Our Pick: MiraLAX

Check price on Amazon →

MiraLAX Review: The PEG 3350 Osmotic, What the Label Promises, and When a Suppository Is Faster

Buy the smaller MiraLAX Laxative Powder at $8.67 if you want the reference PEG 3350 osmotic laxative and a result over 1 to 3 days is what you need. That window is on the label, and it is the whole decision: MiraLAX is for people who want a gentle daily powder, not for anyone who needs a bowel movement this afternoon. The generic ClearLax is the price benchmark and a glycerin suppository is the speed benchmark. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026.

By The Pharmacy Desk2026-09-05~10 min read Ranked on verified label facts, never box claimsHow we research

MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (smaller listing)Best Overall

MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (smaller listing)

MiraLAX · 4.6

$8.67

Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 countBest Value

Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 count

Fleet · 4.8

$4.29

MiraFAST Soft Chews, from the Makers of MiraLAXUpgrade Pick

MiraFAST Soft Chews, from the Makers of MiraLAX

MiraLAX · 4.1

$20.39

Buy the MiraLAX Laxative Powder, smaller size, at $8.67 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) if what you want is the reference polyethylene glycol 3350 osmotic laxative and a result over 1 to 3 days is acceptable. That is the Drug Facts label's own window, and it is the single most important fact on this page: MiraLAX is a gentle, stimulant-free powder that works over days, not minutes. The label directs 17 g once daily in 4 to 8 ounces of liquid for adults and children 17 and older, sends 16 and under to a doctor, and says not to use for more than 7 days. If you need a bowel movement within the hour, this is the wrong product and a glycerin suppository at about 9 cents is the right one.

MiraLAX is the brand that made PEG 3350 a household name, and its whole appeal is what it is not: not a stimulant, not a saline, not something that cramps. Polyethylene glycol 3350 holds water in the stool as it passes, which the label describes as softening the stool and increasing the frequency of bowel movements. That mechanism is why physicians recommend it for people who need something daily and gentle, and why it is useless for urgent relief. This review covers the three MiraLAX powder listings on Amazon, explains why we cannot give you a cost per dose for any of them, looks at the MiraFAST chews, and benchmarks the powder against Amazon Basic Care's ClearLax, the same PEG 3350 at a store-brand price.

The label governs. MiraLAX is labeled for relief of occasional constipation and irregularity, generally producing a bowel movement in 1 to 3 days. Directions: adults and children 17 years and older, 17 grams (the cap measures it) in 4 to 8 ounces of any beverage, once daily; children 16 and under, ask a doctor. Use no more than 7 days. Ask a doctor before use if you have kidney disease, nausea, vomiting or abdominal pain, or a sudden change in bowel habits lasting over 2 weeks. Stop and ask a doctor for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use, or if you need a laxative for more than 1 week. We read labels and verify listings; we are not clinicians, nothing here is medical advice, and no brand has paid for a placement. If you buy through a link we may earn an Amazon commission at no cost to you.

The short version

  • Our Pick: MiraLAX Laxative Powder, smaller listing, $8.67 at our September 5, 2026 check. PEG 3350, stimulant free, 1 to 3 days on the label, 17 g once daily for 17 and over.
  • No MiraLAX powder listing on Amazon states a size or dose count in its title, so we do not compute a cost per dose for any of them. Read the bottle for the number of doses.
  • The label's window is 1 to 3 days and its limit is 7 days. MiraLAX is a daily gentle powder, not urgent relief.
  • Price benchmark: Amazon Basic Care ClearLax, the same PEG 3350, $15.73. Speed benchmark: Fleet Glycerin, 15 minutes to 1 hour on the label, about 9 cents a dose.
  • Children 16 and under: ask a doctor, on the MiraLAX label. The pediatrician decides.

