What we don't like
Highest cost per dose on the page for the same 10 mg.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl
- Strength
- 10 mg per suppository
- Count
- 16
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository, comfort shaped
- Label ages
- 12 and over; 6 to under 12 per label; under 6 ask a doctor
- Cost per dose
- $1.53 ($24.49 divided by 16)
- Packaging
- Boxed, sealed
What we like
- Comfort shape from the brand
- Strength and count in the title
Worth noting
- About $1.53 a dose
- Major offers a comfort shape for far less
NeilMed Bisacodyl Laxative Suppositories
NeilMed
NeilMed's bisacodyl in individually wrapped units; strength and count not on the listing title.
Our verdict: NeilMed's bisacodyl brings the individual wrapping its glycerin line is known for. The listing title states neither the strength nor the count, which is why it ranks below every product that does; the Drug Facts panel on the box carries both. Buy it for the wrapper, once you have read the panel.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl, stimulant laxative, individually wrapped and hygienic per the listing title. Strength and count not stated on the listing title. Live at $8.28 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
Wrapped, but undisclosed on the listing. NeilMed Bisacodyl Laxative Suppositories are described on the listing as gentle, fast-acting constipation relief, individually wrapped and hygienic. The Amazon title does not state the milligram strength or the number in the box.
Bisacodyl directions and stop lines apply whatever the box says about count. Brand write-up: the NeilMed suppositories review.
Who should buy it
Buyers who want individually wrapped bisacodyl and will read the panel for strength and count.
What we don't like
Neither strength nor count on the listing title.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl
- Strength
- Not on the listing title
- Count
- Not published
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository, individually wrapped
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Packaging
- Individually wrapped, boxed
What we like
- Individually wrapped
- Lower box price than the Dulcolax boxes
Worth noting
- Strength not on title
- Count not published
NeilMed Bisacodyl Laxative Suppositories, larger pack
NeilMed
The larger NeilMed bisacodyl listing; same undisclosed strength and count, higher price.
Our verdict: The larger NeilMed pack costs $28.11 and, like the smaller one, publishes neither strength nor count on its listing. That is a lot to spend on a stimulant laxative without a per-dose figure, and a quantity that implies a doctor's direction. It is last on this page for those reasons, not for the product inside.
Verified: Labeled active: bisacodyl, stimulant laxative, individually wrapped per the listing title. Strength and count not stated on the listing title. Live at $28.11 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.
More of the same, undisclosed. The NeilMed Bisacodyl larger pack carries the same listing description as the small: gentle, fast-acting, individually wrapped, hygienic. No strength, no count, on the title.
A large quantity of any stimulant laxative implies doctor-directed use; the label says not more than 1 week without it. Stop lines apply. If what you actually need is something for regular use, the best stool softeners covers the non-stimulant products a doctor is more likely to name.
Who should buy it
NeilMed loyalists with a doctor's direction for regular use who have read the panel.
What we don't like
Highest box price on the page with no count or strength on the listing.
- Active ingredient
- Bisacodyl
- Strength
- Not on the listing title
- Count
- Not published
- Form
- Solid rectal suppository, individually wrapped
- Label ages
- Per the Drug Facts panel
- Packaging
- Individually wrapped, boxed
What we like
- Individually wrapped
- Larger pack for households that need more than a four-count box
Worth noting
- No count or strength on the listing
- Highest box price here
What you'll need
The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.
More picks worth comparing
Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.
Quick shop: every pick
Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.
- Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 4 countBest OverallDulcolax · $5.48Check price on Amazon
- Paddock Bisacodyl Suppositories USP 10 mg, 12 countBest Value at 10 mgPaddock Laboratories · $8.90Check price on Amazon
- Major Bisacodyl 10 mg Suppositories, 12 countBest Comfort-Shaped GenericMajor Pharmaceuticals · $9.99Check price on Amazon
- Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 28 countBest Large Box (Doctor-Directed Use)Dulcolax · $22.99Check price on Amazon
- Dulcolax Laxative, 10 mg, Comfort Shaped Suppositories, 16 countBest Comfort-Shaped Brand BoxDulcolax · $24.49Check price on Amazon
- NeilMed Bisacodyl Laxative SuppositoriesBest Individually WrappedNeilMed · $8.28Check price on Amazon
- NeilMed Bisacodyl Laxative Suppositories, larger packNeilMed's Larger PackNeilMed · $28.11Check price on Amazon
How we chose
Every bisacodyl suppository listing on Amazon in our verified catalog is on this page. For each we recorded the strength where the title or Drug Facts label states it, the count where the title states it, the packaging, and the price live on Amazon on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. Cost per dose is computed only where the listing states both price and count, and we show the division. Because the medicine is the same 10 mg on every product that publishes a strength, the ranking weighs cost per dose against whether the box size matches the label's occasional-use direction: a small box from the category brand ranks first, low-cost generics next, large boxes below them, and listings that publish neither strength nor count last.