At a glance

ProductActiveLabel windowSize / countCost per dosePrice (9/5/26)Check price
MiraLAX Laxative Powder (smaller)PEG 33501 to 3 daysNot publishedn/a$8.67Check price on Amazon
MiraLAX Laxative Powder (mid)PEG 33501 to 3 daysNot publishedn/a$13.98Check price on Amazon
MiraLAX Laxative Powder (larger)PEG 33501 to 3 daysNot publishedn/a$14.29Check price on Amazon
MiraFAST Soft ChewsSaline laxative (per title)Per labelNot publishedn/a$20.39Check price on Amazon
Amazon Basic Care ClearLaxPEG 33501 to 3 daysNot publishedn/a$15.73Check price on Amazon
Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 ctGlycerin 2 g15 minutes to 1 hour50$0.09$4.29Check price on Amazon

The MiraLAX listings and two benchmarks. Actives are as stated on the listing title or the Drug Facts label; where the title states no size or count, we say so. Prices verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026. Cost per dose is computed only where the listing states both price and count.

Our PickBest Starting Size
MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (smaller listing)

MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (smaller listing)

MiraLAX

The reference PEG 3350 powder, stimulant free, 1 to 3 days on the label, in the smallest listing.

4.6

Our verdict: Start with the smallest MiraLAX. The label frames this as an occasional product with a 7 day limit, and the smaller bottle matches that framing while you find out whether a daily PEG 3350 powder is what your doctor and your gut agree on. Same active, same 17 g dose, same 1 to 3 day window as the bigger bottles; the title does not state the size, so read the doses off the bottle.

Verified: Labeled active: polyethylene glycol 3350, 17 g per dose per the Drug Facts label. Title states gentle constipation relief for adults, stool softener with PEG 3350, nonstimulant. Size not stated on the listing title. Live at $8.67 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

What it is. MiraLAX Laxative Powder is polyethylene glycol 3350, an osmotic laxative that holds water in the stool as it passes. The Drug Facts label lists relief of occasional constipation and irregularity, states it generally produces a bowel movement in 1 to 3 days, and directs adults and children 17 and older to take 17 grams, measured with the bottle cap, dissolved in 4 to 8 ounces of any beverage once daily. Children 16 and under: ask a doctor. Use no more than 7 days. The title calls it a stool softener with PEG 3350 and a nonstimulant laxative, and both are fair descriptions of the mechanism.

What the listing does not say: how much powder is in the bottle. At $8.67 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) we cannot tell you the cost per 17 g dose from this listing, and we will not guess. The bottle itself prints the number of doses. What we can say is that this is the smallest of the three MiraLAX powder listings by price, and for a first bottle under a 7 day label, that is the right one.

What the label says to watch. Ask a doctor before use for kidney disease, nausea, vomiting or abdominal pain, or a sudden change in bowel habits over 2 weeks. Stop and ask a doctor for rectal bleeding, no bowel movement after use, or needing a laxative for more than 1 week. Owners consistently report the powder dissolves clear and without taste in water or juice, which is the practical reason it is tolerated daily. The osmotic field is ranked in the best osmotic laxatives, and the speed question is settled in suppository vs MiraLAX.

Who should buy it

Buy the smaller MiraLAX if a doctor has recommended a gentle daily osmotic laxative, you can wait 1 to 3 days for a result, and you want a first bottle sized to the label's 7 day limit.

What we don't like

The listing title does not state the bottle size, so there is no cost per dose, and 1 to 3 days is the wrong window for anyone who needs relief today.

Active ingredient
Polyethylene glycol 3350
Strength
17 g per dose (per the Drug Facts label)
Size
Not stated on the listing title
Form
Powder, dissolved in 4 to 8 oz of beverage
Label ages
17 and older; 16 and under ask a doctor
Label window
1 to 3 days; use no more than 7 days
Packaging
Bottle with measuring cap

What we like

  • Reference PEG 3350, stimulant free
  • Dissolves clear and tasteless per owner reports
  • Smallest listing, matches the 7 day label

Worth noting

  • Size not on the title, no cost per dose
  • 1 to 3 days, not urgent relief
  • 16 and under ask a doctor
Best Mid Size
MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (mid listing)

MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (mid listing)

MiraLAX

The mid-priced MiraLAX listing, physician recommended per the title, same label.

4.5

Our verdict: The mid listing is the same powder under the same label at a price that implies a larger bottle than the smallest listing. Without a stated size we cannot confirm it is cheaper per dose, so buy it only if you have already used MiraLAX under a doctor's plan and know the bottle you are getting.

Verified: Labeled active: polyethylene glycol 3350, 17 g per dose. Title states gentle constipation relief, PEG 3350, physician recommended, no harsh side effects. Size not stated on the listing title. Live at $13.98 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

Same powder, larger price. The mid-priced MiraLAX Laxative Powder listing carries the same Drug Facts label as the smaller one: PEG 3350, 17 g once daily for 17 and older, 1 to 3 days, no more than 7 days. The title adds physician recommended and no harsh side effects, which are the maker's claims and which we attribute to the maker. At $13.98 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) the size is, again, not stated on the title.

The honest position: a larger bottle usually costs less per dose, and this one probably does, but we do not print a probably. If your doctor has you on MiraLAX beyond the label's 7 day line, which is a common prescription-style use of an OTC product, the larger bottle is the sensible reorder and the bottle will tell you its dose count when it arrives.

Same label lines: ask a doctor before use for kidney disease or abdominal symptoms, stop for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement, and see a doctor if you need a laxative beyond 1 week. For the whole daily-laxative shelf beside it, see the best stool softeners.

Who should buy it

Buy the mid listing if you are already on MiraLAX under a doctor's plan and want a larger bottle than the starter size.

What we don't like

No size on the title, so no verified cost per dose, and the title's physician recommended line is a maker claim.

Active ingredient
Polyethylene glycol 3350
Strength
17 g per dose (per the Drug Facts label)
Size
Not stated on the listing title
Form
Powder, dissolved in 4 to 8 oz of beverage
Label ages
17 and older; 16 and under ask a doctor
Label window
1 to 3 days; use no more than 7 days
Packaging
Bottle with measuring cap

What we like

  • Same PEG 3350 and label as the pick
  • Likely more doses per bottle

Worth noting

  • Size not on the title
  • Maker claims in the title
Best Larger Listing
MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (larger listing)

MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (larger listing)

MiraLAX

The third MiraLAX powder listing, priced just above the mid, same active and label.

4.5

Our verdict: At our check this listing was 31 cents more than the mid listing for what the titles describe identically. Two listings this close in price for the same product means comparing both on the day and buying whichever is cheaper, or whichever states its size on the bottle image. The powder and the label do not change.

Verified: Labeled active: polyethylene glycol 3350, 17 g per dose. Title states gentle constipation relief, stool softener with PEG 3350, no harsh side effects. Size not stated on the listing title. Live at $14.29 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The other larger listing. The larger MiraLAX Laxative Powder listing is PEG 3350 under the same Drug Facts label, priced at $14.29 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), 31 cents above the mid listing. The title describes the same stool softener with PEG 3350 and the same no-harsh-side-effects claim, and states no size.

Two listings, one decision: Amazon often carries the same MiraLAX bottle under more than one listing, and prices move independently. Treat this and the mid listing as the same purchase, compare them on the day, and buy the cheaper one. Neither lets us compute a cost per dose.

Same label, same lines: 17 g once daily for 17 and older, 16 and under ask a doctor, 1 to 3 days, no more than 7 days. If you are trying to decide between a daily powder and something faster, suppository vs oral laxative lays out both sides.

Who should buy it

Buy the larger listing when it is the cheaper of the two larger MiraLAX listings on the day you check.

What we don't like

Priced above the near-identical mid listing at our check, with no size on the title to justify it.

Active ingredient
Polyethylene glycol 3350
Strength
17 g per dose (per the Drug Facts label)
Size
Not stated on the listing title
Form
Powder, dissolved in 4 to 8 oz of beverage
Label ages
17 and older; 16 and under ask a doctor
Label window
1 to 3 days; use no more than 7 days
Packaging
Bottle with measuring cap

What we like

  • Same PEG 3350 and label
  • Interchangeable with the mid listing

Worth noting

  • Slightly pricier than the mid listing at our check
  • Size not on the title
Upgrade PickBest If You Want the MiraLAX Name in a Chew
MiraFAST Soft Chews, from the Makers of MiraLAX

MiraFAST Soft Chews, from the Makers of MiraLAX

MiraLAX

A saline laxative soft chew from the MiraLAX house, not PEG 3350, with its own label.