Compliance: bisacodyl is a stimulant laxative and an OTC drug, and we quote each label's Uses and Directions only. We never suggest a dose beyond the label; the 6 to under 12 direction is described as a reduced direction printed on the label rather than restated. Every card carries the age lines (12 and over; 6 to under 12 per label; under 6 ask a doctor) and the stop lines (rectal bleeding, no bowel movement after use, not more than 1 week without a doctor). Stimulant laxatives are for occasional use, not routine. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy, and nothing here is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement.
Questions, answered
What is the best bisacodyl suppository?
Dulcolax Stimulant Laxative Medicated Suppositories, 4 count, at $5.48 at our September 5, 2026 check. Bisacodyl 10 mg, a label that reads 15 minutes to 1 hour, and a box size that matches the occasional use a stimulant laxative is labeled for. For the lowest cost per dose at the same 10 mg, Paddock Bisacodyl USP is 12 for $8.90, about 74 cents each.
How long does a bisacodyl suppository take to work?
The Drug Facts label on Dulcolax and on the generics states that it generally produces a bowel movement in 15 minutes to 1 hour. If there is no bowel movement after use, the label says stop and ask a doctor.
Is bisacodyl a stimulant laxative?
Yes. Every bisacodyl label calls it a stimulant laxative; it acts on the bowel wall to produce a movement, unlike glycerin, which draws water into the bowel. The label lists abdominal discomfort, faintness and cramps as possible effects, and it is for occasional constipation.
How often can I use a bisacodyl suppository?
The label directs 1 suppository in a single daily dose for adults and children 12 and over, and says not to use for more than 1 week unless a doctor directs. Regular need for a stimulant laxative is the label's own reason to see a clinician.
Can a child use a bisacodyl suppository?
The label directs use at 12 and over, prints a reduced direction for children 6 to under 12, and says ask a doctor under 6. There is no pediatric bisacodyl suppository. For children, the pediatric glycerin products and the pediatrician are the route.
Dulcolax suppository or Dulcolax tablets?
Different label windows. The suppository is labeled for 15 minutes to 1 hour; the tablets and liquid gels are labeled for overnight relief, 6 to 12 hours. Both are bisacodyl, both are stimulant laxatives for occasional use. Our Dulcolax suppository vs tablets comparison covers the choice.
Is generic bisacodyl the same as Dulcolax?
Paddock and Major both state bisacodyl 10 mg, the same strength as Dulcolax, and Paddock's is labeled USP. The difference is brand, box size and cost per dose: about 74 to 83 cents for the generics against $1.37 for the Dulcolax 4 count. NeilMed's listings do not state a strength on the title, so read the panel.
What should I do if a bisacodyl suppository causes cramping?
Cramps and abdominal discomfort are listed on the label as possible effects. The label's stop lines are rectal bleeding and no bowel movement after use; for either, stop and ask a doctor. If discomfort is significant or persists, that is a reason to ask a doctor as well, and to ask whether a stimulant is the right product for you.
Filed under Buyer's Guide
Keep reading
Dulcolax Suppositories Review
The category brand on its own: every box size, the label, and the comfort-shape question.
Glycerin vs Bisacodyl Suppositories
Same label window, different mechanism, and which to use first.
Dulcolax Suppository vs Tablets
15 minutes to 1 hour versus 6 to 12 hours: the two bisacodyl formats compared.
Best Suppositories for Constipation (2026)
The flagship ranking, with glycerin first and bisacodyl in its place.
