4.1

Our verdict: MiraFAST is not MiraLAX in a chew. The title describes a stimulant-free saline laxative, which is a different active with a different label and a shorter window than PEG 3350. It exists for people who want the brand's name and a faster oral result than the powder gives, and it is the most expensive listing on this page with no count on the title.

Verified: Saline laxative soft chew per the listing title, stimulant free, from the makers of MiraLAX. Active and count not stated on the listing title; on the Drug Facts panel. Live at $20.39 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

A different laxative under the same roof. MiraFAST Soft Chews are described in the listing title as a fast-acting, stimulant-free saline laxative from the makers of MiraLAX. Saline laxatives work by drawing water into the bowel, and their labels state windows measured in hours rather than the powder's 1 to 3 days; the specific active, the strength and the timing are on the Drug Facts panel, not the title, and we will not print them from memory.

Why it is here: because people searching for MiraLAX find it and assume it is the powder in chewable form. It is not. At $20.39 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) with no count in the title, there is no cost per dose to compare. Buy it only after reading the panel and confirming a saline laxative is what you and your doctor want. The MiraFIBER Gummies at $14.53 are a fiber supplement at 8 g per serving per the title, another different product again.

Saline laxative labels carry their own ask-a-doctor lines, commonly kidney disease and a sodium- or magnesium-restricted diet, plus the standard laxative stop lines. The fast oral shelf is compared in the best laxatives for fast relief.

Who should buy it

Buy MiraFAST only if you specifically want a stimulant-free saline laxative in chew form and have read the Drug Facts panel for the active, the dose and the timing.

What we don't like

It is not PEG 3350, the title states neither the active nor the count, and at $20.39 it is the priciest listing on the page.

Active ingredient
Saline laxative (per title); specific active on the Drug Facts panel
Strength
Per the Drug Facts panel
Count
Not published on the listing title
Form
Soft chew, oral
Label ages
Per the Drug Facts panel
Packaging
Bottle

What we like

  • Stimulant free per the title
  • Faster window than PEG 3350, per the saline category

Worth noting

  • Not MiraLAX's active
  • No active or count on the title
  • Priciest listing on the page
Benchmark: The Generic PEG 3350
Amazon Basic Care ClearLax Polyethylene Glycol 3350 Powder

Amazon Basic Care ClearLax Polyethylene Glycol 3350 Powder

Amazon Basic Care

The same PEG 3350 osmotic under a store brand, size not on the title either.

4.5

Our verdict: ClearLax is PEG 3350 under Amazon's store brand, and its label reads the same as MiraLAX's: 17 g once daily for 17 and over, 1 to 3 days, no more than 7 days. Without sizes on either title we cannot prove it is cheaper per dose, but the generic usually is, and for anyone on a doctor's plan beyond 7 days it is the bottle to compare first.

Verified: Labeled active: polyethylene glycol 3350 powder for solution, osmotic laxative, per the listing title. Size not stated on the listing title. Live at $15.73 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The generic. Amazon Basic Care ClearLax is polyethylene glycol 3350 powder for solution, described in the title as an osmotic laxative that relieves occasional constipation. The Drug Facts label carries the PEG 3350 standard: 17 g measured with the cap, once daily in 4 to 8 ounces of beverage, for 17 and older; 16 and under ask a doctor; 1 to 3 days; use no more than 7 days. At $15.73 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026), size not stated on the title.

Against MiraLAX: same active, same dose, same label window. The difference is the name on the bottle and, usually, the price per dose, which neither listing lets us verify from the title. If you have used PEG 3350 before and your doctor has you on it daily, this is the bottle to compare against the larger MiraLAX listings on arrival, dose count against dose count.

Same stop lines: rectal bleeding, no bowel movement after use, or needing a laxative beyond 1 week means ask a doctor. The full osmotic shelf, including magnesium products, is ranked in the best osmotic laxatives.

Who should buy it

Buy ClearLax if you already know PEG 3350 is your laxative, a doctor has you on it, and you want the store-brand price for the same active.

What we don't like

No size on the title, so the generic's price advantage is likely but unverified, and it is the same 1 to 3 day product for anyone who needs speed.

Active ingredient
Polyethylene glycol 3350
Strength
17 g per dose (per the Drug Facts label)
Size
Not stated on the listing title
Form
Powder for solution
Label ages
17 and older; 16 and under ask a doctor
Label window
1 to 3 days; use no more than 7 days
Packaging
Bottle with measuring cap

What we like

  • Same PEG 3350 and label as MiraLAX
  • Store-brand pricing

Worth noting

  • Size not on the title
  • Same slow window
Best ValueBenchmark: The Fast Alternative
Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 count

Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 count

Fleet

15 minutes to 1 hour on the label, about 9 cents a dose, for the day MiraLAX cannot help with.

4.8

Our verdict: MiraLAX and a glycerin suppository answer different questions. The powder is for the person who wants something gentle every day and can wait 1 to 3 days; the suppository is for the person who needs a bowel movement within the hour. Many households keep both, and the jar at $4.29 for 50 is the cheapest insurance on the shelf.

Verified: Labeled active: glycerin 2 g per adult suppository, 50 per jar. Drug Facts label: relief of occasional constipation; 15 minutes to 1 hour; 6 and over, under 6 ask a doctor. Live at $4.29 on Amazon, verified via the Creators API on September 5, 2026.

The speed benchmark. Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 count are glycerin 2 g, hyperosmotic, labeled for relief of occasional constipation with a bowel movement generally in 15 minutes to 1 hour, for adults and children 6 and over. At $4.29 (verified via the Amazon Creators API on September 5, 2026) that is about 9 cents a dose ($4.29 divided by 50), a number we can actually compute because the title states the count.

Not either-or: a daily osmotic powder and an occasional suppository are complementary, not competing, and a doctor who recommends MiraLAX for regularity may well also be fine with a glycerin suppository for the day it has not done enough. The label logic for both is the same: occasional use, stop and ask a doctor for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement, and no laxative beyond 1 week without a doctor. Suppository vs MiraLAX is the full decision.

The full write-up is our Fleet Glycerin Suppositories review.

Who should buy it

Buy the glycerin suppository beside MiraLAX, or instead of it, if you need relief within the hour rather than over 1 to 3 days.

What we don't like

It is a rectal product, loose in a jar, and it does nothing for the daily regularity a PEG 3350 powder is for.

Active ingredient
Glycerin
Strength
2 g per suppository
Count
50
Form
Solid rectal suppository, jar
Label ages
6 and over; under 6 ask a doctor
Cost per dose
$0.09 ($4.29 divided by 50)
Label window
15 minutes to 1 hour

What we like

  • 15 minutes to 1 hour on the label
  • About 9 cents a dose, count stated
  • Complements a daily powder

Worth noting

  • Rectal, not oral
  • Not a daily regularity product

What you'll need

The six things that go in the same cart as a suppository: the pharmacy-standard glycerin, a daily stool softener, an enema for the nights nothing else works, witch hazel wipes, sitz salts, and a barrier ointment. Prices are approximate at time of writing.

More picks worth comparing

Beyond this guide, the highest-rated picks across every category and budget, with a live price check on each.

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

Best Overall

Fleet Glycerin, Adult 50 ct

glycerin · 50 ct · ~$4

Check Price
Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

Best Fast-Acting

Dulcolax Bisacodyl 10 mg

bisacodyl · 4 ct · ~$5

Check Price
Preparation H Suppositories

Best for Hemorrhoids

Preparation H Suppositories

12 ct x 2 · ~$18

Check Price
pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

Best Boric Acid

pH-D Boric Acid 600 mg

600 mg · 24 ct · ~$27

Check Price
Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

Best for Kids

Pedia-Lax Liquid Glycerin, Kids

ages 2 to 5 · 6 ct x 3 · ~$21

Check Price
FeverAll Infant 80 mg

Best Fever

FeverAll Infant 80 mg

acetaminophen · 6 ct · ~$13

Check Price

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you.

Quick shop: every pick

Skip the scroll: the whole lineup, with a live price check on each.

  1. MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (smaller listing)Best Starting SizeMiraLAX · $8.67Check price on Amazon
  2. MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (mid listing)Best Mid SizeMiraLAX · $13.98Check price on Amazon
  3. MiraLAX Laxative Powder, PEG 3350 (larger listing)Best Larger ListingMiraLAX · $14.29Check price on Amazon
  4. MiraFAST Soft Chews, from the Makers of MiraLAXBest If You Want the MiraLAX Name in a ChewMiraLAX · $20.39Check price on Amazon
  5. Amazon Basic Care ClearLax Polyethylene Glycol 3350 PowderBenchmark: The Generic PEG 3350Amazon Basic Care · $15.73Check price on Amazon
  6. Fleet Glycerin Suppositories, 50 countBenchmark: The Fast AlternativeFleet · $4.29Check price on Amazon

How we chose

This review is built on the Drug Facts panel and the live listings. For each MiraLAX listing we recorded the active as the title and label state it (polyethylene glycol 3350), the label's directions and window, and the Amazon price on September 5, 2026 via the Creators API. None of the MiraLAX powder titles as Amazon returns them state a bottle size or a dose count, and our rule is that cost per dose appears only when the listing states both price and count, so the powders carry no cost per dose here. Owner reports were weighed for consistency on the questions a label cannot answer: whether the powder dissolves clear and tasteless as the maker claims, whether the measuring cap is usable, and whether the bottle seal arrives intact.

Compliance for this shelf: we quote the label's Uses and Directions and nothing beyond them. MiraLAX is for occasional constipation; the label directs 17 g once daily for 17 and over, sends 16 and under to a doctor, says use no more than 7 days, and carries the stop lines: rectal bleeding, no bowel movement after use, or needing a laxative beyond 1 week means ask a doctor. We never suggest a dose the label does not print, including any pediatric amount. We are a research and verification desk, not a pharmacy or a clinic, and nothing on this page is medical advice. No brand paid for a placement and none saw this review before publication.

Questions, answered

How long does MiraLAX take to work?

The Drug Facts label states it generally produces a bowel movement in 1 to 3 days. It is an osmotic laxative that holds water in the stool as it passes, not a stimulant and not a fast-acting product. If you need a bowel movement within the hour, a glycerin suppository is labeled for 15 minutes to 1 hour.

How much MiraLAX should I take?

The label directs adults and children 17 years and older to take 17 grams, measured with the bottle cap, dissolved in 4 to 8 ounces of any beverage, once daily. Children 16 and under: ask a doctor. Use no more than 7 days unless a doctor directs otherwise.

Can I take MiraLAX every day?

The label says use no more than 7 days, and to ask a doctor if you need a laxative for more than 1 week. Many doctors do recommend longer daily use of PEG 3350, and that is their call, not the label's. Without a doctor's direction, the 7 day line stands.

Is MiraLAX safe for children?

The MiraLAX label says children 16 and under should ask a doctor, and it prints no pediatric amount. Pediatricians commonly recommend PEG 3350 and state the amount when they do. We do not, and no page on this site does. The pediatrician decides.

Is ClearLax the same as MiraLAX?

Same active, polyethylene glycol 3350, same 17 g dose, same 1 to 3 day window and 7 day limit on the label. ClearLax is Amazon Basic Care's store brand at $15.73 at our September 5, 2026 check. Neither listing states a bottle size in its title, so compare dose counts on the bottles rather than prices.

What is the difference between MiraLAX and MiraFAST?

MiraLAX is PEG 3350 powder, an osmotic that works over 1 to 3 days. MiraFAST is a stimulant-free saline laxative in soft chew form from the same maker, a different active with a faster window on its own label. The MiraFAST listing title states neither the active nor the count; read the Drug Facts panel.

MiraLAX or a suppository: which should I use?

It depends on the question. For gentle daily regularity over days, with a doctor's recommendation, MiraLAX. For a bowel movement within the hour, a glycerin suppository, labeled for 15 minutes to 1 hour at about 9 cents a dose. Many households keep both. Our suppository vs MiraLAX comparison covers it in full.

Does MiraLAX cause cramping?

The MiraLAX label lists no stimulant effects, and the listing title claims no harsh side effects, which is the maker's claim. The label does say to ask a doctor before use for nausea, vomiting or abdominal pain, and to stop for rectal bleeding or no bowel movement after use. Read the panel on the bottle you buy.